Customer Reviews for

The Hearts of Men

Average Rating 5
( 26 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(23)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2007

    This book was very good...

    I got this book mainly cause it was cheap at the store I bought it from, and I really loved it. It's a very interesting read with lot's of twist. I never thought I could cry from reading a book, but this one made me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2007

    'The Hearts of Men' is truly a great story

    Prodigy, Bernard, Poppa Doc and Prodigy's shiftless cousin are all someone we know. Papa Doc I can't even put into words of what a great impact he is in this story and is the strength behind each character in this book. Through life's experiences these three men tackle what life hands them and learns that certain things are instinct in their hearts. In this book Travis Hunter has introduced us to Prodigy Banks whom is a young man who has finally gotten all aspects of his life on the right track. He has gone from being a money-making thug to a full-time employee with GMAC. Prodigy learned the hard way that work and pleasure shouldn't miss. He decides to end his no-future relationship with Simone and focus on becoming a responsible/respectable employee. With his spare time, Prodigy finds great pleasure in volunteering at the local community center (where he encounters several children whose lives mirror his upbringing). Bernard Charles is an extremely hard-working man who spends countless hours at the Ford Motor Company so that he can provide for any and every need of his family (his wife-Diane and his daughter). Bernard was abandoned as a child and vowed years ago that he'd never do that to his family. What Bernard learns the hard way is that his hard work takes him away from his family and doesn't provide for their emotional needs. Poppa Doc is a retired city worker who has won many friends and influenced many people. Poppa Doc has been a father figure to both Bernard (his son-in-law) and Prodigy. This is ironic because the one relationship that causes him more stress is his relationship with his own son, Michael. Travis Hunter writes as though he was a seasoned author - hard to believe this was his first book. The characters were well developed and strong. Hunter is a 'portrait author', which allowed me to 'see' each of the characters and to feel as though I were at a movie rather than reading a book. It¿s great to know that Travis understands the true language of love. This book shows how we break the chains of mental, emotional and spiritual bondage. I commend Travis for a work well done simply because this work is from the heart of a man who has counted every beat and moves to it's rhythms through the symphony of life. Highly recommended.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2006

    Absolutely Wonderfull

    I went to the book store in my town to look for something to read....after seen Travis selection I decided to buy the hearts of men...Oh my God is the word to describe the book, I laugh, cry but most of all I enjoy the book, I started the book on Sept 23rd @ 5 pm the 24th @ 3 pm I was done reading it, the book open knowlegde, gives one courage, faith and believes, beein that I am a divorce mom I Glad that I read the book because I have a 13 year old son. Travis very good job, I well be heading back to buy the rest of your novel selection...Keep up the good work God Bless.. Lourdy Parker Turks and Caicos Island

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2005

    Excellent book

    This was another winner for Travis Hunter... he is a very good writer and this book is a book that all men and women should read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2004

    Great Read For Men and Women Alike

    I really enjoyed this book. Good story about the Black male and becoming a man and learning to love.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2004

    Prodigy went from a child to a true man!

    I felt that Prodigy was the main character of the story as well as Travis put him. This good looking young man was full of rage when he was younger, and that way he expressed his physical unattractiveness through not having a father and using sex to get his way by rebelling. He really did not have a father or daddy in his life, but he grow to understand some things as he met someone that in a Godly mysterious way a gentleman became his father figure or daddy as you would properly put it. Through his persistence of going to church, helping others, and finally seeing his own mistakes, he was blessed in getting to meet someone that actually saw him friendly and by him showing himself to be friendly. He did know the heart of a man. 'Beauty is in the eye of the Beholder.' You can not find beauty in cheating, lying and etc. But, 'Honesty is the best policy.' This love story ended beautifully and the sequel is carrying on to the next book, which is amazing, 'Married, but still Looking!' I will be reading all of Travis Hunter's interesting books and I would like to know, 'How do I get to this position to be a romantic and bold novelist?' I am also proud and receptive in talking to others about his amazing wonderful mind about how Travis puts his heart in his writing, like myself.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2004

    a MUST read book!

    This book kept me going. i couldnt put it down! one of the best books i read. all the characters were well put together. prodigy is my favorite- a strong black male taking his life to the next level and doing good for himself and those around him. GO GET THE BOOK!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2003

    Highly Recommended

    This was a great read. About black love,loss, and power keep it all together. This book was awesome I read in two days. I found myself not wanting to put it down. Travis Hunter keep up the good work.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2003

    THIS BOOK CHANGED MY LIFE

    ME AND PRODIGY MUST BE LIVING A PARRELL LIFE CAUSE THIS BOOK IS EXACTLY MY LIFE GREAT B OOK VERY INTRESTING A MUST READ

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2003

    Th book was Hott!

    I never went through any book so fast as this one. I couldn't put it down. My girl had to tap me on my shoulder to remind me she was in the house.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2003

    Very Good Read

    This book was the boom, and I have been telling every one about it. I loved this book. I laughed and I cried. I just love it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2003

    Great book

    I really enjoyed this book. It kept me wanting to read more. Something was always going on in his life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2003

    An Awesome Read!!!

    Heartfelt and insiteful, The Hearts of Men is a book that transmits emotion from its pages into the reader.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2002

    a great book

    This was a great book and i am very happy that i bought it. I read a lot off books and this is up there on my list of great books.I bought his new book and can not wait until i read it. Thanks Mr. Hunter keep them coming.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2002

    EXCELLENT

    I DID NOT THINK I WOULD LIKE THIS BOOK; BOY WAS I WRONG!!!! THIS BOOK WAS EXCELLENT. IT DESERVES MORE THAN 5 STARS. I LOVED IT. KEEP UP THE GOOD WORK TRAVIS!!! I AM PURCHASING HIS SECOND NOVEL 'MARRIED BUT STILL LOOKING' THIS WEEK. IF YOU HAVE NOT READ THIS BOOK. I ADVISE YOU TO.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2002

    This book is a must read!

    I have read this book twice! Travis Hunter writes as though he was a seasoned author - hard to believe this is his first book. The characters were well developed and strong. Hunter is a 'portrait author', which allowed me to 'see' each of the characters and to feel as though I were at a movie rather than reading a book. I enjoyed the beginning, middle and especially the end; wanting more and hoping that this won't be the last book that comes from this talented author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2002

    Better than I thought...

    I have read alot of books, but this one takes the cake. I enjoyed every page in this book. I cried at the end, my boyfriend was looking at me like I had lost my mind. But I actually gained a new favorite to my collection of titles. And I hope who ever reads this will do the same.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2002

    I closed the book and cried

    'The Hearts of Men' was a well written book. I can no put in words the joy I found in this wonderful peace of literature. Travis Hunter has truly touch my soul. I am a single mother and full time student and work 40 hours per week. I can relate to the character Nina the most, I have shed those same tears wondering when life was going to be on my side. Travis is sharing with men (black men) that they should appreciate the women in their life's. Papa Doc I can't even put into words his story line but he was defiantly the strength behind each character. If God came down to this earth to pick a soul to speak through and share his message he would choose Papa Doc, because his faith and love and wisdom touch everyone in his life. If you haven't read this book please do. Buy two copies and share with the man (black man) in your life that needs a nice kick in the butt to better himself. This book isn't preachy but it would make you sit back and think about where you been and what path your future will take. Erica, Rockford IL

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2002

    This book is awesome

    I couldn't put this book down. I could relate to a lot of what Prodigy experienced. I highly recommend purchasing this book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2001

    ITS ABOUT TIME

    I BELIEVE THAT THIS BOOK WAS JUST TO GOOD TO BE TRUE. I LOVED IT FROM THE BEGINNING TO THE VERY END. I THINK THAT IT WAS ABOUT TIME FOR A BOOK TO BE WRITTEN ABOUT SOME STRONG BLACK MEN. CAUSE I KNOW THAT THERE ARE MANY OF THEM OUT THERE.THE WAY PRODIGY STEPS IN AND PLAYS HIS ROLE WITH BLAKE WAS WONDERFUL. YOU ALWAYS READ A LOT OF BOOKS WHERE BLACK WOMEN HAVE STEPPED UP TO THE PLATE AND HAVE DONE THEIR PART AS A STEP PARENT BUT NOT TO OFTEN DO YOU HEAR ABOUT OUR BLACK MEN BEING JUST THAT,MEN!!! I LOVE THIS BOOK CANT WAIT TO READ TRAVIS HUNTERS NEXT BOOK.AND I AM HOPING FOR A SEQUEL. I WOULD LOVE TO SEE IF DIANE AND BERNARD ,ESPECIALLY MICHEAL ARE TAKING CARE OF BUSINESS. A MUST READ.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2