Customer Reviews for

Hearts in Darkness

Average Rating 4.5
( 315 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(163)

4 Star

(100)

3 Star

(37)

2 Star

(8)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

16 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

Great Read

He's claustrophobic and afraid of the dark so it's no cup of tea when he finds himself stuck in elevator with no power.

The subject matter that this author chose was what caught my eye. I, too, am claustrophobic and hate the dark. I just had to see how she worked th...
He's claustrophobic and afraid of the dark so it's no cup of tea when he finds himself stuck in elevator with no power.

The subject matter that this author chose was what caught my eye. I, too, am claustrophobic and hate the dark. I just had to see how she worked those fears into a story and where she went with it. She has created a very entertaining story with it.

Caden is a loner with secrets and has no desire to get involved with people. He's not overly thrilled with being caught in an elevator and having a panic attack, but at least it's dark and she can't see him. Once he calms down, he decides that being stuck with an attractive female is about as good as it's going to get.

Makenna only saw his tattooed hand hold the elevator door for her and she's had a dreadful day already. Then the finishing touch happens; the elevator goes dark and quits working.

The author creates an interesting situation here. It's the end of the day and there's no one left in the building. How long they will be stuck is unknown. They can't see each other and don't know who they are stuck with. She builds tension between the two characters, and then defuses it with conversation.

I found it interesting that being in the elevator in dark made it almost like a confessional. They each talked easily, got into some deep issues, and became friends in a short period of time. I know danger can make people bond, and that's the premise this author used in her story.

It was almost like reading a play. The majority of the story in the elevator is like a stage set where nothing changes until the act was done. The sexual tension picks up, but the moments get broken up each time they begin to kiss. You find yourself rooting for Caden and Makenna to get together, despite their external differences.

I really enjoyed reading this story. Ms. Kaye took an impossible situation and made the most of it. I hope to read more of her work.

Originally posted at the Long and Short of It Romance Reviews

posted by LASR_Reviews on May 6, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Wasn't impressed

Story couldve been more developed

posted by 15424196 on September 15, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 315 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 16
  • Posted May 6, 2011

    Great Read

    He's claustrophobic and afraid of the dark so it's no cup of tea when he finds himself stuck in elevator with no power.

    The subject matter that this author chose was what caught my eye. I, too, am claustrophobic and hate the dark. I just had to see how she worked those fears into a story and where she went with it. She has created a very entertaining story with it.

    Caden is a loner with secrets and has no desire to get involved with people. He's not overly thrilled with being caught in an elevator and having a panic attack, but at least it's dark and she can't see him. Once he calms down, he decides that being stuck with an attractive female is about as good as it's going to get.

    Makenna only saw his tattooed hand hold the elevator door for her and she's had a dreadful day already. Then the finishing touch happens; the elevator goes dark and quits working.

    The author creates an interesting situation here. It's the end of the day and there's no one left in the building. How long they will be stuck is unknown. They can't see each other and don't know who they are stuck with. She builds tension between the two characters, and then defuses it with conversation.

    I found it interesting that being in the elevator in dark made it almost like a confessional. They each talked easily, got into some deep issues, and became friends in a short period of time. I know danger can make people bond, and that's the premise this author used in her story.

    It was almost like reading a play. The majority of the story in the elevator is like a stage set where nothing changes until the act was done. The sexual tension picks up, but the moments get broken up each time they begin to kiss. You find yourself rooting for Caden and Makenna to get together, despite their external differences.

    I really enjoyed reading this story. Ms. Kaye took an impossible situation and made the most of it. I hope to read more of her work.

    Originally posted at the Long and Short of It Romance Reviews

    16 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 30, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    I really enjoyed this story. There was so much to like. very goo

    I really enjoyed this story. There was so much to like. very good book!

    12 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2012

    Loved it!

    At just over 200 pages it was a super fast read but I thouroghly enjoyed it! Only wish it was longer. Super hot too.

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 28, 2012

    Loved the Book

    Okay I don't normally find elevators all that sexy, but holy sex scenes batman! Laura Kaye makes being trapped without light in an elevator with a pierced, tattooed stranger sound super hot. The best part- she still makes realistic people with flaws and faults. Not to mention the fun after they get out the elevator. I love the way the story progressed once they got out, the shyness, tentativeness, and uncertainty is way more endearing than two super self assured people who are confident they will be together forever having some crazy shagfest like some romance novels end with. This is not to say there ins't still a happy ending- it is just more well earned than most.

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 15, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    A quick and fun read

    For being a short story, Laura Kaye does not disappoint in creating a sweet and sexy romance between two unlikely strangers thrown into a difficult situation. I loved learning about Makenna and Caden while they were getting to know one another. I loved how they didn't get a good look at one another before the lights went out, and they had to rely on their other senses. This is the first book I have read by Laura Kaye. I have to say that I absolutely loved her writing style. She created characters that are real and I hated to see the book end. Laura Kaye drew you into the story from the very start and I could not put the book down. The characters each have a history of pain and they connect with each other on so many levels. The author created a story that was sexy and emotional. I love these types of reads and I am sure you will too!

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2013

    Awesome

    ## STELLAR. That pretty much sums up this book. The concept was original and executed brilliantly. I truly adored the heroine. And truth be told, I can rarely say that. Usually I find them to be either weak, needy or just a human doormat. Not here. Makenna was smart and witty and incredibly honest. And don't even get me started on Caden. Omg, he was hotness personified. And so very sweet. I love that the author included so much face to face dialogue between the these two amazing characters. It really shows how well they got to know each other in such a short amount of time. My only complaint was that it ended abruptly. That is a pet peeve of mine. I feel cheated if I don't get a complete ending after spending hours engaged in a book. But the rest was so impressive that I still rated it 5 stars. Will read again for sure.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2012

    Abby

    I gotta admit, i'm impresse. 232 pages. And it only served to describe one single day that probably started around five or six pm and ended somewhere around three the next morning. But dang caden is one hunk of a male. I love his sometime embarass and ackward moment :) sooo cute.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 21, 2014

    Good Romance

    Now if you are a romance junkie this is definitely for you. I was intrigued to see how two characters stuck in an elevator made it; in there and out of there.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 17, 2013

    What a fantastic read!

    I finished this book in one evening...it is well written, and the story hooks you instantly. I don't remember the last time a story reeled me in so wholly and so quickly. The characters are easy to relate to, and the presence of humor and sexiness is a combination I just love.

    Truly an awesome book. I hope there will be a sequel!

    Do not hesitate to read this book! I personally cannot wait to read more books by this author. I will be starting my next one tomorrow. :)

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2013

    :)

    4.5 stars! If you are looking for a quick, enjoyable, sexy book then this it it!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2014

    Overall pretty good.

    I am a pretty hard judge when it comes to romance novells. I was turned on to this book after reading Laurens Kays' Hard Ink Series. And I was not disapointed. It is a fun light read about two people chance meeting in an elevator. It takes place in the time frame of one night but its not rushed or overly discriptive. It is a relatively short book. I think it was only about 200 pages, I finished it in one sitting. And I honestly liked it, its one of those books that just give you a fuzzy feeling. With relateable charactors, a realistic meeting, and a note worthy book to turn back to when we all come across that feeling of inadequacy or judgement. Point is I enjoyed it and I reccomend it to those who like light romance reads with a few steamy moments.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 22, 2014

    I Also Recommend:

    Good idea for a story

    Short predictable read. Fun idea for the story.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2014

    Oakkit

    "Will you come with us? I am too scared to walk without a full grown warrior." She said, her eyes wide with fear.

    1 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2014

    Sunkit

    She nodded

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2014

    Greyshadow

    He shook his head. "I can never be close to u. We dont have a future together. Shadowflame, im sorry that it hurt u but i cant be with u. As long as having mates, im not planning to have one soon either." He said and backed out.

    1 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 17, 2014

    Makenna James has had miserable rotten day just wants to go home

    Makenna James has had miserable rotten day just wants to go home and relax with bottle wine. As Makenna rushes towards the elevator she drops her cellphone and bags to the floor. Person holds the elevator open for her and names him~Good Samaritan. Caden Grayson is having a bad day he just wants to go home. Caden is tattooed and pierced firefighter, who has visible scars from a tragic accident, fascinated by the red head headed toward the elevator. Caden is completely claustrophobic ever since the accident. Makenna reaches the elevator thanking Good Samaritan. Both their lives are about to change forever because the elevator stops moving and goes pitch black. Caden is suddenly slammed into the past. Makenna stays calm and begins to chat with Caden. Caden learns as along as Makenna is talking he doesn't feel claustrophobic. As they share about their lives, Caden discovers that he longs to touch Makenna. Will the elevator be fixed? Will Caden and Makenna be a couple? Or is this just lust? Your answers await you in Hearts in Darkness.




    I loved the story and how it developed! The range of emotion is off the charts and made me hungry for more. Makenna is strong, compassionate, gentle, and fun person with an easygoing manner. Caden is the scarred, tattooed, and pierced alpha male with a tragic history. I loved how they got to know each other; it was sweet, cleverly written, and wonderful to behold. I will definitely recommend this book.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2013

    Ok

    Wish it was longer.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2013

    Wow. This was really good! The premise that they are trapped i

    Wow. This was really good! The premise that they are trapped in the elevator and forced to get to know each other without looks factoring into the equation was good. And they were so hot together. Well done!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2013

    A Great Escape

    I read this book in one sitting on a winter Sunday afternoon. It was not life changing, but it was a great, fun story. I would recommend this to anyone!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2012

    Sucks!!

    I really tried with this book. I even read the entire book! I could not like this book! Totally unrealistic and unrelatable! Don't waste your money. Would only give this book to someone I really hate! I want my money back!

    1 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 315 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 16