Customer Reviews for

The Hearts of Horses

Average Rating 4
( 61 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(27)

4 Star

(22)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

I've loaned this so many times. . .

. . .the cover is about to fall off. What a great read! Marvelous characters, wonderful story, timeless. I bought it because of the cover, began reading nearly immediately, and then couldn't put the book down.

I've loaned it to a variety of friends of both genders (m...
. . .the cover is about to fall off. What a great read! Marvelous characters, wonderful story, timeless. I bought it because of the cover, began reading nearly immediately, and then couldn't put the book down.

I've loaned it to a variety of friends of both genders (my husband liked it nearly as much as I did) and in ages ranging from 17 to nearly 90. The reviews are unanimously positive.

posted by KatieBarTheDoor on June 29, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Title Caught My Eye

As the headline says the title of this book caught my eye. I had never read anything by this author before and will now be looking to compare other books she has written.
I found it to be a wholesome but somewhat redundant book.
I liked the characters and especially e...
As the headline says the title of this book caught my eye. I had never read anything by this author before and will now be looking to compare other books she has written.
I found it to be a wholesome but somewhat redundant book.
I liked the characters and especially enjoyed learning traits of the different types of horses. This book created different emotions for me such as feeling of injustice,compassion, and humor.
I would liked to have had the characters fleshed out a bit more.
I have passed this book on to my granddaughter to now enjoy.

posted by 3054156 on February 22, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2008

    Good story interesting period

    I picked this up because my favorite authors were between books but was pleasantly surprised at the unique glimpse of life in the rural west. This is set during an interesting period of transition between the automobile age and the horse age. While automobiles and trucks were around they were not as a dependable source of transportation as the horse in all circumstances. The main character makes her living by training horses and riding from farm to farm on a daily circuit. The story centers around the lives of herself and her clients and the family she stays with. It provides discrete looks at the relationships within families and societies expectations at the time. It deals with hard issues like alcoholism 'not a major theme in this book but just an example' in the mater of fact pragmatism of the era without drama and with out moral commentary. Things are not bad or good they just are. I read this book in one sitting as did my 93 year old mother in law, by sister's in law and my daughter. It is well worth the read and it absolutely transports you back to the time period. This is a grossly under valued book and an extremely satisfying read. Take it from someone who prefers mysteries and dislikes the the general slice of life books this book is terrific at giving you a vacation in your chair.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 8, 2009

    My second favortie book of all time

    Molly Gloss has captured the essence of America in 1917 with memorable characters and a truly great story. My grandmother was born on a farm in California in 1902. This wonderful book showed me why my grandmother was the sturdy, hard-working, plain and simple woman I still love. Anyone who has ever held dear someone from that era should read this book. Anyone who wants to understand how very much America has changed (sadly) should also read this book.<BR/><BR/>Second only to Lonesome Dove.........

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2008

    Heart warming

    A well written story, first intended for my daughter, but fortunately ended up in my hands after she read it. I highly recommend this book to anyone who loves the western life with horses and wildlife as the mainstay. A very good book.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2007

    A reviewer

    I found this novel by accident. What a fortunate accident for me! The historical perspective gives the reader a peek into a past few of us would have known. Even more satisfying is the story itself, as the author created such interesting pictures in my head with creatures and characters to care about and even love.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2013

    Juniper

    She tossed her ead

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2013

    Morning Glory

    She snorted when she felt a kick in her belly

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2013

    READ THIS

    I havent read it but the description of the book sounds AWESOME SO YOU NEED TO READ IT

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2013

    Juana

    This is a good book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 22, 2012

    Highly recommend, really good book!

    This is a different kind of "horse book." It not only gets into the horse training (which seems to be a lot like "The Horse Whisperer type of training), it is also a book about the area and way of life during the mid 1900's. I really enjoyed the book and passed it on to two "non-horse" friends, not knowing if they would enjoy it, since they are not horse people, but they both really liked it, also. This is a good read for anyone.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2012

    Great read!!

    Loved the characters in this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 25, 2011

    awesome

    this was an amazing book!i love horses and i love this book just as much!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2010

    Don't Let the Title Deceive You

    Finally, a novel about women from the early 1900s doing, what was considered to be then, a man's job - "gentling" wild horses. Set in Eastern Oregon, the American West, readers get a glimpse into life during World War I that many are unaware about. This novel hints at the history of the times and locale, reminding us that any of us can overcome obstacles, regardless of who or what created them.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2010

    This is a wonderful story.

    My husband and I both read and enjoyed this book immensely. My daughter has it now and it is being passed on to all of our horse loving friends but I would recommend it for anyone, young, old, horse person or not. I hope that teenage girls come away with the belief that women are strong and can do whatever they set their mind to whether it's considered a proper profession for a woman or not.

    We own horses and could relate to some of the training methods used. It also gave us some ideas to try with our horses. I found that I could really identify with a lot of the qualities of the main character especially her shyness at the age of 17 and being more comfortable with her animals than with people. I also know today some people who resemble some of the less likable ones from the book!

    The book was like a window into what life was like in that era. Her perseverance and strong belief that her methods were right and how she kept at it until people saw the truth made me wish I was living at that time and could have been her friend. She was way ahead of her time with her training methods and even though they are commonly used now there are some people who still believe the old way of "breaking" a horse is better.

    Again, I highly recommend this book to everyone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2009

    Good read

    Especially interesting given our current world situation.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 13, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Right Up the Horse-lover's Alley

    I was completely engrossed in this story. My husband enjoyed it also, so it's not just a "chic" book. Gloss's way of weaving the horse "whispering" in with the lives and characters of her circle ride was outstanding. I thought this was a very novel concept. I liked the mystery around the main character's relationship with the characters on the circle ride. You were never quite sure how she would react to any situration which added to the drama. Hearts of Horses was an excellant read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 30, 2009

    Quiet and memorable

    Great story that is quiet, graceful and memorable. All the characters will stay with you long after the story ends.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2009

    Great book to read and relax with.

    I enjoyed the writing style of Molly Gloss. I became totally involved with the characters and did not want to put the book down. I would recommend this book highly and I plan on reading other books written by this author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 3, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by LadyJay for TeensReadToo.com

    It is the winter of 1917, and the United States has finally aligned itself with the allies of World War I. Times are hard. Young men are being shipped overseas at an alarming rate. Ranchers and farmers are scrambling to find adequate help. They must settle for older hired hands and young women looking for work. <BR/><BR/>Nineteen-year-old Martha Lessen has left her family in search of such work; specifically, horses that need "gentling." She makes her way to Eastern Oregon territory and sets up a circle with several horses that need breaking. During her stay in Elwha County, Martha becomes a part of the ranchers and farmers lives. She learns their secrets and listens to their stories. The female broncobuster who wished only to tame horses becomes a part of their community. <BR/><BR/>THE HEARTS OF HORSES has a quiet profoundness about it. Readers will not find anything flashy about this story, and in this time of thirty-second sound bytes and fast-food media, that sounds just fine. Gloss' main character is a worthy protagonist. A sturdily built young woman who has dreamed of the places mentioned in Western romance novels, she only wishes to roam free amongst her horses. It is a beautiful, poignant story that many people will enjoy reading. <BR/><BR/>Horse lovers will be especially drawn to the novel because of the care that Gloss takes while describing each animal and his/her temperament. Take the time to read this tale of a female horse whisperer - it will not disappoint.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2