Customer Reviews for

Hearts in Atlantis

Average Rating 4
( 247 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(110)

4 Star

(81)

3 Star

(34)

2 Star

(11)

1 Star

(11)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Great Stephen King Short Stories

Heart in Atlantis was published in 1999.The collection's first story, "Low Men in Yellow Coats", formed the basis of a 2001 film entitled Hearts in Atlantis, starring Anthony Hopkins as Ted Brautigan, Anton Yelchin as Bobby Garfield, and Hope Davis as Liz Garfield. Majo...
Heart in Atlantis was published in 1999.The collection's first story, "Low Men in Yellow Coats", formed the basis of a 2001 film entitled Hearts in Atlantis, starring Anthony Hopkins as Ted Brautigan, Anton Yelchin as Bobby Garfield, and Hope Davis as Liz Garfield. Major story elements are common to the film and the story, but many of the details were changed.

This book was great!!!! It was a lot better then what I expect. The first story in the book. Low Men in Yellow Coats sets the stage of the whole entire book.The first story also allow you to meet some of the characters that will appear in the followering stories.

Anyone looking for a good book to read....please check out Heart in Atlantis!!!

posted by MaGicAllyGeNuisJ on December 23, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Huh?

I didn't really think this one had a plot. It just seemed to have a story that was never finished. I felt like I was left hanging at the end... maybe that was the point. It wasn't a total waste of time though, I love SK's vivid descriptions and enjoy his writing aside f...
I didn't really think this one had a plot. It just seemed to have a story that was never finished. I felt like I was left hanging at the end... maybe that was the point. It wasn't a total waste of time though, I love SK's vivid descriptions and enjoy his writing aside from the story.

posted by Mamajenns3 on December 29, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 81 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2012

    Great book

    This is one if the most underrated King novels. Captivating.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2012

    J.D. on February 28, 2012

    It can't be said enough, there's nothing like a Stephen King book! Found this book to be very interesting. Very well written.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 12, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Different kind of Steven King

    Reminiscent of "Stand By Me". Classic Steven King characters - without the scary. Great for anyone who was around in the 60's - or who wishes they were.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2004

    Hearts in Atlantis is a Have to Read book

    Hearts in Atlantis, Stephen King, Pocket Books, 1999, 672 pgs, $7.99, 0-7434-3621-0 Have you ever loved someone so much, you never want them to leave? Bobby was put in a situation to either let that someone go or have them stay with the chance of being found. Bobby lives with his mom and never knew his father. His mom and him live in an apartment and the other room was put up for rent. When Ted came to live there, Bobby¿s mom didn¿t like him from first glance. For him it was different. Ted and Bobby started to get real close when Ted told him to watch out for everyday things. A kite stuck on a telephone wire, hopscotch drawn in sidewalk chalk, or ordinary things that normally go unnoticed was a ¿sign¿. Whenever you saw these things, it meant ¿they¿ were near. Bobby struggles as he goes through things with the love of his life, Carol and his best friend Sully John. Worst of all is his choice of whether or not to save Ted and have him leave, or to keep Ted and put him in danger. This book keeps you excited and wondering as you go through Bobby¿s feelings and thoughts. It¿s funny and enjoyable and not a waste of time. It made me look at life in a different perspective and has an ending that keeps me guessing still. If you like adventurous and funny, yet romantic, you¿ll love ¿Hearts in Atlantis¿.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 22, 1999

    Review excerpt from Curled Up With a Good Book

    In HEARTS IN ATLANTIS, Stephen King gets in a few more pokes and jabs at his detractors, the ones who consider him a schlock-meister. They are the 'legitimate' literary establishment, 'book snobs,' but ol' SK still seems to be trying to break into their ranks. He may have done it with this collection of two long and three short stories bound by recurring characters, the lost cause of a certain police action in Southeast Asia, and that horrible, beautiful decade that defined King's Boomer generation, the Sixties. His faithful readers will recognize his New England landscape and theme of innocence lost, but these stories offer little resistance to novice King readers. HEARTS IN ATLANTIS might be considered King's magnum opus; time will tell. He's a prolific guy, sometimes brilliant and sometimes not, but man, does he know how to tell a story. There are times between this book's cover that you can almost touch the difference between the Stephen King who wrote CARRIE and the one who wrote this. It's not just fun and games and a good clean scare anymore; there's a depth to King's writing here that, while hinted at in some of his early works, has revealed itself fully in HEARTS IN ATLANTIS.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2012

    A must read for any King fan

    Especially fans of the Dark Tower.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2008

    Love + Peace = Good Book

    Overall, this book was very good. The title, Hearts is Atlantis, is somewhat confusing, and would make an unsuspecting reader think that the book is a romance novel. This, after reading the book, is not the case.<BR/>Personally, I prefered the first story about Bobby, Carol, and Ted. The third story could have been eliminated entirely, as I thought that is was mainly a prelude to the fourth story. The second story was very interesting and the use of the word 'Hearts' from the title becomes more clear. The fifth and final story is simply a conclusion to the events of the other four.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2007

    Something Different

    It seems that nobody is quite sure what type of book Hearts in Atlantis is. A novel? A short story collection? What? Well, I¿ve come to the conclusion that it is a novel divided into five parts. Each part is related to the others by recurring characters. I liked most of the 5 parts, although one of them (Why We¿re in Vietnam) was odd¿ But overall, it¿s a well-written departure from Mr. King¿s usual works. I say ¿departure¿ because this book hardly contains any scary or supernatural elements. Instead it focuses on the Vietnam War and the lives it touched. However, the first part - ¿Low Men in Yellow Coats¿ - does have Dark Tower references and paranormal themes. I¿d read that part before reading the last Dark Tower installment, too. It¿ll help clear things up later on down the road. All in all, a great read, but unlike anything Mr. King has written before. That can be good or bad depending on you, the reader.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2006

    Things to Consider

    My favorite Stephen King book is still 'The Stand,' and I say that only because I understand there are a lot of like minded folks out there who feel that is Mr. King's best work. For entertainment value, for an eye opening panorama of a world gone wrong, sure. It's great. But, of all the other King titles I've read and enjoyed, I would have to say that this is his most important work. I envy those who read it having read nothing else by him, particularly his Dark Tower series. The interweaving that takes place in Hearts is amazing. But for a few blatant references, the book almost falls into that category of universal that some might even consider a classic. The title story in particular. It's so simple, but it says so much. Others here have referenced 'Low Men in Yellow Coats,' as their favorite. Certainly there is no piece in American fiction that makes the reader want to pick up a copy of 'Lord of the Flies,' and start reading. I say that because I had to read 'Lord of the Flies,' of my own volition, mind you, before I could feel right about reading Hearts. Definitely worth reading if you haven't yet, and, like some of King's best, perhaps worthy of a re-read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 4, 2006

    Incredible read, but with shortcomings

    This book was incredible, and the stanza 'Low Men in Yellow Coats' was some of my favorite work by King, but Atlantis disappoints me with the dropout of action after the dizzying climax of 'Low Men.' The other stories are on par with King's other work, all including his great characterization and imagination, but I felt the plot of each story and the interconnected story was dwarfed by the struggle of loyalty and self preservation by Bobby in his first appearance. Either way, this story earns 4 stars. I recommend it for 'Low Men' alone.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2003

    Interesting Novel

    I read this book after I watched the movie and I was actually delighted to see how closely the movie stuck with the first third of the book. I say that because it only follows that part of it, it doesn't even get into the real section of the book where Stephen King coins the term 'Hearts of Atlantis' for his title. The first section I really loved. I'm a Dark Tower fan, in fact that's what brought me to read other Stephen King novels. Ted Brautigan plays a role in the Tower and the gunslinger. I won't say what, that's up for you to read and discover. (Plus I'm hoping that Ted will show up again in the next few novels in Roland's quest for the Tower.) The next few sections follow the lives of other people who have lived in the '60's. But somehow they all connect back to another principle character, Carol Gerber. I never found any part of the book to be scary. But, then again, I've yet to encounter one of his novel's that is actually scary. Fascinating to read, yes. Realistic characters, yes. Excellent story lines, yes. Scary, no. I'd recommend this book to anyone, especially if they are interested in the Dark Tower series, or if they are wanting flashbacks of the '60's.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2003

    excellent read

    This book has plenty of depth and charicter formation. It may confuse the more inept reader into thinking that the main character is the same in either of the three sections is the same person. Hopefuly you are not one of them. The book mooves both quickly and efficiently through the different time periods that it portrays. Different than any type of story I have read from Stephen King, yet so interesting and captivating. This is an odd but pleasantly enjoyable read. I highly recomend this book to anyone looking for something relaxing rather than scary.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2003

    Another great King Novel

    This is another great novel by Stephen King, as well as somewhat of a departure. I like to see writer break new ground, and King does here. As a child of the 80s myself, I have to say King's history lesson of the 60s was appreciated.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2003

    Great Read

    This was an excellent book. Stephen King out does himself.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2002

    A trip down a different path...

    King definitely works a different angle for this book. No ghosts, no cursed burial grounds. A loose tie to the Dark Tower series, but the brief ESP references end after the first story. A testament to King's skill as a story crafter.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2002

    purty good book

    hearts in atlantis brings the joys of childhood and growing up sadly to an end. it holds the feelings of a child, Bobby Garfield, who when he meets Ted Brautigan becomes an intelligent boy who sees his mother and the world for what it really is, a corrupted mess. King has really done it this time and it should be noted as one of the best books he has ever writen next to the green mile.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2002

    enchanting

    King certainly still has the touch. While I was born a decade after the sixties were over, this book made me feel like i had lived through them. The many twists and turns seem like they just don't fit at first, but king pulls through and rolls them all together in a masterful way that only King can do. This book also made me contemplate this generation's (my generation's) outlook on life. It seems as if no one cares anymore, politically, or otherwise. I suggest to those who haven't read Hearts in Atlantis, do so, and then decide where YOUR heart is.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2002

    It actually was pretty good...

    I love Stephen King's work. His new books haven't been that great (i.e. Bag of Bones) but in some stories he still has the touch. And he shows it in 'Low Men in Yellow Coats' - that was GREAT story, and it had the hint of King in it and it was just a cool plot. But if you want REALLY GREAT - you should Dreamcatcher, The Green Mile, and most definitely The Shining. Those stories are classic - of all the ones I've read of his - those are the best! But Hearts in Atlantis is pretty interesting.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2002

    Typical non-horror, fiction King

    If you like the Dark Tower series, you'll like this book. There are very few similarities, but his story-telling is enchanting. He mixes small snapshots of people's lives around a minor character with whom I wish I could meet. You'll enjoy

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2001

    A new side of Stephen King

    No, it's not your average King book. That's what makes it wonderful! He is a multi-faceted writer, and if you only saw the movie, it doesn't even come close to the depth of the book. It is a funny, interesting, honest story that will keep your attention.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 81 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5