BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Heat Rises (Nikki Heat Series #3)

Average Rating 4
( 299 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(161)

4 Star

(71)

3 Star

(37)

2 Star

(12)

1 Star

(18)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

29 out of 31 people found this review helpful.

Great Read!

If you enjoy the TV Series and you enjoyed The 1st two books you will throughly enjoy this one. I am a big fan of Murder Mystery Books with the likes of James Patterson and Catherine Coulter; Richard Castle has done it again. Only problem I had with it was nothing wit...
If you enjoy the TV Series and you enjoyed The 1st two books you will throughly enjoy this one. I am a big fan of Murder Mystery Books with the likes of James Patterson and Catherine Coulter; Richard Castle has done it again. Only problem I had with it was nothing with the writing or storyline, but I bought the Nook under the understanding that ebooks would be cheaper; however like this one the ebook copy which you can not share with anyone it is $14+ whene you can by the paperback for only ~$10 and you can re-sell in the future if you would like. What is up with the prices of the ebook. I stronly suggest buying the paperback or wait a year or two to purchase the ebook as I can't say I would recommend paying $14+ for this ebook or any for that matter...

posted by Reading_Thrill on September 20, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

17 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

What a disappointment!

I'm a big fan of the Castle TV show, and having read the first two books in the Nikki Heat series, I really looked forward to this one. WHAT HAPPENED WITH THE LANGUAGE??? Is this book by the same writer(s) as the first book? The story was fast-moving, although I guessed...
I'm a big fan of the Castle TV show, and having read the first two books in the Nikki Heat series, I really looked forward to this one. WHAT HAPPENED WITH THE LANGUAGE??? Is this book by the same writer(s) as the first book? The story was fast-moving, although I guessed who the big baddie was as soon as the character was introduced. We traded the witty banter that made the first book a delight (without the need for constant gutter mouth) for a few more f-bombs in the second book. Then number three hits us with a barrage of filthy language. When it comes to words, I'd much rather read creative and witty than go for the "shock value." At this point, I don't really care what happens to Rook. I won't be back to read about it -- not if I have to put up with the language. And oh, yeah -- I agree about the price. You can buy a paperback that doesn't have all the errors in it for a lot less.

posted by azreaderSR on September 26, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 300 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 15
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2012

    This book was even better than the other two! This author is fin

    This book was even better than the other two! This author is finally learning how to write a book, and not a tv episode called a book. This book had lots of twists and turns and was really a page turner. I throughly enjoyed it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2012

    Awesome

    Best one of the series.. cant wait for book 4

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2012

    Great book...BUT READ THE OTHERS FIRST!

    There are some series where it is ok to read the books out of order. This is NOT one of them. The only exception might be is if you are already a huge fan of ABC's Castle. But even then, the books aren't nearly as fun if you read them out of order.

    Now, as a huge fan of both the books & the show, I am stuck waiting for the next book in the series and for more clues as to which writer or group of writers is working to bring us this great storyline. Please don't make us wait long!

    P.S. To the writer/s: Thanks for the upcoming Derrick Storm series, the Firefly reference & all the other insider Castle fan jokes. As much as I love the books, I am laughing along with you at the cat & mouse game of "WHO IS RC?"! Thanks for keeping us entertained and on our toes. Can't wait for the next installment in the Nikki Heat series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2011

    Doesn't disappoint.

    Great book! Keep writing!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2011

    Excellent book.

    As always, Richard Castle has writen another excellent book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2011

    Great movie bad book

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 24, 2011

    Yay

    I love the show castle and everything about it. Kate beckett ftw! ; )

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 24, 2011

    Better and better

    The ebook had some kerning flaws but it didn't take away from what a great read this book turned out to be. I love the little easter eggs and references to the great people and shows that have brought together the great team that is Castle. Read the books, watch the series, you wont be disappointed.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 23, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Loved it!!!!!!! Love the Show too!

    Great book. It was very exciting. If you like page turning adventure and twists and turns you will really enjoy this book. Highly Recommend it. Not too long, and not too short. Perfection!!!!!!!!!!! I really loved this book...Good Stuff!


    I also loved THE CHATEAU by C D SWANSON - a highly exciting book filled with twists and turns and each turn of the page, nail biting situations that make you want to keep reading!!! Excellent book! I LOVED IT!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2011

    Love, love, LOVE Richard Castle and this series!!

    Love this book, and the first 2! Yes, today, the ebook is $0.80 more than the paperback version, but I believe its due to its first week on release. Besides, having on my nook is worth it, I have no room for actual books at my house, College books for me and husband take up all the space and then some. I like being able to take anywhere and not clutter up my purse or diaper bag. Its still cheaper than the hardback or audio, so really people stop complaining about a whole $0.80. The book and author itself are amazing and not to mention the show, but its amazing too! So happy this book is finally out, and can't wait for MORE already!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 21, 2011

    Anom

    What is up with the publisher. The spanish ebooks are lowr than the english books and the are all lend me books. I am just say that all these ebooks should be the same price and features if the are publish in different languages.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 29, 2014

    Very entertaining

    What can one say, it's like being there on the TV show "Castle". The characters are like old friends, and the plot has enough twists to keep anyone interested.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 23, 2014

    Fast Read

    I really enjoy all of the "HEAT" series by Richard Castle can't wait till the next one comes out

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 24, 2014

    Best of the Heat

    I have read all three Nikki Heat novels and I must say that the first two were a disappointment. The story lines were interesting but, frankly, the books were poorly written, as a former teacher there would have been a lot of red marks on the pages. That being said, I REALLY LIKED HEAT RISES. It had all of the entertainment value of the TV show and more. I jhave recommended it to many friends.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2014

    Oustanding

    A page turner. Buy it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2014

    Bloodpelt's bio

    Name-Bloodpelt<br>
    <p>Age-19 moons.<br>
    <p>Looks-Deep black pelt with a red ear. Souless crimson eyes. And a large fluffy tail.<br>
    <p>Personality-Loves to fight and kill. Spirited with adventure. Can be kind if he wants.<br>
    <p>Mate/Crush/Kits-None.<br>
    <p>Position-Co deputy.<br>
    <p>History-Used to be a rouge.<br>
    <p>Other-Ask.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2014

    Redstars bio

    Name: Redstar<p>age:11 moons (1 moon=1 month)<p>appearence: dirty white and grey tomcat with a red scar across his left eye, right ear has a bite shape torn out of it, green eyes.<p>family: for all he knows their all dead.<p>mate none<p>kits :none<p>personality: stong, brave,very serious, a fearless leader, and a killer at heart,friendly enough around clanmates but around anythreat he will die to save his friends.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 14, 2014

    Great read!

    I enjoyed it a lot.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2014

    GRAND STAIRCASE

    Herw

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2014

    Wrong place!

    I is at place res 7! Sorry!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 300 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 15