Customer Reviews for

Heat Wave (Nikki Heat Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 1867 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(653)

4 Star

(599)

3 Star

(386)

2 Star

(127)

1 Star

(102)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

77 out of 85 people found this review helpful.

We're having a Heat Wave (Name the lyricist)

I am an avid fan of ABC's Castle (Monday nights 10/9c) and was excited to read Richard Castle's latest book, Heat Wave. For those who are not in the know, Nathan Fillion stars as Richard Castle, a famous mystery novelist who is initially called in to help the NYPD solve...
I am an avid fan of ABC's Castle (Monday nights 10/9c) and was excited to read Richard Castle's latest book, Heat Wave. For those who are not in the know, Nathan Fillion stars as Richard Castle, a famous mystery novelist who is initially called in to help the NYPD solve a copy-cat murder based on his novels. Stana Katic stars opposite as the young detective Kate Beckett. Following his encounter with Beckett, Castle decides to use her as the model for his next book series. He uses his contacts and receives permission to accompany Beckett while investigating cases. [thanks Wikipedia] Heat Wave is the first of Castle's new book series: Nikki Heat. My favorite thing is every character is believable & I can picture all of them. I love Rook and Heat and their scenes are amazing. I can totally picture Castle dreaming & writing each scene they are in together. And if you are asking yourself, does it really have a story line? Yes, in fact, it takes so many twists and turns that the minute you think you have a suspect, new information comes in and you have to re-evaluate all the evidence. Some points drag on a bit but it helps you get into the story; you are right there in NYC traffic with Heat & Rook trying to fly but the siren means absolutely nothing in the standstill of traffic. When scenes get too tense, Characters are there to crack a joke or banter between each other, including how many ways to describe a bookie's muscle. Overall, ABC did a great job on this TV tie in and the writers should be applauded and given pay raises. I hope to get more Nikki Heat and I am hoping Det. Beckett reads Heat Wave and comments about the book; especially the blackout sequences.

posted by rtdugan on September 30, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

14 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

A Sorry Attempt

Since I enjoy 'Castle' so much, I really anticipated reading this book. I was chagrined to find it not different than any second-rate mystery. It cannot have been written by the show's writing staff; there was no hint of the quality of the relationships, nor was the di...
Since I enjoy 'Castle' so much, I really anticipated reading this book. I was chagrined to find it not different than any second-rate mystery. It cannot have been written by the show's writing staff; there was no hint of the quality of the relationships, nor was the dialogue other than ordinary. It was a sad attempt to profit from a tie-in with a popular program.

posted by Stevenhend on August 15, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 102 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2010

    i can't believe i spent $7.99 for this!

    i love the tv show castle, so i naturally thought the book its based on would be as good. wrong! this book has accomplished something for me that very few books have been able to do. make me unable to finish it.
    the characters are so one demensional that i had a hard time trying to correspond the supporting characters from the series to the characters in the book
    the author must have thought his target audience was those who suffer from short memory loss. because he felt it necessary to remind us that the main character was nikki heat by repeating her full name several times.i only read a few chaptersbut that was enough for me. i'll stick with the reruns until the new fall season begins.

    5 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2009

    Don't waste your time reading this book

    I thought this book was poorly written, extremely boring, and the author was trying too hard to twist the plot in numerous directions. I would not recommend this book to my friends. Sorry.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2013

    Don't get it

    It's boring and nonsense

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2013

    A Waste of Money

    I am an avid fan of the Castle TV series, and this book was a huge disappointment. Don't waste your money! If I could have given it zero stars, that would be my rating.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2012

    Basic, simple novel

    It took all of my strength to finish this novel. Although there were bright spots, overall the novel is just simple.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2012

    Disappointing

    A little light. Won't buy anymore of these.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2012

    Poor writing!!

    Couldn't even get through it. It was a nightmare to plow through.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2011

    Kind of Blah

    Sorry guys, Love the TV Show, but the book Not So Much.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2013

    Not recommeded

    Boring, took me a long time to finish. I do not recomend the TV shows are more ineresting

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 28, 2011

    Worse book ever

    This was the worse book I have ever read, did not even finsh it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 11, 2011

    Heat Wave

    I love the show Castle but this book is hard to get into.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 30, 2011

    Pass.

    This is a disgrace to the tv show, which is one of my favorites. Terrible, awful writing that won't let you get past the first few pages. Save your money and watch the show for FREE!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 5, 2010

    AND I SHOULD SAY THAT'S A REVIEW WITHOUT READING IT

    I HAVE NEVER BEEN SO SHOCKED IN MY LIFE - THE FONT SIZE OF THE PRINT IN THIS BOOK IS A 4 OR 5 FONT. I'D NEED 10 MAGNIFIERS TO BRING ONE WORD UP TO STARNDARD PRINT SIZE.

    I LOVE CASTLE AND WAS LOOKING FORWARD TO THIS BOOK. NOW IT SERVES AS THE PAPER IN THE BOTTOM OF MY BIRD CAGE. EVERYONE I SHOWED IT TO TOLD ME THEY WOULDN'T READ SUCH SMALL PRINT - COULDN'T EVEN GIVE IT AWAY. A DISGRACE. IF THE PUBLISHER CAN'T AFFORD A LARGER FONT, AT LEAST LET US KNOW HOW TINY THE PRINT IS GOING TO BE SO WE DON'T THROW OUR MONEY AWAY WHEN ORDERING ON LINE. SHAME ON YOU HYPERION - NEVER HEARD OF YOU AND NOW I KNOW WHY. I'LL SPREAD THE WORD TO NEVER BUY FROM THIS PUBLISHER.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2010

    Do not Bother

    This book was so disjointed and uninteresting I did not finish it. I read a lot and was looking forward to this because I really like the TV show. It was such a disappointment!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 22, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Not worth the shelf space

    I was very disappointed. I knew this was a joke book - I watch the series - and I now understand why we don't know who the ghost writer is. They hype did not live up to the expectation.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2009

    Easy Read

    I found the book to be very juvenile. There were times that you jumped from scene to scene with no connection. It was an easy read and fun. But if you are looking for an in-depth book with a challenge - this isn't it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 12, 2009

    I didn't purchase this book.

    I didn't purchase this book.

    0 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 102 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6