Customer Reviews for

Heartsick (Archie Sheridan & Gretchen Lowell Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 406 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(221)

4 Star

(108)

3 Star

(46)

2 Star

(19)

1 Star

(12)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

10 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

Wow!

Unless you are ready to go on a wild ride, don't even read the first page, because once you do, you won't be able to stop! Kept me on the edge of my seat the whole time! GREAT BOOK!!

posted by EBarry on December 17, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Plot great; torture sick

Good thriller plot, but "another book" was here - minute descriptions of torture, e.g., what EXACTLY it feels like to swallow drain cleaner as it goes down - the first, second and third times. Very sick, the author loves it just like the torturer. No thanks on future ...
Good thriller plot, but "another book" was here - minute descriptions of torture, e.g., what EXACTLY it feels like to swallow drain cleaner as it goes down - the first, second and third times. Very sick, the author loves it just like the torturer. No thanks on future books by CC.

posted by SuseNJ on October 4, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 406 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 21
  • Posted December 17, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Wow!

    Unless you are ready to go on a wild ride, don't even read the first page, because once you do, you won't be able to stop! Kept me on the edge of my seat the whole time! GREAT BOOK!!

    10 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 12, 2009

    Unforgetable and Irreplacable

    This was one of the best books I have ever read! You just get so caught up in it that it's unreal. The characters are very strong and it's as if they come to life and are real people. The way that the story unravels and comes together is great and the relationship between Gretchen and Archie is compelling. Susan is also a very strong character and the ending is great. Definately a must have book. Chelsea Cain is a magnificent writer.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    A reviewer

    In Portland, Oregon, the serial killer soaks his victims in bleach before discarding the teenage girls. Police Detective Archie Sheridan is assigned to lead the task force investigating the case. He knows he must get his act together to prevent more victims, but also thinks back to when he went after serial killer psychiatrist Gretchen ¿The Beauty Queen¿ Lowell. She caught and tortured him for ten days including breaking his ribs so that she left behind a heart shaped scar. He lives because she called 911, but he uses painkillers at an alarming rate to ease the ache and continues to visit Gretchen weekly although he claims it is to get her to tell the authorities where the bodies are buried he knows deep inside she owns him even from behind bars. On the task force is energetic pink haired reporter Susan Ward. She rejects Archie¿s controlling orders instead she pushes him to do the right thing but she must compete with Gretchen who controls Archie so much so that he deserted his family for her. As the tug of war between the two females occurs, the bleach killer is interested in the reporter as a victim while Archie thinks this case might get him past his fascination that has made no woman compare to his Gretchen. --- In an obvious connection to Hannibal Lector, HEARTSICK is a fabulous psychological police procedural that grips the audience from the onset, but especially when readers meet Gretchen. The story line switches back and forth between the current case to when Gretchen captured Archie effortlessly so that both subplots are well written and gripping. Readers will appreciate this dark suspense thriller driven by the lead quartet whose tango means death. --- Harriet Klausner

    4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 4, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Plot great; torture sick

    Good thriller plot, but "another book" was here - minute descriptions of torture, e.g., what EXACTLY it feels like to swallow drain cleaner as it goes down - the first, second and third times. Very sick, the author loves it just like the torturer. No thanks on future books by CC.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 26, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    GRIPPING

    This book was wonderful. I can't wait to read the rest in the series. Gretchen Lowell is a sociopathic deviant of society that will give any reader goosebumps.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2009

    wow what an ending!!!

    this was a great book. i am looking forward to the sequal. i thought this was a very original take on a classic plot good guy vs bad guy. i thought for a minute i had it all figured out, then the ending took me by total surprise. a good read, but you better leave a light on.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 27, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Wow...tops any Patterson book I"ve ever read!

    I love this book! I'm a big fan of the thriller genre and this is tops with me. Cain is up there with Gardiner and surpasses Patterson by a long shot, in my opinion. Well worth the read! The idea of a female serial killer is brilliant. Women are tough, unpredictable, and smart...time to recognize! Loved it!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    AWESOME!

    This book was a wonderful surprise! Kept me on the edge of my seat. Definately lost some sleep because I couldn't put it down! Would recommend in a Heartbeat!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 3, 2009

    A digital page turner

    I am enjoying this audio one round trip at a week. I was beginning to tire of my weekly trips to visit a friend but lately I look forward to them The characters are well developed and the suspense and action keep things moving. If I was reading the book version I probably couldn't put the book down.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2009

    very hard to put down!!

    very good a real page turner!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Not for the Faint of Heart

    With its descriptions into the mind of a serial killer, Heart Sick captures the dark side of human nature. This wild tale is heart pounding and worth the read. The torture is hard to take, especially when its a woman that tortures for her own pleasure. Heart Sick makes a reader very aware of what the victim is feeling. Horrible, but engrossing.
    *****I highly recommend this story. Tamera Lawrence, author of THE POND

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 12, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Totally unexpected

    I just happened to come across this book and decided to take a chance on it, so glad I am! <BR/>This is a great easy read! The storyline is different and I cannot wait to finish it, (about 100 pages left). <BR/><BR/>Would definitely recommend this book!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 2, 2009

    Not bad.

    This book was easy to put down and did not become harder to do so until about two-thirds of the way through. The female serial killer in the story does have a fresh angle and the overall plot was good too, but I wouldn't call it all that suspenseful. All in all this was a decent crime novel.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 31, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Jennifer Wardrip - Personal Read

    THE BEST THRILLER BOOK EVER!!! <BR/><BR/>Seriously, if you love thrillers, and ESPECIALLY thrillers about serial killers, then you DON'T want to miss HEARTSICK.<BR/><BR/>I don't know how Ms. Cain came up with the character of Gretchen Lowell (actually, I probably don't WANT to know!), but she has to be the most twisted killer I've ever come across. You may have thought Hannibal Lecter was the king of serial killers -- but that crazy man doesn't hold a candle to the chilling Ms. Lowell.<BR/><BR/>Trust me. Get the book. It's that good. Just don't read it while you're home alone, or when there's a threat of a power outage, or when you're eating dinner.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 30, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A strange kind of hero

    This is a great mystery/thriller for those days when you do not want to read something typical. The main character is a man you are not sure if you like. . .you pity him one minute, hate him the next, then want him to win and you even have moments when you want him to just go away and bring in another hero. The protaganist is a female character you will never ever forget! The relationship between the two is so electrifying that you can feel it just leap off the page.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 19, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    loved this book

    At times the book made me cringe a little. It was very detailed and left me feeling uneasy. But I loved it. Had no idea it was a book that took place in my home town. Even more exciting!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 15, 2008

    Awesome!!!!

    Loved the book will be reading number two pretty soon, I am trying to wait cause I know number three is not ready to be released. Very good writer, one of the best books i have read. Writing style was great as well.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 18, 2008

    Geat new writer

    Now this is a real page turner, this book kept me up at night, cannot wait to get her second one

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2008

    The best book of the year!!!

    I mentally kicked myself over and over and over again for not buying this book sooner. I searched for months for the perfect book to grab me, use me up and throw me away like a dirty dishrag and it had been staring me in the face the entire time. Gretchen Lowell is the most original, articulate and sadistic serial killer I've ever read. She is a woman without conscience, without remorse, who will not stop until you acknowledge you are hers. There is no one like her and I am addicted. Yes, it's gory. Yes, it's messy. No, it's not for the faint of heart, but stick it out anyway, those scenes of torture made this book all the more real for me. There were moments I clasped my hand to my mouth at the very same time I gasped for air. And still I could not put the book down.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2008

    Thrilling First Novel

    This is a great first novel from Chelsea Cain. I finished it one day because I could not put it down! Cain wonderfully explores the relationship of a female serial killer and victim while also telling the story of a current serial killer. A must-read!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 406 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 21