Customer Reviews for

Heaven Hears: The True Story of What Happened When Pat Boone Asked the World to Pray for His Grandson's Survival

Average Rating 4
( 12 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(5)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

I remember when Lindy and Pat Boone were on The Larry King Show

I remember when Lindy and Pat Boone were on The Larry King Show and their pleas for prayer for Ryan. I prayed along with millions of others and this book gives us not only an update on how Ryan is doing but it tells about Lindy's life, Ryan's life, and their faith.

Thi...
I remember when Lindy and Pat Boone were on The Larry King Show and their pleas for prayer for Ryan. I prayed along with millions of others and this book gives us not only an update on how Ryan is doing but it tells about Lindy's life, Ryan's life, and their faith.

This book is so good, I had a hard time putting it down. Lindy's writing is easy to read and I just plowed through this book! I loved how she is so honest and open about things and doesn't portray herself or her family as some "holier than thou" family. They are very much like you and me.

What this book is really about is prayer. The power of prayer to change things. The power of faith that God is working all things together for good. There were so many parts of the book where I had tears in my eyes as I could just imagine how difficult it was for Lindy to see her son go through this. Our mother hearts definitely connected through the pages.

I highly recommend this book! It's a book that will show you what the power of prayer can do, what faith and hope can do, and it will definitely bring you into a different level of faith in what God can do. I loved this book and I think you will, too!!

*This book was provided to me for my honest review by Tyndale House Publishers

posted by Julie12 on June 9, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

I thought this story was interesting and inspiring. I found the

I thought this story was interesting and inspiring. I found the backstory of the Boone family interesting, but unexpected. I thought after sharing the details of the accident, Michaelis would have traveled through his recuperation and recovery, without going into the ...
I thought this story was interesting and inspiring. I found the backstory of the Boone family interesting, but unexpected. I thought after sharing the details of the accident, Michaelis would have traveled through his recuperation and recovery, without going into the past of the Boone family. I found that there was a little unnecessary repetition. However, the inspirational aspect of Ryan's story made up for that.

It was a sad story to read about a young man in the prime of his life that suffered a devastating accident that changed his life forever. It was amazing to read the story of his survival and recovery, but at times I was not clear about the pace of his improvement. For example, is seemed like he went from comatose with no facial movement to trips to McDonald's and talking. I would have enjoyed more medical information about his condition.

I do wish there would have been some pictures included in the book, to see Ryan before and after to have a face to put with the name. I also wish there would have been more information about his current level of functioning and day to day life.

With all of that being said, while that would have made the book more interesting for me, I realize the message of the book was to share God's healing grace in the miraculous survival of Ryan and the fact that God holds everyone's life in his hands.

Overall, I think this was an interesting book. If you are a fan of the Boone family, you would probably enjoy this book.

posted by J4Life5 on August 26, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 12 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted August 26, 2013

    I thought this story was interesting and inspiring. I found the

    I thought this story was interesting and inspiring. I found the backstory of the Boone family interesting, but unexpected. I thought after sharing the details of the accident, Michaelis would have traveled through his recuperation and recovery, without going into the past of the Boone family. I found that there was a little unnecessary repetition. However, the inspirational aspect of Ryan's story made up for that.

    It was a sad story to read about a young man in the prime of his life that suffered a devastating accident that changed his life forever. It was amazing to read the story of his survival and recovery, but at times I was not clear about the pace of his improvement. For example, is seemed like he went from comatose with no facial movement to trips to McDonald's and talking. I would have enjoyed more medical information about his condition.

    I do wish there would have been some pictures included in the book, to see Ryan before and after to have a face to put with the name. I also wish there would have been more information about his current level of functioning and day to day life.

    With all of that being said, while that would have made the book more interesting for me, I realize the message of the book was to share God's healing grace in the miraculous survival of Ryan and the fact that God holds everyone's life in his hands.

    Overall, I think this was an interesting book. If you are a fan of the Boone family, you would probably enjoy this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 9, 2013

    I remember when Lindy and Pat Boone were on The Larry King Show

    I remember when Lindy and Pat Boone were on The Larry King Show and their pleas for prayer for Ryan. I prayed along with millions of others and this book gives us not only an update on how Ryan is doing but it tells about Lindy's life, Ryan's life, and their faith.

    This book is so good, I had a hard time putting it down. Lindy's writing is easy to read and I just plowed through this book! I loved how she is so honest and open about things and doesn't portray herself or her family as some "holier than thou" family. They are very much like you and me.

    What this book is really about is prayer. The power of prayer to change things. The power of faith that God is working all things together for good. There were so many parts of the book where I had tears in my eyes as I could just imagine how difficult it was for Lindy to see her son go through this. Our mother hearts definitely connected through the pages.

    I highly recommend this book! It's a book that will show you what the power of prayer can do, what faith and hope can do, and it will definitely bring you into a different level of faith in what God can do. I loved this book and I think you will, too!!

    *This book was provided to me for my honest review by Tyndale House Publishers

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2014

    Excellent. Enjoyed it immensely

    I enjoyed this so very, very much.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 3, 2013

    The Power of Prayer Heaven Hears is the amazing true story of L

    The Power of Prayer
    Heaven Hears is the amazing true story of Lindy Michaelis and her son Ryan. Lindy was apologetic when during prayer request time at Church events her and her husband did not have any requests but her life took a dramatic twist when her first born son Ryan fell through a skylight. This story was her personal hopes, fears and feelings while dealing with her son's critical journey following his fall.
    I enjoyed reading this true life story about the power of prayer.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2013

    ** spoiler alert ** I liked the first few chapters. Then this bo

    ** spoiler alert ** I liked the first few chapters. Then this book got weird and boring. First, I don't think it was anyone's business that Ryan's mom had to tell us that he lost his virginity. At times I thought Lindy was way over protective, and at times I didn't feel like she was a very good mom at all. Especially to her two other kids. I do wish the book had come with photos, as I would love to put faces with names. And I cannot believe how Lindy freaked out about her daughter feeding Ryan chocolate pudding, calling it a fatty and filled with calories snack, but was perfectly ok with taking him to McDonald's and feeding him a hamburger,fries and a shake.about 75% through this book I was ready to just do a google search to find out if Ryan ever became normal again or if he stayed the same. I did stick with the book, but still think just reading the cliff notes in the Internet would have been a whole lot better.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 30, 2013

    Loved the book! It was very inspiring for anybody that might fi

    Loved the book! It was very inspiring for anybody that might find themselves in a situation where they need God.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 28, 2013

    Lovely story about a mother's love for her son. Lindy Boone Mich

    Lovely story about a mother's love for her son. Lindy Boone Michaelis' son Ryan fell 30 feet on June 19, 2001 and here is their story of the accident and his miraculous survival. Lindy also tells of growing up as Pat Boone's daughter and is painfully open about how this accident strained the relationships with the rest of the family. Above all, the faith of the entire family stands out, leaning on the loving arms of God, and the power of prayer.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 27, 2013

    Up Close and Personal Answers to Prayer. This book tells how pra

    Up Close and Personal Answers to Prayer. This book tells how prayer can bring a miracle. With the injuries he sustained, Ryan’s survival and ongoing recovery do not seem possible. It is primarily a record of a mother’s personal journey as she draws closer to God through tragedy. I expected more of the family’s experiences, but other than Lindy’s, there are very few. The narrative is disjointed and choppy, but it does convey the very emotional struggles. There is technical medical information, which is needed for understanding, but be aware there is an instance where body functions are somewhat graphically described, in an “awful moment” toward the end of Chapter 11. I understand her mother’s heart, and how she reads how her son feels when he cannot talk. I am impressed by the entire family and the strong support they give. I may have felt more connected to Lindy if I knew about the accident at the time, or was a fan of her family, or if I could get past the flawed doctrine, but her walk through the valley needed to be written. It is very moving.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 25, 2013

    This is the account of Ryan Corbin, who was severely injured whe

    This is the account of Ryan Corbin, who was severely injured when he fell 40 feet through a skylight. It is told by his mother and describes her childhood as the daughter of singer Pat Boone, relationship with her son, and the tragedy. I thought the book was a decent read about prayer and trusting God no matter what happens.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 9, 2013

    In June of 2001 Ryan Corbin was a young man just beginning his a

    In June of 2001 Ryan Corbin was a young man just beginning his adult life.  Newly engaged and excited about his relationship with Jesus, his family, and his career, he was going up to the roof of his apartment building with a friend to sit in the sun.  He accidentally stepped on a skylight and was catapulted to the ground, three stories below.  He should have died - and nearly did - and this is his story of recovery and the power of prayer.




    What an incredible journey Lindy Boone Michaelis shares with us.  This book contains their family's story (from the beginning of her dad Pat Boone's career, to present day); her thoughts and experiences as they navigate this new reality of Ryan's injury; and the incredible response from around the world, an absolute outpouring of prayer and support.




    This book is both tragic and uplifting, heart wrenching and life giving, and I can easily recommend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 14, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    A moving story. This book is a story about Ryan┬┐s traumatic acc

    A moving story.

    This book is a story about Ryan’s traumatic accident involving a coma and brain injury, among other things—and the love, prayer and perseverance of his mother. I could put myself in Lindy’s (Pat Boone’s daughter) place while reading this story. Both of my children were in an awful car accident years ago (one of them life-flighted and intubated) as well as another family member who sustained a traumatic brain injury from a motorcycle accident. I felt her shock and horror. Her mental and physical exhaustion. 

    It’s difficult for me to give this book a star rating because much of it was a five-star page-turner and very interesting, but I skipped through other pages that seemed to focus on the mother, rather on the effects of her faith, prayer and relationship with God. Therefore, I give this book four stars rather than five.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 12 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1