Customer Reviews for

Hearts in Darkness

Average Rating 4.5
( 308 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(156)

4 Star

(100)

3 Star

(37)

2 Star

(8)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

15 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

Great Read

He's claustrophobic and afraid of the dark so it's no cup of tea when he finds himself stuck in elevator with no power.

The subject matter that this author chose was what caught my eye. I, too, am claustrophobic and hate the dark. I just had to see how she worked th...
He's claustrophobic and afraid of the dark so it's no cup of tea when he finds himself stuck in elevator with no power.

The subject matter that this author chose was what caught my eye. I, too, am claustrophobic and hate the dark. I just had to see how she worked those fears into a story and where she went with it. She has created a very entertaining story with it.

Caden is a loner with secrets and has no desire to get involved with people. He's not overly thrilled with being caught in an elevator and having a panic attack, but at least it's dark and she can't see him. Once he calms down, he decides that being stuck with an attractive female is about as good as it's going to get.

Makenna only saw his tattooed hand hold the elevator door for her and she's had a dreadful day already. Then the finishing touch happens; the elevator goes dark and quits working.

The author creates an interesting situation here. It's the end of the day and there's no one left in the building. How long they will be stuck is unknown. They can't see each other and don't know who they are stuck with. She builds tension between the two characters, and then defuses it with conversation.

I found it interesting that being in the elevator in dark made it almost like a confessional. They each talked easily, got into some deep issues, and became friends in a short period of time. I know danger can make people bond, and that's the premise this author used in her story.

It was almost like reading a play. The majority of the story in the elevator is like a stage set where nothing changes until the act was done. The sexual tension picks up, but the moments get broken up each time they begin to kiss. You find yourself rooting for Caden and Makenna to get together, despite their external differences.

I really enjoyed reading this story. Ms. Kaye took an impossible situation and made the most of it. I hope to read more of her work.

Originally posted at the Long and Short of It Romance Reviews

posted by LASR_Reviews on May 6, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Wasn't impressed

Story couldve been more developed

posted by 15424196 on September 15, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 156 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 8
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2014

    Re read

    I may have rated this when I first bought it, but I just re read it amd still amazing. I hope there is a follow up!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 21, 2014

    Hot steamy, yet with such heart

    When I read the concept, I had my doubts someone could pull off the story without being cheesy but Laura Kaye did it. She gave the characters such depth and heart. Many authors can't do that at twice her word count. The sensual and sex scenes where hot (needed a cigarette). I actually loved this book so much I reread it two additional times because I didn't want to let the story go. Excellent book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 18, 2014

    Absolutely Great!!

    Easy but very entertaining read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2014

    Cute, short story

    This was a very cute, predictable short story. I enjoyed it, but if you're looking for one of Lara Kaye's in depth full length books, this isn't it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2014

    I really loved this book!

    Please read this book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2014

    Wonderful

    Wonderful

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2014

    Loved it

    I hate small spaces, but I would love to be stuck in an elevator with a man like this *sigh*

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 10, 2014

    Love it

    This is a well written story and is so hot. I want more story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 9, 2014

    Loved, loved, loved this book.  The concept is fantastic.  Getti

    Loved, loved, loved this book.  The concept is fantastic.  Getting stuck for hours in a pitch black elevator with another person you only catch a brief glimpse of before the lights go out.  Passing the time getting to know the other person and finding out you have a lot in common and really like them.  Then the personal feelings of inadequacy that surface when the lights come back on and you may be rejected after all.  The writing and characters were terrific.  Hope to get more of Caden and Makenna in the future.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2014

    To shadowfmes rper

    Nevermind. Anyways..gotta quit rp cuz i cant rp anyways cuz im busy...and i want that tablet pretty badly so i could do hairstyle videos xD. Anywayd........if u have an instagram....follow me: lianatroshin. I dont have an electronic but my bff does :)))) ill follow u back.....unless i dont remember...but if i dont.....just say NOOK on one of my posts and ill get it....but plz dont mention rpg....ppl r gonn think im weird....and if u dont have an insta....i have a gmail....its: liana.e.trosh3 and thats gmail....so dont forget the rest....i dont wanna get locked out so i didnt put the last part. I know im giving out personal info but...idk y but i trust u. Anyways....im real crazy sometimes so if u thibk ive gone crazy....i probs did xP.....tell the peeps over in sandclan spiderclaw said bye and i cant rp anymore for reasons and plz dont mention who i really wad. Anyways...im gonna sell my nook.....and get some $ so i could reach my goal! *skips away randomly * Mwahahahahahahahaha

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2014

    To spiderclaws rper

    Oh i feel spevial that u trust me cx but i dont have any of these things...sorry.....ill miss you baiiiii :')

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2013

    Truly unique

    Original concept. Fresh, emotional writing without being corny. Good character development and steamy sex scenes.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 30, 2013

    HOT HOT HOT

    Everyone is going to want an elevator ride after this fantastic story!!! Two strangers meet, and a kinship develops on personality and the desire to help one another. Intriguing, captivating and steamy!!!!! Love this story with a capital L O V E!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 30, 2013

    I LOVED this book.  The premise of getting to know someone you'r

    I LOVED this book.  The premise of getting to know someone you're trapped in an elevator with - in the dark fascinated me.  Add in anxiety, a workaholic and completely different backgrounds and you just never know which direction the story is going to go from one page to the next.  The intimacy of being in the dark with nothing else to do but get to know each other can easily end up with telling a near stranger some of your deepest secrets.  I loved both the openness that being in the dark provided along with the trepidation of having such personal conversations with a stranger.  What happens when the lights come on?  You have to read it to find out.  I seriously doubt that Makenna & Caden would have ever said more than hello had they not been trapped together in the dark.  I would gladly read anything else that Laura Kaye releases based on the strong writing and uniqueness of this story.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2013

    Fast.paced

    Loved that the story was fast paced but very consuming. Fell in love with both characters :):)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 12, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I have read other Laura Kaye books and she has a way of making e

    I have read other Laura Kaye books and she has a way of making erotic very erotic. Imagine 2 strangers trapped in a small area in the dark. Wow! Let your imagination soar.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 5, 2013

    I didn't believe it.  I was skeptical that a book (even a novell

    I didn't believe it.  I was skeptical that a book (even a novella) could be written and take place in the span of less than 12 hours and I would enjoy it. I thought, surely it is mostly about sex. What else could possibly keep a book moving when most of it took place in an elevator?  I was happily proven wrong.

    This is the second book I have read by Laura Kaye and it has fueled interest in more of her books. Yep, time to go shopping for more. Back to Hearts in Darkness, though. It starts out innocently enough when Makenna is running to catch an elevator after a long, crappy day and Caden holds the door open for her. Nothing out of the ordinary, until the elevator stops, and all the lights go out. Now they are both stuck in a pitch-black elevator and Caden is close to having a panic attack as he is claustrophobic. They are stuck there for hours with no phone to call for help.

    So starts the two of them getting to know each other, because what else is there to do? Caden isn't a guy that lets a lot of people get to know him but Makenna's voice and conversation is what keeps the panic attacks at bay. They share and learn more about one another in those few hours in the elevator than most people do when dating for weeks or even months. What I love about this situation is that because they don't really see one another before the lights go out, they get to know each other on an intellectual and emotional level - not physical.

    They are finally rescued (sorry for the spoiler but you could have guessed that) and then we get to watch the weirdness that comes with the lights on seeing each other for the first time. Where they had confidence in darkness, both Caden and Makenna show some doubts in the light. They continue their night at her place getting to know each other. And you know what?  It isn't all about sex. Yes, they have such a strong draw to one another and their need for intimacy is met, but the way Laura writes it makes it more emotional than physical. It fit the story and the characters perfectly. I am really picky about my love scenes. I don't like them out of place and just there to sell a book. I like them to mean something and let me tell you, this one does. All I could think about after reading this was that I couldn't wait to see my husband again. ;-)

    The dialogue between Caden and Makenna was a big part of the story and what keeps it going for me. They were able to share some of their deepest secrets and fears with one another but could also laugh with one another. Laura does an outstanding job creating Caden and Makenna and although I wish it were longer, she ended it perfectly. I closed the book (or actually, clicked to the end on my e-reader) with a happy sigh.  If you are looking for a quick read that is both passionate and emotional but also really sweet, I highly recommend Hearts in Darkness.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2013

    I don't usually expect much from novellas unless they're part of

    I don't usually expect much from novellas unless they're part of a series. This great little story bucked all my expectations!

    This could have been just another "sex-in-an-elevator" stories, but instead, you really got to know the hero's heart. The two characters actually develop an interest because they *talk* to each other while they deal with being trapped in a dark elevator. These were characters I'd have liked to know in person.

    I'll definitely look for more from this author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2013

    A really good book!

    I really enjoyed this story. I loved that these two characters were able to connect sight unseen!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2013

    OMG

    Beyond naughty and sooo unbelievably HOT!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 156 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 8