Customer Reviews for

Heat

Average Rating 4.5
( 208 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(143)

4 Star

(44)

3 Star

(10)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(10)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Bringing the 'Heat'

The book 'Heat,' written by Mike Lupica, is a phenomenal book that alternates between baseball action and some of life's hardships. The main character of the book is 12 year old, Michael Arroyo. He is an amazing baseball player who can pitch at speeds of up to 80 miles ...
The book 'Heat,' written by Mike Lupica, is a phenomenal book that alternates between baseball action and some of life's hardships. The main character of the book is 12 year old, Michael Arroyo. He is an amazing baseball player who can pitch at speeds of up to 80 miles per hour. He plays for the South Bronx All-Stars, a team that he has helped get to the Little League World Series. A rival coach questions his age and forces him to show a birth certificate. Since he, his father, and his brother fled Cuba at an early age, he was not able to get a birth certificate. The certificate was still in Cuba. The shocking death of Michael's father occurs, leaving the Arroyo boys hiding from authorities. His older brother Carlos then becomes a father figure in his life, helping him reach his goals of winning the Little League World Series. Manny, his friend and teammate, is very supportive to his situation. As well as his neighbor Mrs. Cora. His best friend in the book is Ellie, who is the daughter of the New York Yankee's star pitcher, el Grande. Both el Grande and Ellie help him by getting his birth certificate from Cuba, making him eligible to play in the Little League World Series. The play by play of the championship game keeps the reader on edge of their seat until the final out is made. It's a great book that teaches great life lessons while making it fun with some baseball action. I highly suggest if you are a baseball fan, or just anyone, to read 'Heat!'

posted by Anonymous on October 7, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Enjoyable

Heat by Mike Lupica is a fiction book, but you¿ll never know with all the action, suspense, and home runs! I enjoyed Heat because it¿s a sports book, but even more because it goes beyond other fiction books by putting in real life events that people everyday go through....
Heat by Mike Lupica is a fiction book, but you¿ll never know with all the action, suspense, and home runs! I enjoyed Heat because it¿s a sports book, but even more because it goes beyond other fiction books by putting in real life events that people everyday go through.
Heat takes place in the Big Apple, New York City in the year 2007. The main character Michael Arroyo has many conflicts throughout the story which involved him trying to always have food to eat, where his father is, and taking his little league baseball team to the World Series. Mike tries to get a job in the story to try to help him and his brother have more money for food, so he is thinking wisely about the situation. He also meets a girl in the park and she happens to know about Michael¿s father. Michael also had a game where his whole team was struggling and if they lost they were eliminated, so he had to buckle down and pitch incredible as he did that game.
The author writes this story from the author¿s point of view and makes a lot of the people talk with ¿New York¿ accents. He also writes a lot of descriptive words to describe a lot of little things in the story. I would definitely recommend this book to anyone that enjoys action and suspense and maybe a little fast action baseball! Anyone who enjoys literature would spend hours reading this book to find out how it all will end.

posted by 273321 on October 30, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 208 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 11
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 7, 2008

    Bringing the 'Heat'

    The book 'Heat,' written by Mike Lupica, is a phenomenal book that alternates between baseball action and some of life's hardships. The main character of the book is 12 year old, Michael Arroyo. He is an amazing baseball player who can pitch at speeds of up to 80 miles per hour. He plays for the South Bronx All-Stars, a team that he has helped get to the Little League World Series. A rival coach questions his age and forces him to show a birth certificate. Since he, his father, and his brother fled Cuba at an early age, he was not able to get a birth certificate. The certificate was still in Cuba. The shocking death of Michael's father occurs, leaving the Arroyo boys hiding from authorities. His older brother Carlos then becomes a father figure in his life, helping him reach his goals of winning the Little League World Series. Manny, his friend and teammate, is very supportive to his situation. As well as his neighbor Mrs. Cora. His best friend in the book is Ellie, who is the daughter of the New York Yankee's star pitcher, el Grande. Both el Grande and Ellie help him by getting his birth certificate from Cuba, making him eligible to play in the Little League World Series. The play by play of the championship game keeps the reader on edge of their seat until the final out is made. It's a great book that teaches great life lessons while making it fun with some baseball action. I highly suggest if you are a baseball fan, or just anyone, to read 'Heat!'

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2012

    Hi

    This book inspires me a lot. Do ur best dont give up. This book is amazing for all ages!

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2012

    Anonymous

    I didn't read this book on my nook tablet but I read this book from my school's library and I really enjoyed this I don't want to spoil it but I would recommened this to enyone who likes baseball/softball.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 25, 2011

    Mikes got style

    I thought this book was excellent Id reccommend it to any reader ages 9-13

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 20, 2009

    i liked it because......................

    Heat by mike lupica is an inspiring realistic fiction book. Heat is a great book. What makes heat a great book is that its exiting Heat made me feel like I was in the book on the way they worded it. Heat takes place at first in Cuba. Heat later on in the story takes place in the United States.
    In Heat Mick is a 12 year old boy who dreams of playing little league and going to the MLB. On this journey both his parents died and had to live with his 2 older brothers. Therefore while going and living in America, Mick and his brother have to avoid questions and not get caught. If they got cough social service would have to put them in a foster home. Mike tries his best to follow his goal. He goes to a lot of trouble to get past the umpires and teams who have a position to throw him off the team. This is because Mick has no proof of his age in only kind. He also finds his way around social services. This allows him to follow his goal and dream.
    Heat is told nicely by Mick. It is told nicely because he goes from scene to scene without confusing you. It also makes it like you where right in the book along side him. If you like to read a thrilling and exiting story, read Heat. Also if you've read Holes and liked it you might want to read Heat.

    4 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    Enjoyable

    Heat by Mike Lupica is a fiction book, but you¿ll never know with all the action, suspense, and home runs! I enjoyed Heat because it¿s a sports book, but even more because it goes beyond other fiction books by putting in real life events that people everyday go through. <BR/>Heat takes place in the Big Apple, New York City in the year 2007. The main character Michael Arroyo has many conflicts throughout the story which involved him trying to always have food to eat, where his father is, and taking his little league baseball team to the World Series. Mike tries to get a job in the story to try to help him and his brother have more money for food, so he is thinking wisely about the situation. He also meets a girl in the park and she happens to know about Michael¿s father. Michael also had a game where his whole team was struggling and if they lost they were eliminated, so he had to buckle down and pitch incredible as he did that game.<BR/>The author writes this story from the author¿s point of view and makes a lot of the people talk with ¿New York¿ accents. He also writes a lot of descriptive words to describe a lot of little things in the story. I would definitely recommend this book to anyone that enjoys action and suspense and maybe a little fast action baseball! Anyone who enjoys literature would spend hours reading this book to find out how it all will end.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2011

    Award winning

    Best book ever,read miracle on 49 street

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 2, 2011

    Amazing!

    I love all Mike Lupicas Books! Read them all!

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2008

    Heat

    Imagine having to lie about everything well that's what life is like for Michael the main character in the book Heat by Mike Lupica.This book is about a 12 year old boy who wants to be a famous baseball player but he has to lie to his little league coach that his dad is still on a buiness trip and cant sign the permission slip but his dad is dead.My favorite part is when Michael looks around the baseball field at a game and he noticed a girl, she was laughing.Michael thought she was laughing at him so he went over there but she took off running.This is my favorite part because Michael thought she was laughing at him and she was but he did not know that.I recommend that kids 11 and older read this book because it is long, romanic and sad, with a little bit of action.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2012

    Apprentices' Den

    2 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2012

    M

    I loved it! One Best baseball book EVER!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2012

    Bestest

    I hated it at first but its the best micheal arroyo is so relatable

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2012

    Read this review

    I nor in to sports that much but i heard they are good books so should i read it?

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 28, 2012

    Heat

    I am 12 And this is a great book !! :)

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2012

    Great book

    This is a great book if you are a baseball lover

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2012

    .

    Good book, but its kinda predictable. But otherwise i loved this book. It was cool how i could relate to it because im a lefty too.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2012

    So far...

    So far... im on chapter 10 (about to read chapter 10) and i think its great. I not a big fan of baseball but my family is from Massechusetts so i like the red sox. I would reccomend this book to anyone who is a sports fan or like to learn about an athletic boy/girl in a story

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 10, 2012

    Heat by Mike Lupica

    Heat
    Do you like baseball or have ever played it? Then Heat by Mike Lupica is a book for you to read. This exciting book tells the story about a 14 year old boy and his love for the game baseball. Everyone knows that Michael has an amazing arm and is the star pitcher for their Little League team. When he stops a nearby crime with a baseball, he finds himself in trouble and involved with the CSA. As they find out more about Michael and his baseball career, nobody knows Michael’s real age and start questioning if he’s even able to play in the league anymore. But since his father died with the birth certificate, no body can prove how old he really is. He isn’t allowed to play until they have proof. Will Michael play in the championship when his team will need him the most?

    I rate this book a 3 of out 5 because it is a good book and it uses okay vocabulary

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2012

    :I

    I'm 11 years old and I've read numerous Mike Lupica books (Travel Team, Hot Hand, Mirracle on 34th Street, etc) those are just some of them i have read. Heat didn't have as much adventure. Sorry 2 say, this is my only book by mike lupica that i was not very imprssed

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2014

    this book is ausome Chase

    This book is ausome

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 208 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 11