BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Heat Wave (Nikki Heat Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 1864 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(650)

4 Star

(599)

3 Star

(386)

2 Star

(127)

1 Star

(102)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

76 out of 84 people found this review helpful.

We're having a Heat Wave (Name the lyricist)

I am an avid fan of ABC's Castle (Monday nights 10/9c) and was excited to read Richard Castle's latest book, Heat Wave. For those who are not in the know, Nathan Fillion stars as Richard Castle, a famous mystery novelist who is initially called in to help the NYPD solve...
I am an avid fan of ABC's Castle (Monday nights 10/9c) and was excited to read Richard Castle's latest book, Heat Wave. For those who are not in the know, Nathan Fillion stars as Richard Castle, a famous mystery novelist who is initially called in to help the NYPD solve a copy-cat murder based on his novels. Stana Katic stars opposite as the young detective Kate Beckett. Following his encounter with Beckett, Castle decides to use her as the model for his next book series. He uses his contacts and receives permission to accompany Beckett while investigating cases. [thanks Wikipedia] Heat Wave is the first of Castle's new book series: Nikki Heat. My favorite thing is every character is believable & I can picture all of them. I love Rook and Heat and their scenes are amazing. I can totally picture Castle dreaming & writing each scene they are in together. And if you are asking yourself, does it really have a story line? Yes, in fact, it takes so many twists and turns that the minute you think you have a suspect, new information comes in and you have to re-evaluate all the evidence. Some points drag on a bit but it helps you get into the story; you are right there in NYC traffic with Heat & Rook trying to fly but the siren means absolutely nothing in the standstill of traffic. When scenes get too tense, Characters are there to crack a joke or banter between each other, including how many ways to describe a bookie's muscle. Overall, ABC did a great job on this TV tie in and the writers should be applauded and given pay raises. I hope to get more Nikki Heat and I am hoping Det. Beckett reads Heat Wave and comments about the book; especially the blackout sequences.

posted by rtdugan on September 30, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

14 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

A Sorry Attempt

Since I enjoy 'Castle' so much, I really anticipated reading this book. I was chagrined to find it not different than any second-rate mystery. It cannot have been written by the show's writing staff; there was no hint of the quality of the relationships, nor was the di...
Since I enjoy 'Castle' so much, I really anticipated reading this book. I was chagrined to find it not different than any second-rate mystery. It cannot have been written by the show's writing staff; there was no hint of the quality of the relationships, nor was the dialogue other than ordinary. It was a sad attempt to profit from a tie-in with a popular program.

posted by Stevenhend on August 15, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 127 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 7
  • Posted August 15, 2010

    A Sorry Attempt

    Since I enjoy 'Castle' so much, I really anticipated reading this book. I was chagrined to find it not different than any second-rate mystery. It cannot have been written by the show's writing staff; there was no hint of the quality of the relationships, nor was the dialogue other than ordinary. It was a sad attempt to profit from a tie-in with a popular program.

    14 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2013

    I am halfway thru the nook story of "Heat Wave" and a

    I am halfway thru the nook story of "Heat Wave" and am totally disappointed as I am a fan of the TV series, perhaps that is the problem. Instead of reading an interesting book it feels as though I am watching a written for TV version. Something is missing.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2013

    Loved it! Will get the rest of series. Great for the Castle show fans. You don't have to think of faces because you already know them. Great for mystery/murder readers in general.

    Loved it. Great for TV show Castle fans & fans of murder/mysteries in general. Can't wait to read the full series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 14, 2013

    bleah

    If you like the show don't bother. I still haven't made it through the whole book, about halfway. I'm trying really hard. I have the second book and I'm hoping that they get better.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 14, 2012

    Disappoimting

    Disappointing, not much to it. Good if you want a very quick read. I'll stick with the TV series for now.
    Who IS Richard Castle?? I will look for later books to see if they improve.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2011

    Really? This is lame.

    Castle the tv show is kind of a guilty pleasure but this book is giving me all the guit and none of the pleasure so far. Even the sex scene left me decidedly UN-heated. Ha !

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 11, 2011

    Don't waste your time and money!

    If you like the TV series, the beginning of the book will hold your interest because you envision the TV characters. That soon dissolves as did my interest in the plot and characters.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2012

    :(

    Nook sex makes me feel sad. :(

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 23, 2011

    Slow but Pick Up

    It took a long time to get into the story, and I actually gave up on reading it once before I decided to sit down and get my money's worth. Eventually, it does have the same feeling as watching a Castle episode and is very enjoyable, I just wish it had started out that way. The murderer was easy to guess from the beginning, although there were twists and turns that kept it interesting throughout the story. Overall I like it, and would recommend it, you just have to keep trucking through the beginning.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 29, 2011

    ****Boring*****Boring*****I WANT A REFUND!!!!!!****

    Do not get this book unless you want to waste your money like i did. I havent completed it yet, because i keep falling asleep while reading. It is the most lame book, EVER!!! Iv'e been trying to finish this book for 2 months now. Yall please pray that i finally finish this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 20, 2011

    If you like the show, prepare to be disappointed

    I do watch the show and this book is a carbon copy with some name changes. It moves very slowly and the effortless prose that Castle drips when he's thinking out loud is completely missing. My suggestion would be to get whomever writes the Castle character for the television show to write the book, or find another ghost writer that has a grasp of the character.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 29, 2011

    beach reading only

    One of the lamest books I've read in a long time. The TV showing is entertaining, but the Book?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 5, 2011

    Not great

    Maybe the author should have actually spent time shadowing a detective. The 'cop lingo' wasn't believable, and distracted from the story. I'll stick with the tv show.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2010

    Disappointment

    Not as good as the show. Should not have written a book based on the show

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 27, 2009

    Frankly, I was disappointed

    I watch the television show and thought it was just a gag that there was really a book out there to purchase. When reading the book it basically was like watching one of the episodes. I suppose the author simply took a script and wrote it as a book.
    I'm also still trying to figure out who wrote the book. It has a picture of the actor on the back cover and yet he is completely fictional.
    Very confusing. I was hoping for more and better.
    I would not recommend this book at all.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 13, 2009

    OOOF!

    Three grammar errors in the first 2 pages. Couldn't get past it. If you purchase, do so only as a souvenir of a fun TV series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 127 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 7