Customer Reviews for

The Hearts of Horses

Average Rating 4
( 62 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(27)

4 Star

(22)

3 Star

(9)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

I've loaned this so many times. . .

. . .the cover is about to fall off. What a great read! Marvelous characters, wonderful story, timeless. I bought it because of the cover, began reading nearly immediately, and then couldn't put the book down.

I've loaned it to a variety of friends of both genders (m...
. . .the cover is about to fall off. What a great read! Marvelous characters, wonderful story, timeless. I bought it because of the cover, began reading nearly immediately, and then couldn't put the book down.

I've loaned it to a variety of friends of both genders (my husband liked it nearly as much as I did) and in ages ranging from 17 to nearly 90. The reviews are unanimously positive.

posted by KatieBarTheDoor on June 29, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Title Caught My Eye

As the headline says the title of this book caught my eye. I had never read anything by this author before and will now be looking to compare other books she has written.
I found it to be a wholesome but somewhat redundant book.
I liked the characters and especially e...
As the headline says the title of this book caught my eye. I had never read anything by this author before and will now be looking to compare other books she has written.
I found it to be a wholesome but somewhat redundant book.
I liked the characters and especially enjoyed learning traits of the different types of horses. This book created different emotions for me such as feeling of injustice,compassion, and humor.
I would liked to have had the characters fleshed out a bit more.
I have passed this book on to my granddaughter to now enjoy.

posted by 3054156 on February 22, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 62 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted June 29, 2009

    I've loaned this so many times. . .

    . . .the cover is about to fall off. What a great read! Marvelous characters, wonderful story, timeless. I bought it because of the cover, began reading nearly immediately, and then couldn't put the book down.

    I've loaned it to a variety of friends of both genders (my husband liked it nearly as much as I did) and in ages ranging from 17 to nearly 90. The reviews are unanimously positive.

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2008

    Good story interesting period

    I picked this up because my favorite authors were between books but was pleasantly surprised at the unique glimpse of life in the rural west. This is set during an interesting period of transition between the automobile age and the horse age. While automobiles and trucks were around they were not as a dependable source of transportation as the horse in all circumstances. The main character makes her living by training horses and riding from farm to farm on a daily circuit. The story centers around the lives of herself and her clients and the family she stays with. It provides discrete looks at the relationships within families and societies expectations at the time. It deals with hard issues like alcoholism 'not a major theme in this book but just an example' in the mater of fact pragmatism of the era without drama and with out moral commentary. Things are not bad or good they just are. I read this book in one sitting as did my 93 year old mother in law, by sister's in law and my daughter. It is well worth the read and it absolutely transports you back to the time period. This is a grossly under valued book and an extremely satisfying read. Take it from someone who prefers mysteries and dislikes the the general slice of life books this book is terrific at giving you a vacation in your chair.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 8, 2009

    My second favortie book of all time

    Molly Gloss has captured the essence of America in 1917 with memorable characters and a truly great story. My grandmother was born on a farm in California in 1902. This wonderful book showed me why my grandmother was the sturdy, hard-working, plain and simple woman I still love. Anyone who has ever held dear someone from that era should read this book. Anyone who wants to understand how very much America has changed (sadly) should also read this book.<BR/><BR/>Second only to Lonesome Dove.........

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2008

    A GENTEEL STORY WITH GRIT

    The writing's elegant and sweet. A memoir with lots of nostalgia. Enjoyed the healing ambiance of horse whisperer and making sense of the world too. A profound and unexpected delight.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2008

    Heart warming

    A well written story, first intended for my daughter, but fortunately ended up in my hands after she read it. I highly recommend this book to anyone who loves the western life with horses and wildlife as the mainstay. A very good book.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2007

    A reviewer

    I found this novel by accident. What a fortunate accident for me! The historical perspective gives the reader a peek into a past few of us would have known. Even more satisfying is the story itself, as the author created such interesting pictures in my head with creatures and characters to care about and even love.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2010

    Title Caught My Eye

    As the headline says the title of this book caught my eye. I had never read anything by this author before and will now be looking to compare other books she has written.
    I found it to be a wholesome but somewhat redundant book.
    I liked the characters and especially enjoyed learning traits of the different types of horses. This book created different emotions for me such as feeling of injustice,compassion, and humor.
    I would liked to have had the characters fleshed out a bit more.
    I have passed this book on to my granddaughter to now enjoy.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2013

    Juniper

    She tossed her ead

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2013

    Morning Glory

    She snorted when she felt a kick in her belly

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2013

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2013

    The wild horse

    Im a black mare and was brot her to give birth to my foal

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 26, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Title Somewhat Misleading First, let me say that I did enjoy th

    Title Somewhat Misleading

    First, let me say that I did enjoy this book and it was a welcome change from mysteries and others that I most recently read. However, I chose the book because of the cover, and I have to say that I was a little disappointed because the focus of the book changed midway from Martha's breaking horses to Martha's relationship with the people she came to know. Don't get me wrong - I still enjoyed it, and I thought that author Molly Gloss did a great job with the book, and I particularly enjoyed it since it took place during World War I, but in Oregon. But still yet, I yearned for more about Martha's actual work with the horses, with the actual temperaments of each horse, and that is why I gave the book 4 stars. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2013

    Intetesting story; easy reading

    The author gives the reader a good view of life out west during WW1. The book captured my interest right away. I do recommend this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2013

    READ THIS

    I havent read it but the description of the book sounds AWESOME SO YOU NEED TO READ IT

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2013

    Not what I had expected

    Interesting story but was more about life during that time period rather than about horses specifically • I felt the title decieving

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2013

    Juana

    This is a good book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2013

    Not good. Sucked. But the horse stuff is good. Women never worked that hard. Not realistic on that part.

    Title says it all.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 22, 2012

    Highly recommend, really good book!

    This is a different kind of "horse book." It not only gets into the horse training (which seems to be a lot like "The Horse Whisperer type of training), it is also a book about the area and way of life during the mid 1900's. I really enjoyed the book and passed it on to two "non-horse" friends, not knowing if they would enjoy it, since they are not horse people, but they both really liked it, also. This is a good read for anyone.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2012

    Great read!!

    Loved the characters in this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 15, 2011

    This book not good at all

    This book moves around a lot and the main person is hardly in the book it was not a good book i would not read it again

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 62 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4