Customer Reviews for

Heartsick (Archie Sheridan & Gretchen Lowell Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 406 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(221)

4 Star

(108)

3 Star

(46)

2 Star

(19)

1 Star

(12)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

10 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

Wow!

Unless you are ready to go on a wild ride, don't even read the first page, because once you do, you won't be able to stop! Kept me on the edge of my seat the whole time! GREAT BOOK!!

posted by EBarry on December 17, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Plot great; torture sick

Good thriller plot, but "another book" was here - minute descriptions of torture, e.g., what EXACTLY it feels like to swallow drain cleaner as it goes down - the first, second and third times. Very sick, the author loves it just like the torturer. No thanks on future ...
Good thriller plot, but "another book" was here - minute descriptions of torture, e.g., what EXACTLY it feels like to swallow drain cleaner as it goes down - the first, second and third times. Very sick, the author loves it just like the torturer. No thanks on future books by CC.

posted by SuseNJ on October 4, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 108 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    AWESOME!

    This book was a wonderful surprise! Kept me on the edge of my seat. Definately lost some sleep because I couldn't put it down! Would recommend in a Heartbeat!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 12, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Totally unexpected

    I just happened to come across this book and decided to take a chance on it, so glad I am! <BR/>This is a great easy read! The storyline is different and I cannot wait to finish it, (about 100 pages left). <BR/><BR/>Would definitely recommend this book!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 19, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    loved this book

    At times the book made me cringe a little. It was very detailed and left me feeling uneasy. But I loved it. Had no idea it was a book that took place in my home town. Even more exciting!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 18, 2008

    Geat new writer

    Now this is a real page turner, this book kept me up at night, cannot wait to get her second one

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 13, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Great read - could use a few less descriptions of surroundings.

    Great read - could use a few less descriptions of surroundings. Characters are compelling - makes you want to cheer for the good guys and pray for the bad guys demise. Definitely will read series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2012

    4.5 stars

    Well developed characters and thrilling twisted plot.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2012

    Excellent book!

    This is my first book by Chelsea Cain and it was a page turner. When I read a book, I can tell within the first 10 pages if it will be a fast read or if it will take me forever to read. This book wa a page turner. It held my attention from start to finish. I plan to read other books by Chalsea Cain.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2012

    Loved this book

    Great book! I am hooked will definally read all the books in the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 4, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Intense!

    Loved this book from beginning to end! The characters are great and I just had to keep reading. I can't wait to read Chelsea Cain's other books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 27, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    An Interesting Read....

    At times it felt like Susan Ward was really Lisbeth Salander, just not quit so tough. However, I think Gretchen Lowell could be the most evil character ever. I look forward to reading the next installment!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 5, 2011

    Great read

    If you like flawed heroes, and twisted relationships, than this story has more than enough for you. It is a thrilling murder mystery the likes of Red Dragon.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 16, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Would Make A Great Movie

    It's Thomas Harris in drag. Thrilling whodunit, which subtly plays second fiddle to an overarching relationship backstory with two likeable, but thoroughly sick individuals. It's Hannibal Lecter and Clarice Starling in reverse. Very suspenseful, and totally entertaining. But it's so formulaic that you're pissed at yourself for having a good time, because it means your literary tastes remain quite crude. Evidently, a Chelsea Cain novel is a guilty pleasure. Literary snobs probably eat it up just like the rest of us, and never tell any of their friends. Kinda like those people who are too smart for television. They may be smart, but they're also liars. Enough said.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 7, 2011

    could not read without cringing

    chelsea cain really knows how to suck you into a story. you cant help but feel sorry for the lead character. something about a female psych path just gets the heart pumping.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 12, 2010

    Interesting reading ...

    I enjoyed reading this book and hope to eventually get to the next one in the series. The action was pretty consistent and I felt the need to keep turning the pages if only to see how all these amazingly messed up characters actually straightened themselves out. The author did a good job of tying up most of the loose ends, which I think is very nice in any good book, but there were still a few questions left (which is why I will read the next book in the series).

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 28, 2010

    Shocking!

    Loved the first book, can't wait to read the next in the series!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2010

    Scariest character I've read about in a long time

    The main character is so twisted, you can't help wondering about the author!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 30, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Cain in the league with the big boys of thrillers.

    Suspenseful and touching. I'm not normally a fan of female writers of thrillers but Chelsea Cain is making me a believer. Heartsick is a pretty self-descriptive title for this book. Gretchen Lowell is a compelling sadist and the lure she exhibits over Archie Sheridan (our protagonist) is heart-wrenching. This book is definitely a page turner to the very end; the suspense simply does not let up. But most impressive is the character development - no character seems secondary. Each characters' emotional state is fully detailed alongside the thrill ride. Cain's characters evokes empathy and fear side by side. I already brought the second book in the series and I cannot wait to delve into Gretchen Lowell's mind again - she is one sick puppy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 11, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    The Beauty Killer

    and boy is she a beauty and one very sick sadistic killer.

    Detective Archie Sheridan has been after the Beauty Killer for 10 years. In a sick twist he is lured and then held captive by the very beautiful but psychopathic Gretchen Lowell and tortured for 10 days. Brought out of his retirement by another serial killer who is murdering sophmore girls, Archie is a tormented soul. Addicted to pain meds, he lives in a haze most of the time. Sadly, he can no longer live at home with his wife and children even though he loves them so, and he is most at peace after his Sunday visits with Gretchen.

    Each visit he hopes to learn the location of another of the over 200 victims she has dumped. When she tells him, she then follows with the horrific details of what she did to them. It is for this reason that he can't find it in him to stop seeing her. He wants the family's to have closure and their loved one back.

    A reporter, Susan Ward, is assigned to follow Archie and do a profile on him, while he conducts the investigation, dubbed the After School Killer. It is an intense read, with some very sad asspects, between what's become of Archie's life and the girls who have been murdered.

    Well worth the time, and I will definitely be continuing the series with Sweetheart next.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 9, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    If This is Love, Run Away!

    The storytelling was well done, creating a page turner that kept me reading well into the night. The protagonist was likable with both strength and vulnerability. The "bad guy" character was truly scary, a sort of female Hannibal Lecter with a twist. The line between love and evil is a fine one for this woman.
    I'm not sure everyone will be comfortable with the more graphic descriptions that surface. I felt the writing and momentum of the story made those fit appropriately without going too far for me.
    I like this book well enough to finish it rapidly and immediately seek out the sequel, also satisfying in its mix of action and psychological thrills.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 20, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Definite page turner until the very end!

    This book keeps you guessing. You are instantly drawn to the characters, no matter how minor. The author allows enough setting details for you to form you to follow everything quite clearly. Tense and suspenseful, enjoyable cover to cover.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 108 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6