Customer Reviews for

Heatseeker

Average Rating 3
( 22 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(6)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Hot, hot, hot! Exactly what I expect from a Lucy Monroe Book!

Hot, hot, hot! Exactly what I expect from a Lucy Monroe Book! A strong alpha male character, Kaden, and in this case, an equally strong female character, Rachel. This book contains it all....intrigue, danger, love and complex personal relationships. The main charact...
Hot, hot, hot! Exactly what I expect from a Lucy Monroe Book! A strong alpha male character, Kaden, and in this case, an equally strong female character, Rachel. This book contains it all....intrigue, danger, love and complex personal relationships. The main characters are very fleshed out including a complex past history. Lucy fleshes out the supporting characters very well also. All of the elements come together nicely. This story line is complex, believable and fun to read....Lucy did her research! Lucy Monroe is one of my favorite authors and this book does not disappoint!

posted by Loriannie4 on January 27, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Incclu Dont buy includes gay relationship Includes gay relationship

In general women buy and read romance books this book
Spent way too much time on the gay relationship between two men why would ms monroe think women want to read about two men in a sexual relationship this book is way below the standard we expect from the autho...
In general women buy and read romance books this book
Spent way too much time on the gay relationship between two men why would ms monroe think women want to read about two men in a sexual relationship this book is way below the standard we expect from the author or great romsnce bookd like ready or willing or able three of her best books

posted by 1146109 on February 11, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2013

    Incclu Dont buy includes gay relationship Includes gay relationship

    In general women buy and read romance books this book
    Spent way too much time on the gay relationship between two men why would ms monroe think women want to read about two men in a sexual relationship this book is way below the standard we expect from the author or great romsnce bookd like ready or willing or able three of her best books

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2013

    Rather disappointed

    I have been reading Lucy's books for years. Her addition of a male relationship really threw me! When I bought this book I expected the hot female, male story she always writes! I understand wanting to be "pc" but, I don't know of any woman who really wants to read about this kind of relationship. I am not being hateful, but it seems to me it should have been included in the synopsis. Lucy's last Goddard Project book didn't go out with a bang as I thought it would.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 2, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    As posted on The Smutty Kitty 3 out of 5 Licks I just realized

    As posted on The Smutty Kitty

    3 out of 5 Licks

    I just realized this book is loosely connected to a series Lucy has that I have not read. I don't feel like that took away too much from this book. There were a few times when I was wondering if I was supposed to know more about some of these characters, but there was enough background info provided that it didn't really matter. I really liked the premise of the book and wanted to absolutely love it but sadly that just didn't happen. The previous relationship between Kaden and Rachel is sad and although she has clearly had a rough go the last several years she was borderline unlikable. She was whiny and she did have valid reasons for her feelings she went on and on about it and even though she said she was over it she clearly wasn't. Too much of the book was spent with her dwelling on and clinging to the past hurts. Because of that the ending felt a bit rushed to me. The sex was ok. It was described a bit clinically for me. I would have liked to see the author go for it, but it felt like she was trying to be careful not to get too dirty with the descriptions so it came across feeling a bit cold. There were a few political references that I don't feel added to the book. I felt more like the author was trying to share her political views rather than add to the story line. That is just my personal feeling. Politics makes me very uncomfortable and I tend to shy away from it.

    There is a second minor story line between Neil and Wyatt. I also found that the switch between team nicknames and real names went back and forth a lot instead of being consistent. All that said I liked the book but it wasn't something that I just couldn't put down. The idea is interesting and the feeling is there but a bit hidden. I would be interested in reading the previous books and seeing if they help bring a better understanding to this one and round out the series.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 27, 2013

    Hot, hot, hot! Exactly what I expect from a Lucy Monroe Book!

    Hot, hot, hot! Exactly what I expect from a Lucy Monroe Book! A strong alpha male character, Kaden, and in this case, an equally strong female character, Rachel. This book contains it all....intrigue, danger, love and complex personal relationships. The main characters are very fleshed out including a complex past history. Lucy fleshes out the supporting characters very well also. All of the elements come together nicely. This story line is complex, believable and fun to read....Lucy did her research! Lucy Monroe is one of my favorite authors and this book does not disappoint!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2013

    The book was great. Just what I expect from Lucy. I am sad to se

    The book was great. Just what I expect from Lucy. I am sad to see so many homophobic people reviewing the book.the relationship between the two gay characters was sweet and not at all graphic. Very tamely written. And the complaints about her getting a political soapbox wqere completely overstated. Only two scenes had minor references to politics and fit in the storyline. When you are dealing with antiterrorism, politics is involved. Anyway I really liked the characters and how they worked thru their issues.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2013

    How to go from an autobuy author to never buy again. Way to go,

    How to go from an autobuy author to never buy again. Way to go, Lucy Monroe, I've never been so disgusted by a book in my life. Not only do you intentionally dupe your romance reading audience by NOT telling them about the M/M relationship in this flaming turd of a book, you take cheap shots at an entire political party. Newsflash, Republicans buy books too.


    I like M/M romances, but not when they are used as a gimmick to push an author's political agenda instead of a heartfelt relationship. The author and the publisher should be ashamed charging money for this rubbish. Either write fiction or write political messages, but don't try to commingle them and pass them as a story. Boo Hiss.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2013

    I was very disappointed I paid $1.99 for this.  I have read Lucy

    I was very disappointed I paid $1.99 for this.  I have read Lucy Monroe for years and enjoyed her books, so I didn't look at the reviews.  I don't understand why  she had to write in such a major gay story line.  If the synopsis had given me a  clue and I had been warned,  I would not feel so betrayed.  I read romance for the girl and guy interaction.  I don't find the gay stuff romantic or appealing.  I guess I will be saving some money because I will not be buying books by this author again.  I wonder if the publishers are pushing the gay theme but  if they want to continue to sell romance please stick to the hetero side.  Also authors might learn not to alienate half their readers by leaving politics out of their stories.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2013

    I loved it

    I really enjoyed this read. Good action. Loved the lost love and then finding happily ever after even though he caused her pain it's all about forgiveness.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2014

    DONT BUYTHIS BOOK

    I am sooooo angry I spent $10.99
    On this AWFUL. AWFUL. AWFUL AWFUL HORRIBLE total waste of money!!! I have read books buy this author several times inthe past but I WONT MAKE THAT MISTAKE AGAIN.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 21, 2013

    It was ok. 3.5 *Book source ~ Many thanks to Kensington for pr

    It was ok.

    3.5

    *Book source ~ Many thanks to Kensington for providing a review copy in exchange for an honest review.

    Rachel Gannon is a former DEA agent now working for the Goddard Project. While undercover in Egypt she is captured and tortured. Before she breaks though she is rescued by a team sent by Atrati, a covert ops group that is used by governments to do what can’t be done through standard channels. The leader of the group turns out to be Rachel’s first and only love, Kaden Marks. Now, Rachel not only has to deal with the aftermath of her torture, try to finish her mission and protect her unknowing informant, she has to deal with her past and the man who betrayed her. 

    I’ve enjoyed the Goddard Project books and this was no exception. Though it lags a bit in the middle it’s still a pretty decent spy story. Rachel is a tough one and I can see why she has lived her life the way she has. Kaden is an idiot though. I didn’t have much respect for him or how he treated Rachel. Granted they were young, but still… 

    Anyway, this type of storyline isn’t my favorite. I’m not a fan of the H/h who have had a prior relationship. And not only are Rachel and Kaden former loves, but a side story has two team members in a prior relationship. So I was double whammied in this book. Also, I’m not sure if it was because of this idiosyncrasy of mine or not, but I couldn’t really connect with the characters. The plot is decent, the dialogue is good and the characters are fine, so maybe it was just me. If you’ve read the other Goddard books and enjoyed them then you probably won’t have a problem with this one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 7, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    HEATSEEKER by Lucy Monroe is an interesting Contemporary Romance

    HEATSEEKER by Lucy Monroe is an interesting Contemporary Romance. #6 in the "Goddard Project". This was my first in this series, and I did not find it hard to keep up with or follow. "Always ready,always deadly" is the Atrati motto. They are a mercenary Black Operatives group who specializes in doing things others can not...

    "Heatseeker" is Rachel Gannon,a former DEA agent and Kadin Marks,a former Marine Sergeant's story. It is a rather fast paced story with plenty of action, suspense, and passion. Rachel blames herself for the death of her sister,and she does not want to be rescued,she wants to bring down an organization she also blames for her sister's death. But at what cost? Her cover has been blown. Kadin's mission is to get Rachel out alive,but what he doesn't know or was not informed is that Rachel doesn't want out..not yet.

    Can love help to mend both Kadin and Rachel? Both have deep wounds and dark pasts. An interesting read! Received for an honest review from the publisher.

    RATING: 4

    HEAT RATING: MILD

    REVIEWED BY: AprilR, Review courtesy of My Book Addiction and More


    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 5, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Heatseeker by Lucy Monroe is a full out pulse pounding read.

    Heatseeker by Lucy Monroe is a full out pulse pounding read.



    Atrati team leader Kadin Marks has never forgotten the girl he left behind. You can imagine his shock when the woman that is being held captive by terrorists calling out his name. Kadin will risk everything for a second chance at loving Rachel Gannon.



    Rachel Gannon former DEA agent was on a mission for the Goddard Project when it all went terribly wrong. Now she is being tormented by the enemy, the only thing keeping her sane is the sweet memories of her former love, Kadin Marks. She thinks she has gone over the edge when Kadin and his team are there to rescue her.



    Kadin and his team’s goal are to get Rachel out of country ASAP. But Rachel being her old stubborn self wants to safe the live of a young woman she has befriended. This throws a major wrench in the plans but Kadin lost Rachel’s love once and will not let that happen this time.



    Protecting Rachel proves to be a full time job and Kadin is the man to do it. Spending 24/7 with each other has past feelings rising to the surface both the pain and the loving.

    Will this newly revived relationship be able to survive when the enemy is drawling closer?



    Heatseeker is another exceptional story by Lucy Monroe. The chemistry between the main characters as well as the secondary ones is top notch. Even the repartee between the team will make you laugh and keep you on the edge. Any book by Lucy Monroe is a must read and a keeper.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2013

    must read

    love lucy monroe books this one was awesome

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2013

    Plenty of background and notable that real life interaction are

    Plenty of background and notable that real life interaction are not propaganda but reality. Yes, men can love men but that is not the sum total of the book. Complex relationships add to the story and I for one felt this book had plenty of twists and turns that kept my attention.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2013

    I love

    I love a good love story . I do not care if it is two men or man and a women . I am a women i like reading gay love story . I love that ms. Monroe has balls to write about two men in love . For that i will read more of her books.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2012

    No stars

    I pre ordered

    0 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2