BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Heat Wave

Average Rating 3.5
( 84 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(32)

4 Star

(19)

3 Star

(17)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(9)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

9 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

great beach read

Last year I read Beachcombers by Nancy Thayer and thoroughly enjoyed it. I was thrilled to see Nancy had a new book, Heat Wave coming out this summer. Beachcombers is a perfect summer beach read so I had a feeling that Heat Wave would also be a good summer read. Heat Wa...
Last year I read Beachcombers by Nancy Thayer and thoroughly enjoyed it. I was thrilled to see Nancy had a new book, Heat Wave coming out this summer. Beachcombers is a perfect summer beach read so I had a feeling that Heat Wave would also be a good summer read. Heat Wave did not disappoint!

Heat Wave takes place on Nantucket. Carley Winsted has recently become a widow at a young age. Her husband, Gus has left her with not only two girls to raise but broke! He has left her with the family home so she sets out to find a way to stay in the home that her girls have always known. She decides a Bed and Breakfast will help keep her and the girls in the home they love but also give her the chance to be at home with the girls. I admired Carley for her strength in making this decision at a time in her life when she would just like to crawl in bed and pull the covers over her head.

Carley has two extremely close friends, Vanessa and Maud who call themselves Las Tres Enchiladas. The women know everything about each other. They are the kind of friends who pop in and make themselves at home in each others homes. Carley is approached by Maud with a very disturbing secret that could change their lives drastically. At this point Maud becomes my least favorite character.

To top it all off Gus' good friend, Wyatt causes Carley to feel things she is not sure she should be having while grieving for Gus.

This book is about friendship, loyalty, grief and the challenges brought on by having to move on. I was very surprised at one point in the book and found myself having to stop and grab kleenex! I really was not expecting that in a summer beach read. Even though that particular event saddened me, I still enjoyed this book very much and would recommend it.

posted by retromom on June 23, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Save your money and check out at the library if you must read.

In the middle of this book I questioned myself as to why I was still reading it. I found myself spotting areas of fore-shadowing that were all too obvious for my taste. The only aspect of this book that took me by surprise was Maud's secret.
The story line felt as i...
In the middle of this book I questioned myself as to why I was still reading it. I found myself spotting areas of fore-shadowing that were all too obvious for my taste. The only aspect of this book that took me by surprise was Maud's secret.
The story line felt as if it had no plot. At least, not one strong enough to hold my attention. I felt as though I was forced into reading someones personal journal.
I could not bring myself to identify with any of the characters. In fact, I'm not even sure I particularity liked any of them.

Plain and simple, I just couldn't get into this book.

posted by 5243902 on September 1, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 84 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted June 23, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    great beach read

    Last year I read Beachcombers by Nancy Thayer and thoroughly enjoyed it. I was thrilled to see Nancy had a new book, Heat Wave coming out this summer. Beachcombers is a perfect summer beach read so I had a feeling that Heat Wave would also be a good summer read. Heat Wave did not disappoint!

    Heat Wave takes place on Nantucket. Carley Winsted has recently become a widow at a young age. Her husband, Gus has left her with not only two girls to raise but broke! He has left her with the family home so she sets out to find a way to stay in the home that her girls have always known. She decides a Bed and Breakfast will help keep her and the girls in the home they love but also give her the chance to be at home with the girls. I admired Carley for her strength in making this decision at a time in her life when she would just like to crawl in bed and pull the covers over her head.

    Carley has two extremely close friends, Vanessa and Maud who call themselves Las Tres Enchiladas. The women know everything about each other. They are the kind of friends who pop in and make themselves at home in each others homes. Carley is approached by Maud with a very disturbing secret that could change their lives drastically. At this point Maud becomes my least favorite character.

    To top it all off Gus' good friend, Wyatt causes Carley to feel things she is not sure she should be having while grieving for Gus.

    This book is about friendship, loyalty, grief and the challenges brought on by having to move on. I was very surprised at one point in the book and found myself having to stop and grab kleenex! I really was not expecting that in a summer beach read. Even though that particular event saddened me, I still enjoyed this book very much and would recommend it.

    9 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2011

    Save your money and check out at the library if you must read.

    In the middle of this book I questioned myself as to why I was still reading it. I found myself spotting areas of fore-shadowing that were all too obvious for my taste. The only aspect of this book that took me by surprise was Maud's secret.
    The story line felt as if it had no plot. At least, not one strong enough to hold my attention. I felt as though I was forced into reading someones personal journal.
    I could not bring myself to identify with any of the characters. In fact, I'm not even sure I particularity liked any of them.

    Plain and simple, I just couldn't get into this book.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 30, 2011

    Enjoyable

    I really enjoyed this book. It's a good read for a lazy afternoon.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 1, 2012

    Great Lazy Day Beach Book It is perfect beach book for an easy,

    Great Lazy Day Beach Book
    It is perfect beach book for an easy, fast read with plenty of joy and heartbreak. Not a surprising end, but good escapism.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 7, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    WHAT A WELCOMED SURPRISE!!!!!!! I AM NOT SURE WHAT SOME OF THES

    WHAT A WELCOMED SURPRISE!!!!!!!

    I AM NOT SURE WHAT SOME OF THESE OTHER READERS ARE TALKING ABOUT, BUT I MUST SAY THAT I TRUELY ENJOYED READING THIS NOVEL.

    THERE IS SO MANY LESSONS YOU CAN DRAW FROM THIS BOOK.

    WHEN CARLEY'S HUSBAND, GUS, DIES AN UNEXPECTED AND UNTIMELY DEATH. SHE IS THROWN FOR A LOOP, AND MUST NOW PICK UP THE PIECES OF HER FAMILY LIFES AND START TO BE THE PROVIDER. WITH NEARLY NO FUNDS AND NOT MANY OPTIONS, CARLEY DECIDES TO TURN HER HOME INTO A BED & BREAKFAST.

    THEN THROW IN THE MIX TWO FRIENDS VANESSA AND MAUD, AND YOU NOW HAVE SECRETS, DRAMA, AND BETRAYAL. BUT HOLD ON TO YOUR SEAT, BECAUSE WYATT, CARLEY'S HUSBAND BEST FRIEND HAS EYES FOR HER.

    THIS IS A NICE LIGHT SUMMER BEACH READ. I HIGHLY RECOMMEND IT. ENJOY..........

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 1, 2012

    I'm happy that it was a free Nook book. I couldn't really develo

    I'm happy that it was a free Nook book. I couldn't really develop empathy or any liking for any of the main characters except perhaps Vanessa; the peripheral characters had the potential to be much more interesting. I felt the main character, Carley, was complacent, smug and weak, and her condemnation of her friend who found herself in the same situation as Carlie in her irresponsible youth was annoying. The friend was better prepared financially and emotionally with more maturity. (I'm trying to avoid a spoiler.) It was an ok time killer and ended abruptly. At least the The Hot Flash Club ladies show a little spark and backbone occasionally.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 4, 2011

    Not worth your time.

    You may as well watch a soap opera on tv.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 25, 2011

    Good easy summer read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 11, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Light Summer Read

    A light beach or deck read. The story itself was engaging but the dialogue is awful! No man I know uses the word "maudlin" in ordinary conversation! The dialogue seems very trite and contrived. I like Thayer's books but she really has got to work on intuiting how people really talk.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2011

    Very light entertainment

    Not that good. The characters are over simplified and the dialogue was often corny and scripted. (Cringe inducing). Wholesome ending - a bit saccharin. What on earth happened to the inlaws...?

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2011

    Just ok

    Average

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 21, 2014

    Highly Recommended

    Loved this book as much as all the other stories from Nancy Thayer. Love her books!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 18, 2013

    I thought this was a wonderful book & I couldn't put it down

    I thought this was a wonderful book & I couldn't put it down! Great summer read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2013

    Good book like it a ton

    Love this book

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2012

    Raindrop

    "You were looking for a mate?" he asked.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2013

    Frostfire

    I will be your mate

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 18, 2012

    Another great summer read!

    Again Nancy Thayer takes us into the heart of a young widowed mother of two who needs to make her living. With a big house and lots of room she decides to open a "bed & breakfast"."

    We go along as rooms are made and decorated. We envision it all and want to visit this charming place.

    Nancy Thayer has yet to write a book I didn't like.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2012

    Hi

    I havent read this yet but it looks good

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2012

    Xander

    Jumps onto a bed with no clothes*here*smile

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2012

    Fair

    Slow start but gets better as you read. Love this authors other books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 84 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5