Customer Reviews for

The Hearts of Horses

Average Rating 4
( 74 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(32)

4 Star

(27)

3 Star

(9)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

11 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

I've loaned this so many times. . .

. . .the cover is about to fall off. What a great read! Marvelous characters, wonderful story, timeless. I bought it because of the cover, began reading nearly immediately, and then couldn't put the book down.

I've loaned it to a variety of friends of both genders (m...
. . .the cover is about to fall off. What a great read! Marvelous characters, wonderful story, timeless. I bought it because of the cover, began reading nearly immediately, and then couldn't put the book down.

I've loaned it to a variety of friends of both genders (my husband liked it nearly as much as I did) and in ages ranging from 17 to nearly 90. The reviews are unanimously positive.

posted by KatieBarTheDoor on June 29, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Title Caught My Eye

As the headline says the title of this book caught my eye. I had never read anything by this author before and will now be looking to compare other books she has written.
I found it to be a wholesome but somewhat redundant book.
I liked the characters and especially e...
As the headline says the title of this book caught my eye. I had never read anything by this author before and will now be looking to compare other books she has written.
I found it to be a wholesome but somewhat redundant book.
I liked the characters and especially enjoyed learning traits of the different types of horses. This book created different emotions for me such as feeling of injustice,compassion, and humor.
I would liked to have had the characters fleshed out a bit more.
I have passed this book on to my granddaughter to now enjoy.

posted by 3054156 on February 22, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted June 29, 2009

    I've loaned this so many times. . .

    . . .the cover is about to fall off. What a great read! Marvelous characters, wonderful story, timeless. I bought it because of the cover, began reading nearly immediately, and then couldn't put the book down.

    I've loaned it to a variety of friends of both genders (my husband liked it nearly as much as I did) and in ages ranging from 17 to nearly 90. The reviews are unanimously positive.

    11 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2008

    A GENTEEL STORY WITH GRIT

    The writing's elegant and sweet. A memoir with lots of nostalgia. Enjoyed the healing ambiance of horse whisperer and making sense of the world too. A profound and unexpected delight.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 26, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Title Somewhat Misleading First, let me say that I did enjoy th

    Title Somewhat Misleading

    First, let me say that I did enjoy this book and it was a welcome change from mysteries and others that I most recently read. However, I chose the book because of the cover, and I have to say that I was a little disappointed because the focus of the book changed midway from Martha's breaking horses to Martha's relationship with the people she came to know. Don't get me wrong - I still enjoyed it, and I thought that author Molly Gloss did a great job with the book, and I particularly enjoyed it since it took place during World War I, but in Oregon. But still yet, I yearned for more about Martha's actual work with the horses, with the actual temperaments of each horse, and that is why I gave the book 4 stars. 

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 10, 2014

    Terrific Reading

    I would recommend this book for anyone who has interest in working with horses.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2013

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2013

    Intetesting story; easy reading

    The author gives the reader a good view of life out west during WW1. The book captured my interest right away. I do recommend this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 30, 2009

    The Hearts of Horses is really about the heart of a young, brave woman.

    This was a lovely story. The characters were beautifully developed and I missed them all when the book was over. The ending was anti-climactic and hurried, not at all like the rest of the book which had had a measured pace. For those into women's stories of our country's west, I would definitely recommend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2009

    Very good

    I found this book to be very good, while lacking a huge climax it is a good story and I loved the characters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 15, 2009

    Okay Book

    I thought this book was okay, not my favorite horse book of all time but still alright. I liked the setting in the west and the character since it showed a tough woman in good light. There was a twist in the story and I did talk about this book to other people. I suggest this book to people who like horse stores and set in the older days.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 30, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Courtesy of Mother Daughter Book Club.com

    It's 1917 in rural Oregon, and many of the local men are away in France fighting. Into this scene rides Martha Lessen, a girl of 19 who says she can break horses to saddle. With fewer men around to perform the same job, Martha finds success first by hiring on at the Bliss ranch, then by expanding out to other ranches in the county. Eventually setting up a circuit training, where she rides horses from one corral to the next rotating where a horse spends the night, Martha works hard to gain the respect of the horses and the people in the area.<BR/><BR/>The tale unfolds slowly, giving the reader time to get to know the characters the way Martha gets to know them as well as her horses, one incident at a time. And the story is firmly rooted in it's time period. There's anti-German sentiment directed against ranchers of German descent, even though they were born in this country. There's sacrifice for the war effort, and there's loss from the war too. The cast of characters are a mix of good and bad, which you would expect to find in just about any place you settle for a while. As Martha's confidence in her abilities grows, so do her connections to people in the county.<BR/><BR/>As in her other books, The Jump Off Creek and Wild Life, Gloss brings the American west in its first decades of settlement to life. Her storytelling is rich in details, and she knows what motivates and moves her characters. Her female characters are strong, often bucking expectations for women of their time while remaining true to themselves. I recommend it for mother-daughter book clubs with girls in 8th grade and up.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 11, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2015

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2