Customer Reviews for

Heartsick (Archie Sheridan & Gretchen Lowell Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 406 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(221)

4 Star

(108)

3 Star

(46)

2 Star

(19)

1 Star

(12)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

10 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

Wow!

Unless you are ready to go on a wild ride, don't even read the first page, because once you do, you won't be able to stop! Kept me on the edge of my seat the whole time! GREAT BOOK!!

posted by EBarry on December 17, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Plot great; torture sick

Good thriller plot, but "another book" was here - minute descriptions of torture, e.g., what EXACTLY it feels like to swallow drain cleaner as it goes down - the first, second and third times. Very sick, the author loves it just like the torturer. No thanks on future ...
Good thriller plot, but "another book" was here - minute descriptions of torture, e.g., what EXACTLY it feels like to swallow drain cleaner as it goes down - the first, second and third times. Very sick, the author loves it just like the torturer. No thanks on future books by CC.

posted by SuseNJ on October 4, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 46 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted October 4, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Plot great; torture sick

    Good thriller plot, but "another book" was here - minute descriptions of torture, e.g., what EXACTLY it feels like to swallow drain cleaner as it goes down - the first, second and third times. Very sick, the author loves it just like the torturer. No thanks on future books by CC.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 2, 2009

    Not bad.

    This book was easy to put down and did not become harder to do so until about two-thirds of the way through. The female serial killer in the story does have a fresh angle and the overall plot was good too, but I wouldn't call it all that suspenseful. All in all this was a decent crime novel.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 9, 2013

    Snowpaw

    Get taken there

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 24, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Not the Best Thriller of the Year

    Book 1 in the Archie and Gretchen series

    The story explores what make up a psychopath and the relationship between a serial killer and his/her victims. "Heart Sick" is a gruesome tale of torture and manipulation, a fiction depicting a twisted and creepy serial killer.

    Detective Archie Sheridan (main character) has spent ten years on a task force hunting a beautiful serial killer named Gretchen Lowell. Gretchen eventually turned the table and the hunter became the hunted. She lured him into a trap, tortured him for several days and contrary to her M.O. she mysteriously sets him free, leaving him haunted in many ways by the experience for the rest of his life.

    The story picks up two years later with Gretchen in prison and Archie recently off medical leave and returned to duty. Still on strong medication he quickly finds himself deeply involved in another case of multiple abductions and murders. Many teenage girls have mysteriously gone missing in the Oregon area.

    During this period, Detective Archie Sheridan's experiences attract the attention of the press and Susan Ward, a young eccentric journalist, is assigned the task of writing his story. In her research, she tags along and records every move he makes but unknown to her, this action leads her straight into the serial killer's web...

    The gruesome torture Archie endured at the hands of Gretchen is rehashed in flashback sequences and the gory details create a graphic and violent atmosphere at times. Archie, one of the main characters, is overshadowed by the strong characterisation of Gretchen, a beautiful serial killer. The story only comes alive when she appears and dims when she is off stage. It leaves the reader wondering if this is a suspense thriller or a twisted love story between a cop and a serial killer. Susan Ward the pink hair journalist is thrown into the mix to add a touch of colour and help tell the story. This novel is riddled with old clichés, very basic suspense and is rather unrealistic at times. This does not measure up to other thrillers I read this year

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 17, 2009

    "Heartsick" by Chelsea Cain is a pretty good quick read.

    While the characters were engaging and the plot very original, I found this book a little boring compared to the main genre of books that I read, which are political thrillers. So this was a step into another realm that I am not familiar with. That said, I did care about the protagonist and what he was going through and what would happen to him in the end. So I kept reading, despite the relative simplicity of the plot. I also purchased "Sweetheart" but have not read it yet, as I am working my way through another CIA-themed timely thriller. "Heartsick" is what I would consider a good "beach book" but not one that I would pass along to others. Perhaps a younger reader would find it more enjoyable. Chelsea Cain shows promise, but I would hope that her future works focused on more timely subjects. Right now, they seem like they could be a television episode of some crime show. But kudos to her for getting published, and for having the fortitude to see the book through to the end of the publishing process. I wish her all the best, and admire her for writing about what is believable to her. I am not a published author (yet), so of course I know she's got something special that I have not yet discovered. Best of luck to you, Ms. Cain.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 2, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 10, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 46 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3