Customer Reviews for

Heartsongs

Average Rating 4.5
( 12 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(8)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 15 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2002

    Words to inspire all!

    Mattie writes with complete understanding of the thoughts and feelings of someone much older. His story is an inspiration to all who've heard it. Highly recommended!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2004

    My reveiw on Mattie Stepanek

    Hope through Heartsongs is and interesting book because the author explains how he feels. He wrote alot of other good books. This book has alot of illustrations. My favorite poem is Future Reminiscing because he tells us what he thinks about the future. This poem was written December 2000. The author did a good job because he talked about his family and friends. Mattie wrote alot of other books. They are similar because he talks about friends.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2003

    An uplifting tonic for the spirit

    I'm glad I somehow came upon this treasure of verse, and that I was able to stop the rush of the day to browse through these writings. Thanks for the boost to my spirit! I am now finding time for re-reading for added enjoyment, and am looking forward with anticipation to read his other works.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2003

    Tugs at the heart

    It is very uplifting to read. The content tugs at your heart. Mattie does a great job in expressing his thoughts on paper. Fantastic Job!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2003

    Outstanding

    I think all his books are outstanding because he tells it as he see it or how he feels it is.He has me inspired by how he understandes the world around him and the people around him. I don't know meny authers who keep you inspired in what there writting like he does I highly recommed his books to any age group because he will keep you inspired in what he has to tell you or just to help you when your down and out.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2002

    Extraordinarily advanced work!

    I have to admit I approached this book with some concern, some cynicism. But I have to admit that I was touched, moved and quite pleased by the maturity and eloquence of this young poet. Not quite in a league with the greats of the past, or even a contemporary genius like DeVault, he still shows those crystal flecks of brilliance that we can only hope will blossom into immortality.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2002

    Classic

    This was great. I also read 'Cascade' by Dennis Klett and found it to be wonderful. Very real, emotional poetry.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2002

    Wonderful!!.

    In a world filled with tension, mattie's words shine through like a light at the end of a lonely tunnel. BRAVO.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2002

    Wonderful

    This author's wisdom is far beyond his years. What a gifted soul. Thank you, Mattie, for sharing your poetry with us. I wish you longevity and great happiness, and I look forward to reading more 'heartsongs' in the years to come.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2002

    Brings tears to your eyes

    This is an amazing story written by an amazing child. It reveals to you the more important things in life. Reading this story brought tears to my eyes because this boy has so much hope in life and inspiration.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2002

    wonderful

    This book will lift you up, and brighten your spirits! Poetry lovers this book is a must! This gifted child sheds light on many subjects.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2002

    Appreciating what is really important in life

    What a remarkable philosophy of life this young man lives. He looks at life through a glass that is always half full. He appreciates God's creations and is thankful for every breath of life he takes. What an example he is to those who moan about what they do not have, and miss the happiness of what they have been given. You are an inspiration to us all, Mattie! Keep sharing your Heartsongs. We need to hear them.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2001

    Excellent

    Mattie's wisdom is far beyond his years. What a gifted soul. Thank you, Mattie, for sharing your poetry with us. I wish you longevity and great happiness, and I look forward to reading more 'heartsongs' in the years to come. I also recommend a little book of wisdom by another young man who is wise beyond his years - 'Open Your Mind, Open Your Life' by Taro Gold. Both Mattie and Taro are humble young sages with the faces of boys but the hearts of philosophers.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2001

    A beautiful boy who has a beautiful story to tell

    HE talks of his gratitude for life and how he is grateful for all around him. To say he is an amazing person is an understatement.If you like this book by his first book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 15 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1