Customer Reviews for

Heat Wave (Nikki Heat Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 1856 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(647)

4 Star

(596)

3 Star

(385)

2 Star

(127)

1 Star

(101)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

76 out of 84 people found this review helpful.

We're having a Heat Wave (Name the lyricist)

I am an avid fan of ABC's Castle (Monday nights 10/9c) and was excited to read Richard Castle's latest book, Heat Wave. For those who are not in the know, Nathan Fillion stars as Richard Castle, a famous mystery novelist who is initially called in to help the NYPD solve...
I am an avid fan of ABC's Castle (Monday nights 10/9c) and was excited to read Richard Castle's latest book, Heat Wave. For those who are not in the know, Nathan Fillion stars as Richard Castle, a famous mystery novelist who is initially called in to help the NYPD solve a copy-cat murder based on his novels. Stana Katic stars opposite as the young detective Kate Beckett. Following his encounter with Beckett, Castle decides to use her as the model for his next book series. He uses his contacts and receives permission to accompany Beckett while investigating cases. [thanks Wikipedia] Heat Wave is the first of Castle's new book series: Nikki Heat. My favorite thing is every character is believable & I can picture all of them. I love Rook and Heat and their scenes are amazing. I can totally picture Castle dreaming & writing each scene they are in together. And if you are asking yourself, does it really have a story line? Yes, in fact, it takes so many twists and turns that the minute you think you have a suspect, new information comes in and you have to re-evaluate all the evidence. Some points drag on a bit but it helps you get into the story; you are right there in NYC traffic with Heat & Rook trying to fly but the siren means absolutely nothing in the standstill of traffic. When scenes get too tense, Characters are there to crack a joke or banter between each other, including how many ways to describe a bookie's muscle. Overall, ABC did a great job on this TV tie in and the writers should be applauded and given pay raises. I hope to get more Nikki Heat and I am hoping Det. Beckett reads Heat Wave and comments about the book; especially the blackout sequences.

posted by rtdugan on September 30, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

14 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

A Sorry Attempt

Since I enjoy 'Castle' so much, I really anticipated reading this book. I was chagrined to find it not different than any second-rate mystery. It cannot have been written by the show's writing staff; there was no hint of the quality of the relationships, nor was the di...
Since I enjoy 'Castle' so much, I really anticipated reading this book. I was chagrined to find it not different than any second-rate mystery. It cannot have been written by the show's writing staff; there was no hint of the quality of the relationships, nor was the dialogue other than ordinary. It was a sad attempt to profit from a tie-in with a popular program.

posted by Stevenhend on August 15, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 385 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 20
  • Posted October 19, 2010

    Strictly for the Castle tv show fans?

    I love Nathan Fillion. I am a Browncoat and proud to announce it. Of course, I had to watch his tv series, Castle. I enjoy the show, mostly because of Nathan Fillion but the dialogue is sometimes snappy and reminds me of the 1940's movies with Cary Grant, Spencer Tracy, Katherine Hepburn, etc.
    I thought the book might resemble that.
    It really doesn't.
    It has it's moments and yes, I am aware that the book is NOT an episode of Castle in print.
    Still...
    If you are a fan of thrillers or mysteries then you won't like this. The plot is mediocre and easy to figure out "who did it."
    If you just like escapism and like the tv show, Castle, then you will probably really like this book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Another TV tie-in book

    I have to admit that I was disappointed by the very thing that most readers would probably be expecting from this book. It is clearly a "thinly veiled" telling of an episode of Richard Castle's own experiences working with the police detective on the television show. As soon as "Rook" showed up in the story, I lost interest. I really thought Castle would be a more creative writer than to merely recount his own experiences but in third person and with such an obvious play on words. Yes, yes, I know that Castle is a fiction himself, but to be the successful writer he is portrayed as on the show, he would have to show a bit more creativity in his books than this one has.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 25, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    What a Bummer

    I was really looking forward to reading this book and was very disappointed. The book read just like an episode of castle and didn't contain any literary spark that I expected. I was hoping for something a little more dramatic but the only difference between this book and an episode of the show is the name of the characters. ABC could have found a better way to promote one of their top shows and they could have found a better author to work on this book. I hope if they do come out with another castle novel they take more time and put a little more effort in to it.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Much more inresting than the actual book

    The plot is very simple and easy to read. The writer(s) could do much better - take leasons from Carla Neggers, JD Robb, Catherine Colter for more thrilling plot lines. Offbeat, easy book to read on a snowy or rainy day.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2013

    Mildly entertaining but predictable

    This writer likes to write a book "with no ending" meaning you have to read the next of his books to find out the ending, which is really annoying. I will steer clear of them next time.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2013

    I just only recently acquired this novel today.  The only thing

    I just only recently acquired this novel today.  The only thing that surprised me the most was it's size. Only 198 pages. Maybe I expected too much, but I am sort of let down. I will review it later, but I wished it to be larger. At least 300 pages....Oh well. Love Castle anyways.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 3, 2013

    Highly recommended

    I enjoy watching Castle on tv so this book follows closely. Well written

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2013

    Hard to get past cheesy character names.

    I was hoping for more from this book and was certainly having problems with the character names, they just sounded so cheesy. I may try another book from the series at a later time, but for now there are other authors and characters that interest me more.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 23, 2013

    Great litature this is not. It is, however a fun read. A pleasen

    Great litature this is not. It is, however a fun read. A pleasent way to while away a sultry Louisiana summer afternoon or evening. On the con side I find that the characters are but pale reflections of the Castle T.V. characters. IMO the only fully fleshed out book character is Miss. Heat and that is only because she is the book's alter ego of the T.V. show's Kate Beckett. Mr. Rook leaves a lot to be desired as Castle's alter ego. He is not nearly as savvy or dashing as the T.V. character as I said eairlier "a pale reflection" ditto for the two other detectives which complete Heat's squad.
    On the pro side while not as engrossing as some other novels I've read the plot moves along nicely and leaves me wanting to find out what happens next. If someone enjoys whiling away an afternoon or evening with light, but enjoyable fiction then I highly recommend this series of Nikki Heat novels.
    I have all of them to date and have preordered the one due out in September.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 21, 2013

    Plays out like Castle on TV

    It wasn't spectacular as the TV show portrays. It was good simple mystery: not too many twists and turns. A lot of similarities with the TV show. The TV show shows a lot more and has more character build up (even after the first episode there was depth). The book only showed some with Nikki's past. I was surprised there wasn't more of a description of Nikki Heat and Jameson Rook. And, Richard Castle himself, is he a composite of a handful of ghostwriters or just one?

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 18, 2013

    Good if you've watched the show (Castle), Bad if you haven't

    Lot of references to the show and some of them are pretty funny. However the Characters are NOT describe physically, if you haven't watched the Show you'd have no clue what Nikki Heat or Jamison Rook or the other chars look like. Thus if you've watched the show you know what the chars look like, and if you don't you're in the dark. Thus if you watch the show (Castle) you'll probably like it. And if you haven't you probably won't

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2013

    Fun read for castle fans.

    For anyone that is as obsessed with the show castle as i am, you will enjoy this book. Its not the most interesting read and i actually had trouble picturing the characters because it didnt have the same dynamic as the show. But what made me enjoy it were all the small references from the show. I went back while i read this and watched all the episodes that corresponded with him writing it. If anything it enhanced the tv show. However, If youre looking for a good stand alone book.. id look elsewhere.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2013

    Not as good as TV series

    I was expecting this book to be a real treat, much like the TV series, but was somewhat disappointed. While similar characters, it did not have the punch seen on TV. Perhaps it would be better if I didn't watch Castle on TV.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 18, 2013

    Richard Castle's Heat Wave

    Great Book I lover it

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2012

    Enjoyable.

    I'll review all of the books, because they are all good, but the T.V. series is much better.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2012

    ok

    It's like reading a script of castle. I'd rather just watch the show.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 24, 2012

    it was ok but i'm spoiled by the tv show of the same name

    I will continue to read the rest of the series

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 8, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Recommend

    This is a pretty well written book. I would recommendd this to anyone that likes this type of fiction.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 19, 2011

    Sometimes disconnected

    While an enjoyable read, this was not a 'page turner' for me. On more than one occasion, I went 2 or 3 days without picking it up...not my normal routine.
    The characters are fun and the dialogue between the cops reveal their working relationship.
    At times, the story line became disconnected and kind of floundered around before coming back around.
    Tepid recommendation.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 15, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Idea high, execution low!

    Heat Wave by Richard Castle is a novel idea, no pun intended. As a fan of the ABC television show Castle, this appealed to me right away. The idea of it being a fictional book, set in a fictional world, written by a fictional author from a fictional show was very interesting. While the overall plot of this pretty run of the mill and by the books its still fun. My big drawback here was that as a fan of the show I kept comparing the characters here to there and vice versa. Why that was bad was that the TV characters were better. I think if you had no connection to the show you might not get some of the in jokes but you also may be able to judge it solely on its own merits. Overall I guess this is just an average book but a fantastic idea.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 385 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 20