Customer Reviews for

Heat Wave (Nikki Heat Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 1873 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(655)

4 Star

(601)

3 Star

(387)

2 Star

(127)

1 Star

(103)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

77 out of 85 people found this review helpful.

We're having a Heat Wave (Name the lyricist)

I am an avid fan of ABC's Castle (Monday nights 10/9c) and was excited to read Richard Castle's latest book, Heat Wave. For those who are not in the know, Nathan Fillion stars as Richard Castle, a famous mystery novelist who is initially called in to help the NYPD solve...
I am an avid fan of ABC's Castle (Monday nights 10/9c) and was excited to read Richard Castle's latest book, Heat Wave. For those who are not in the know, Nathan Fillion stars as Richard Castle, a famous mystery novelist who is initially called in to help the NYPD solve a copy-cat murder based on his novels. Stana Katic stars opposite as the young detective Kate Beckett. Following his encounter with Beckett, Castle decides to use her as the model for his next book series. He uses his contacts and receives permission to accompany Beckett while investigating cases. [thanks Wikipedia] Heat Wave is the first of Castle's new book series: Nikki Heat. My favorite thing is every character is believable & I can picture all of them. I love Rook and Heat and their scenes are amazing. I can totally picture Castle dreaming & writing each scene they are in together. And if you are asking yourself, does it really have a story line? Yes, in fact, it takes so many twists and turns that the minute you think you have a suspect, new information comes in and you have to re-evaluate all the evidence. Some points drag on a bit but it helps you get into the story; you are right there in NYC traffic with Heat & Rook trying to fly but the siren means absolutely nothing in the standstill of traffic. When scenes get too tense, Characters are there to crack a joke or banter between each other, including how many ways to describe a bookie's muscle. Overall, ABC did a great job on this TV tie in and the writers should be applauded and given pay raises. I hope to get more Nikki Heat and I am hoping Det. Beckett reads Heat Wave and comments about the book; especially the blackout sequences.

posted by rtdugan on September 30, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

14 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

A Sorry Attempt

Since I enjoy 'Castle' so much, I really anticipated reading this book. I was chagrined to find it not different than any second-rate mystery. It cannot have been written by the show's writing staff; there was no hint of the quality of the relationships, nor was the di...
Since I enjoy 'Castle' so much, I really anticipated reading this book. I was chagrined to find it not different than any second-rate mystery. It cannot have been written by the show's writing staff; there was no hint of the quality of the relationships, nor was the dialogue other than ordinary. It was a sad attempt to profit from a tie-in with a popular program.

posted by Stevenhend on August 15, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 1882 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 95
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2012

    Fun quick read

    Fun and interesting read parrallels show

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 29, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Loved it!

    I have never seen the TV show that is supposed to accompany this series, so this review may differ a bit from others that I have seen on here. Currently, there are an awful lot of female-protagonist-cop books out there. However, I found this one to be rather memorable. I enjoyed and connected to the characters and found myself in the precinct as well as on the case with them. I cannot wait for the next book to come out and will buy that one as soon as it does!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2010

    Heat Wave

    If you like the Castle TV series you will like the book. Almost like reading one of the scripts. Good humor, likeable charterers. Would recommend this book to anyone who like mysteries.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 14, 2010

    Excellent Book ~ Can hardly wait for more of the same to come out!

    Exciting and "fun" to read - especially for someone who is an avid watcher of the tv series "Castle" like me. It's hard to tell if someone reading the book will get the true personalities behind the characters if they've not watched the show. Knowing the characters from tv sure made a difference. Definately was one of those "hart to put down" books. I can hardly wait for more books to come out in the series...

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 6, 2010

    Castle Heats Up the Pages

    Richard Castle in Heat Wave has flamed the passion that audiences who watch the TV show Castle would love to see. Castle's ability to keep Nicky Heat in control even when she is most passionate speaks to her strong nature as a character. The story itself is a puzzle leading back to the one person who gains from a murder of a supposed high-end high-rise builder- his lackey of a ...... The story itself goes through a series of hoops leading Heat to solving the problem. However, Nicky's by-play with Jameson Rook , the writer who has given clearance to ride with the police department, moves the story along at a brisk pace. Heat Wave is an entertaining detective novel .

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 6, 2010

    Leave it to Castle!

    I enjoyed reading the book. I watch the series on TV as well and this reminded me of the series. It was humorous and also kept you guessing who the "bad guy" was.

    I would definitely recommend this book to others.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 27, 2010

    Good Book!

    I like the TV show CASTLE, so I download loaded Heat Wave to my nook. I like the characters names and humor of the book. Easy reading!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2012

    Excellent

    Love this book. Love Castle and most definately Nathan Fillion (loved him since OLTL). This was an easy read and easy to follow.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2012

    Good book but I prefer the tv show.

    Pretty good.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2012

    Great read! Must read actually!

    Even if you aren't already a Castle fan, if you like Crime Drama...you have to read these. It's that simple.

    And if you ARE already a Castle fan, the only thing near as fun as the books is trying to figure out who in the heck is actualy writing as Richard Castle! I know the speculation has given this seasoned mystery ready many a reason to ponder.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2012

    Great fun!

    I really liked the book. I'm a fan of the show and have been wanting to read the series for the longest time. If you love the show, you will love this book. Once in a while it's nice to do some light reading and this is very entertaining to read. The characters in the book are the same as in the show but there's not much talk of the captain. Hope to read more about him later on in the series. All in all, a great read!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2011

    loved it

    Can't wait to read the next one!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2011

    Fun read

    Quick and fun- just what you would expect from the series

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2011

    Love the TV show so decided to have the real Richard Castle stand up!

    He is as charming in the book as he is on TV and I like the way he and Nicki have a "better" relationship. TV is postponing it too long! A delightful read.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 19, 2010

    Strictly for the Castle tv show fans?

    I love Nathan Fillion. I am a Browncoat and proud to announce it. Of course, I had to watch his tv series, Castle. I enjoy the show, mostly because of Nathan Fillion but the dialogue is sometimes snappy and reminds me of the 1940's movies with Cary Grant, Spencer Tracy, Katherine Hepburn, etc.
    I thought the book might resemble that.
    It really doesn't.
    It has it's moments and yes, I am aware that the book is NOT an episode of Castle in print.
    Still...
    If you are a fan of thrillers or mysteries then you won't like this. The plot is mediocre and easy to figure out "who did it."
    If you just like escapism and like the tv show, Castle, then you will probably really like this book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 9, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Castle Book

    Heat Wave was great. I enjoy the TV show Castle and the book counterpart was excellent. It is a great read even if you are not a fan of the show. I was disappointed at first because I thought it was just a written version of one of the episodes since the death scene matched one of the early episodes. This turned out to not be the case. The book was inspired by the episode. Just like it is stated in the TV show. Parts of the book are small rewards for watching the show, you get tidbits throughout the seasons. But if you have never seen the show, the story is still good.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 26, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Just like the show!

    If you are a fan of the show, you'll be a fan of this book. It sort of adds another dimension to watching the show, knowing the things from the book that they reference. Great rainy day read.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 19, 2010

    Heat Wave

    I was sorry this book was so short. It's very typical of an episode of Castle.... which I wouldn't miss. Can't wait for the next one to come out.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 10, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Loved It

    So im at B & N about to leave when I see Heat Wave on the New Release table. I Love Love Love the TV show and was so excited to see this book. It was a short read, but a great read. Anyone who likes the show will like this book. It was so easy to picture the story in my head just like I was watching it on my TIVO. Such a good book!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2010

    Nathan Fillion Should be on the Cover!

    Love the TV show, love the book. Keep 'em coming.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 1882 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 95