Customer Reviews for

Heartstone

Average Rating 4
( 47 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(24)

4 Star

(10)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Loved It

I've read all of the books in the Shardlake series, and this one lived up to the others. It is fast paced and it keeps you guessing until the end. I have trouble with people who only give the book one star based on the nook price compared to the hardcover price. That...
I've read all of the books in the Shardlake series, and this one lived up to the others. It is fast paced and it keeps you guessing until the end. I have trouble with people who only give the book one star based on the nook price compared to the hardcover price. That has nothing to do with the story. I look forward to the next in the series!!

posted by RedLodgeLM on May 8, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Plot Keeps Twisting

I have read the previous 4 Matthew Shardlake books and still didn't see most of the twists coming. There is a lot of attention to detail, which sometimes seems overdone, but I think the author paints a very clear picture of what is transpiring. You can almost place your...
I have read the previous 4 Matthew Shardlake books and still didn't see most of the twists coming. There is a lot of attention to detail, which sometimes seems overdone, but I think the author paints a very clear picture of what is transpiring. You can almost place yourself in the novel and smell as well as see and hear what the characters are going through. Whether or not a true historian would be ok with the story, I don't know, but it seemed reasonable to me. I would, however, strongly recommend reading the others in the series in order before reading this one as I think it helps you understand the relationship between Matthew and Guy and Jack and Leacon better.

posted by 1710680 on February 3, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 47 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2011

    Loved It

    I've read all of the books in the Shardlake series, and this one lived up to the others. It is fast paced and it keeps you guessing until the end. I have trouble with people who only give the book one star based on the nook price compared to the hardcover price. That has nothing to do with the story. I look forward to the next in the series!!

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2014

    I Also Recommend:

    Sansom has taken several story lines and woven them together int

    Sansom has taken several story lines and woven them together into a fascinating, very good whole. I very much enjoy Sansom's, and thus his character's, voice. It has a very conversational tone which immediately drew me into the story, along with the lack of prologue. His characters are somewhat atypical in that Matthew is by no means heroic. He is an interesting, appealing character who can be stubborn, intrusive and somewhat naïve in his trust of others. Yet he is also caring and determined in his pursuit of justice. In other words, he is human and fallible. As balance, you have his assistant, Barak, how married and about to be a father. It is nice to see how both characters, individually and in relationship to one another, have grown and developed through the series.  It's a lenghty tome filled with another great story and character development (bravo!) and it does not disappoint. Sansom has retained his easy style, with its smooth, delicious crafting of words. The story (no spoilers here) is superbly wrought and moves evenly along. It is, simply, a magnificent reading experience. Reading it was a delight; it was so compelling that I could have read through the 450 pages in a single sitting. Forcing myself to take it easy and enjoy it in reasonable bits, I couldn't wait to continue, but dreaded finishing the book, so engrossing was it. Investigation of the case involves travel through southern England where Shardlake also hopes to investigate the mysterious past of Ellen Fettiplace (an inmate of the Bedlam whom we first met in `Revelation'). Shardlake's investigations lead him into danger as he seeks to make sense of what he uncovers. Neither his investigation of Hugh Curteys's wardship nor of Ellen Fettiplace's past progress smoothly and while he receives assistance from an old friend; he also crosses his old foe, Sir Richard Rich. Ultimately, Matthew Shardlake becomes caught up in the events at Portsmouth, where the fleet is massing, and ends up aboard the Mary Rose. Matthew Shardlake is a wonderful character, and through his intelligent and principled investigations we are treated to a splendid view of Tudor life, law, history and politics. While it would be possible to read and enjoy this novel on a standalone basis, it really is best to read the novels in order to fully appreciate the characters and the setting.    

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2011

    Plot Keeps Twisting

    I have read the previous 4 Matthew Shardlake books and still didn't see most of the twists coming. There is a lot of attention to detail, which sometimes seems overdone, but I think the author paints a very clear picture of what is transpiring. You can almost place yourself in the novel and smell as well as see and hear what the characters are going through. Whether or not a true historian would be ok with the story, I don't know, but it seemed reasonable to me. I would, however, strongly recommend reading the others in the series in order before reading this one as I think it helps you understand the relationship between Matthew and Guy and Jack and Leacon better.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2011

    HIGH EBOOK PRICES

    Like another nook customer, I too refuse to pay outrageous prices for ebooks when the hardcovers are less expensive and Amazon keeps their prices low. Barnes needs to be more competitive!

    3 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 25, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    positive

    I love this series but I feel he relied too much on some old formulas to ge the result he was looking for-- and in the end, while I enjoyed the journey, was left a little unfulfilled.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2013

    Great series!

    Educational and entertaining--wish there were more of them. The author seems to be writing about other things now--I hope there will be more Shardlake stories in the future.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2011

    positive

    This was appealing on many levels, it had a lot of what I look for in an absorbing book that I can think about long afterwards. At times the writing was a little awkward for me but overall I would recommend it. We read it for our bookclub and generlaly people really did enjoy it, and they like all different types of books.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 27, 2011

    positive

    Overall, and enjoyable read and not at all what I was expecting. He takes his time with the imagery, which can be nice but at times comes across as long-winded. I enjoyed getting to know the characters, and this is why I gave it a positive review. I felt they were nicely drawn and made me care about the novel in a way that would have seemed one-dimensional otherwise.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Loved it

    Next to Van Rae's novel, this was my favorite e-read since I got my nook. It is contemporary, never boring, and this author is a really great writer. The imagery he creates can send you straight into a mood you can't get out of even when you put the book down. Great read!!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 26, 2015

    Loved it.

    Loved it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2014

    Wonderful series, would love more!!!!

    Wonderful series, would love more!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2012

    One for the history, mystery readers

    Once again, Sansom has captured my reading. The battle was a different slant and the mysteries were woven together with the historical novel. I loved it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 47 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3