BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Heat Rises (Nikki Heat Series #3)

Average Rating 4
( 299 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(161)

4 Star

(71)

3 Star

(37)

2 Star

(12)

1 Star

(18)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

29 out of 31 people found this review helpful.

Great Read!

If you enjoy the TV Series and you enjoyed The 1st two books you will throughly enjoy this one. I am a big fan of Murder Mystery Books with the likes of James Patterson and Catherine Coulter; Richard Castle has done it again. Only problem I had with it was nothing wit...
If you enjoy the TV Series and you enjoyed The 1st two books you will throughly enjoy this one. I am a big fan of Murder Mystery Books with the likes of James Patterson and Catherine Coulter; Richard Castle has done it again. Only problem I had with it was nothing with the writing or storyline, but I bought the Nook under the understanding that ebooks would be cheaper; however like this one the ebook copy which you can not share with anyone it is $14+ whene you can by the paperback for only ~$10 and you can re-sell in the future if you would like. What is up with the prices of the ebook. I stronly suggest buying the paperback or wait a year or two to purchase the ebook as I can't say I would recommend paying $14+ for this ebook or any for that matter...

posted by Reading_Thrill on September 20, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

17 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

What a disappointment!

I'm a big fan of the Castle TV show, and having read the first two books in the Nikki Heat series, I really looked forward to this one. WHAT HAPPENED WITH THE LANGUAGE??? Is this book by the same writer(s) as the first book? The story was fast-moving, although I guessed...
I'm a big fan of the Castle TV show, and having read the first two books in the Nikki Heat series, I really looked forward to this one. WHAT HAPPENED WITH THE LANGUAGE??? Is this book by the same writer(s) as the first book? The story was fast-moving, although I guessed who the big baddie was as soon as the character was introduced. We traded the witty banter that made the first book a delight (without the need for constant gutter mouth) for a few more f-bombs in the second book. Then number three hits us with a barrage of filthy language. When it comes to words, I'd much rather read creative and witty than go for the "shock value." At this point, I don't really care what happens to Rook. I won't be back to read about it -- not if I have to put up with the language. And oh, yeah -- I agree about the price. You can buy a paperback that doesn't have all the errors in it for a lot less.

posted by azreaderSR on September 26, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 300 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 15
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2011

    Great Read!

    If you enjoy the TV Series and you enjoyed The 1st two books you will throughly enjoy this one. I am a big fan of Murder Mystery Books with the likes of James Patterson and Catherine Coulter; Richard Castle has done it again. Only problem I had with it was nothing with the writing or storyline, but I bought the Nook under the understanding that ebooks would be cheaper; however like this one the ebook copy which you can not share with anyone it is $14+ whene you can by the paperback for only ~$10 and you can re-sell in the future if you would like. What is up with the prices of the ebook. I stronly suggest buying the paperback or wait a year or two to purchase the ebook as I can't say I would recommend paying $14+ for this ebook or any for that matter...

    29 out of 31 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 26, 2011

    What a disappointment!

    I'm a big fan of the Castle TV show, and having read the first two books in the Nikki Heat series, I really looked forward to this one. WHAT HAPPENED WITH THE LANGUAGE??? Is this book by the same writer(s) as the first book? The story was fast-moving, although I guessed who the big baddie was as soon as the character was introduced. We traded the witty banter that made the first book a delight (without the need for constant gutter mouth) for a few more f-bombs in the second book. Then number three hits us with a barrage of filthy language. When it comes to words, I'd much rather read creative and witty than go for the "shock value." At this point, I don't really care what happens to Rook. I won't be back to read about it -- not if I have to put up with the language. And oh, yeah -- I agree about the price. You can buy a paperback that doesn't have all the errors in it for a lot less.

    17 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 21, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Great Read

    This book was fantastic. If you liked the first books in this series, you'll really enjoy this one.

    13 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 24, 2011

    Dying to read but refuse to pay

    Guess I'll have to borrow a digital copy and download from the library. Are they kidding with these prices?

    9 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2011

    Exciting series, follows along with characters & discussions on TV show, Castle

    Having read the other 2 books in this series & having enjoyed Castle on TV for the past few years, I expect this new book to be a good read. If you enjoy James Patterson or Margaret Maron, then you will probably enjoy this series

    9 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 16, 2012

    Why do we need filthy language in American mystery books? Why c

    Why do we need filthy language in American mystery books? Why can't these books reflect the type of language that is on the tv show. For goodness sake, that's why we bought them in the first place. I won't be buying anymore unless you go back. So typical!

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 25, 2011

    Excellent

    Best of the series so far. I'm a huge fan of Castle, but I'm loving all of the Nikki Heat series. Can't believe the cliffhanger. Can't wait to see what happens next with Jameson Rook and Nikki Heat!

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 24, 2011

    Really good read!

    This was as good if not better than the previous two. I love the little in jokes too.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2012

    Best of all.

    I have read and have loved all 3 books in this series so for but this was the best. Can't wait fir the next one.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 18, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Enjoyed the final book of the murder syeries!

    A priest is dead and Nikki Heat has to find out who murdered him. Nikki Heat's boss Captain Montrose ends up getting killed when shes working on the this investigation. The new captain ends up suspended Nikki from her job. Nikki ends up working with Jameson Rook on this murder case even though her gun is taken away from her. Jameson gets shot while he is trying to save Nikki's life when she is in danger.

    3 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 24, 2011

    Ahh castle does it agin

    FOR thoes of you that watch the show..... if u have not seen the seson premire do Not read on "I LOVE U KATE!"

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 23, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Love Castle! Love this book!

    I love Castle!! and this book makes it even better!! The series definitely improves each book. I follow the show religiously and love the chance to see how these books take shape. This book came out during the 4th season of Castle and the story is definitely influenced by the third season of the show, in which there is a main character loss and upheaval within the ranks of the homicide division in the NYPD. Castle takes those influences and makes a new story out of it. It doesn't take the same exact tract as the show but you see the general similarities. For those who don't like exact replicas of books and movies, or attempts at that, don't worry because the stories are completely different. I usually pride myself with figuring out twists before they are told but this book had me guessing the enemies and friends all the way through!
    We start this book with Nikki getting on a weird case that has a priest found bound and killed in a S&M type place. At every corner in this investigation there seems to be something off, the odd sock, especially when Heat realizes Captain Montrose has been investigating this case on his own while shutting her investigating down at every turn, and seems to be connected to an old case he did while still a detective. She seems to be hit by all different emotions while at work and just as many outside of work since Rook has been gone for a month due to his work and some unwanted public affairs.
    This adventure is full of interesting events from start to finish with no real slow spot. The witty relations from the TV show are just as present here, which is one of the things I really enjoyed both watching on TV and reading in this book. If you don't watch the show this book can be just as fun for you too. With the last two books I believe they would have been more geared for the Castle crowd but this one holds its own as a true book outside the series. It is something you could read out of order but I personally could never read a book outside a series or not in a row, but for those who do it holds its own :)
    For any Nathan Fillion fans there is even a Firefly reference that made me laugh out loud, being that this is such a cross media book as is why not connect Fillion, Castle, Rook, and Captain Mal Reynolds all in one paragraph!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 4, 2012

    Richard Castle is my favorite author since Franklin W. Dixon. I

    Richard Castle is my favorite author since Franklin W. Dixon. I hope he will be as prolific. I have thoroughly enjoyed the first three books of the series. Even if the characters were Castle and Beckett I would have enjoyed the books for their plots and suspense. The fact that Rook and Heat have their own personalities and occasionally engage in a little touchy-feely added to my enjoyment. I think the books stack up well against Kathy Reichs's Temprence Brennan books.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 24, 2011

    Heat Rises

    For Castle fans, which I am, this book is great!!! Glad Nikki Heat is with her writer in something... Wish she would be in show, finally.... Good book

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 11, 2011

    Fantastic!

    It's fast-paced and compelling. The ending is great, and leaves me wanting MORE RICHARD CASTLE!!!!!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 6, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Another great read

    A fantastic 3rd addition to the Richard Castle universe. Great for fans because of the wonderful in-jokes or mystery enthusiasts in general.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2012

    great rea

    the next one in the series is here!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2012

    Even Better!

    The Nikki Heat series at it's finest! The tension really heats up as well as the romance! Can't get enough of it! Any Castle fan will absolutely fall in love with the 3rd installment of the Heat Series!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 1, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Once again... NICE JOB!

    Sure the characters are cursing more then often but hey, look at the bright side! Nikki and Jameson are getting closer and not only do they act more as a couple, they understand each other so much better! I loved how Nikki feels safe around Jamie and how much he reminds me of someone we all know and love... (hint: his picture is all over the back of all three books)
    This mystery just kept me wanting to finally catch the bad guys and kick their ***! Even though the ending is- well you'll have to read the book to find out- dramatic, I sooooooooooo did not see this coming ( This is coming from a person who usually guesses right on who the crock is on the show) I honestly cried... a lot... That's right I'm not ashamed to reveals this! Even though the style of the way the book has been written changed, I still bought it (and the other two). I highly recommend this book to an audience of sixteen and older because of some of the naughty things Heat and Rook do *wink*. Also, to those who enjoy the thrill of mystery, romance, and occasional comedy! Once again... NICE JOB!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2012

    Praise for Castle

    I've enjoyed every last bit of this series. I too am one of Richard Castle's biggest fans! He is such an amazing writer/ actor. And might I add he is also undenyibly handsome. I watch the show every Monday night and if I miss it I am pretty much devistated (until I remember that I can just watch it online : D ) Anyway I definately would (and I have) reccomend this to anyone wo is willin to listen!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 300 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 15