BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Heaven Is Real, but So Is Hell: An Eyewitness Account of What Is to Come

Average Rating 4
( 98 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(70)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(18)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

32 out of 35 people found this review helpful.

In Heaven is Real but so is Hell one perceives the imperceivable

In Heaven is Real but so is Hell one perceives the imperceivable. This amazing book helps readers journey into a spiritual reality that exists around us, widening our vision and faith in God. Upon reading this extraordinary book, it has shown me how to become more deepl...
In Heaven is Real but so is Hell one perceives the imperceivable. This amazing book helps readers journey into a spiritual reality that exists around us, widening our vision and faith in God. Upon reading this extraordinary book, it has shown me how to become more deeply united with the Sacred Heart, which is the Heart of Jesus. This book also helped me better understand humanity's existence and that every creature was created by the Creator Himself, the One who Was, the One who Is, and the One who Is to Come! Our Father in Heaven. Every person in the world is meant to read this book! Truly it will show mankind how to live in Love who is God and to live a True Life in God. This book is truly life changing filled with abundant grace.

posted by Anonymous on March 5, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

77 out of 87 people found this review helpful.

While the number of five star reviews for this book shows that t

While the number of five star reviews for this book shows that there are people hungry for God, this book is filling them with occult teachings that are condemned in the Bible.  (Leviticus 19:31, Deuteronomy 18:10-14) 

Vassula Ryden is a medium who uses the occultic pr...
While the number of five star reviews for this book shows that there are people hungry for God, this book is filling them with occult teachings that are condemned in the Bible.  (Leviticus 19:31, Deuteronomy 18:10-14) 

Vassula Ryden is a medium who uses the occultic practice of automatic writing to receive messages from entities she calls `Yahweh', `Jesus', `Mary', and `Daniel'.  These messages contradict the Bible, contain bad theology, and misguide the reader in the way of salvation.  She claims to see angels, demons, the souls of the dead (pg. 7), and that at times they have possessed her (pg. 140) and spoke through her (pg. 139).  She also claims that people have seen Jesus' face superimposed over her own (pg. 135).

She admits she never studied theology or catechism (pg. 91) and that once when reading the Bible "the words were incomprehensible" to her and that "it was a tormenting experience" (pg. 27)

Throughout the book she writes of people in the church who refused to accept these messages were from God and who tried to warn her of their real source, but she doesn't listen.  She does however admit that the devil "often uses people for his purpose" and that he "sometimes will carry out his evil actions with subtly so as not to be exposed".  This is exactly what the Apostle Paul says in 2 Corinthians 11:14 when he writes that the devil masquerades as an angel of light.
  
Unknowingly, She admits this to be the case with her when she writes a church pastor telling him that his God is not her god (pg. 69)

For those people yearning to be brought closer to God, this book is not the way to go, instead there is no better place to look than the Holy Bible.

posted by 3964874 on March 18, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 98 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2013

    While the number of five star reviews for this book shows that t

    While the number of five star reviews for this book shows that there are people hungry for God, this book is filling them with occult teachings that are condemned in the Bible.  (Leviticus 19:31, Deuteronomy 18:10-14) 

    Vassula Ryden is a medium who uses the occultic practice of automatic writing to receive messages from entities she calls `Yahweh', `Jesus', `Mary', and `Daniel'.  These messages contradict the Bible, contain bad theology, and misguide the reader in the way of salvation.  She claims to see angels, demons, the souls of the dead (pg. 7), and that at times they have possessed her (pg. 140) and spoke through her (pg. 139).  She also claims that people have seen Jesus' face superimposed over her own (pg. 135).

    She admits she never studied theology or catechism (pg. 91) and that once when reading the Bible "the words were incomprehensible" to her and that "it was a tormenting experience" (pg. 27)

    Throughout the book she writes of people in the church who refused to accept these messages were from God and who tried to warn her of their real source, but she doesn't listen.  She does however admit that the devil "often uses people for his purpose" and that he "sometimes will carry out his evil actions with subtly so as not to be exposed".  This is exactly what the Apostle Paul says in 2 Corinthians 11:14 when he writes that the devil masquerades as an angel of light.
      
    Unknowingly, She admits this to be the case with her when she writes a church pastor telling him that his God is not her god (pg. 69)

    For those people yearning to be brought closer to God, this book is not the way to go, instead there is no better place to look than the Holy Bible.

    77 out of 87 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2013

    In Heaven is Real but so is Hell one perceives the imperceivable

    In Heaven is Real but so is Hell one perceives the imperceivable. This amazing book helps readers journey into a spiritual reality that exists around us, widening our vision and faith in God. Upon reading this extraordinary book, it has shown me how to become more deeply united with the Sacred Heart, which is the Heart of Jesus. This book also helped me better understand humanity's existence and that every creature was created by the Creator Himself, the One who Was, the One who Is, and the One who Is to Come! Our Father in Heaven. Every person in the world is meant to read this book! Truly it will show mankind how to live in Love who is God and to live a True Life in God. This book is truly life changing filled with abundant grace.

    32 out of 35 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2013

    I found inspiration in this book. It lifted me and encouraged m

    I found inspiration in this book. It lifted me and encouraged me about the goodness of God and to strive harder to love God and others. Vassula in many ways represents an average person and what God can do with an average person applies to all of us "average" people like me.
    In the hustle and bustle of day to day life i just do not spend enough time on my spiritual life and it gives me hope to hear God is so tender and kind and merciful and will help each of us just like he helped Vassula, but only if we want it . I feel after reading the book it is easier for me to speak with God.

    Vassula's confrontations and warfare with the devil gave me many practical pointers on how to effectively deal with evil which seems to be all around us these days.
    The book is well written and engaging you almost have to keep reading the next chapter to see what happens . IT kept me up half the night as I could not put it down!
    Things might look pretty bad these days in the world but the book gave me hope the good guys are going to win if we pray more, try to love God and turn away from our own selfishness and egotism.

    24 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2013

    I just finished reading this book and it was fantastic! I recomm

    I just finished reading this book and it was fantastic! I recommend this book for everyone searching for eternal life. If you have question about the after life plaese read and share.
    My God Bless You
    JC

    18 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 12, 2013

    I have read this book. It is simply amazing and very believable.

    I have read this book. It is simply amazing and very believable. I read some of the other comments and they are positive by far.
    I also noted someone who felt that this book promotes salvation through someone other than Jesus; I don't know what he read, but this book praises Jesus as the Lord and Savior. I am reminded of Acts 2:17 where God tells us that in the end times our sons and daughters will prophesy. I believe we are at the "end times" which means the end of an era, to be followed the return of Jesus as King. Having read this book I am inclined to believe that the author is very likely a genuine Prophet of the end times.

    17 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2013

    A genuine calling to search for one's soul... Reading this book

    A genuine calling to search for one's soul...
    Reading this book is like listening to a close friend sharing her own stories of supernatural experience in my living room;
    sincere, believable and intimate, yet awe-inspiring! 
    Even I'm familiar with Vassula's TLIG messages, this book helps me to connect the dots and understand them better. 

    Citywalker/ New York City... having trouble to leave my pen name, submitting anonymously.

    15 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 14, 2013

    It cast away the fear and anxiety of the uncertain world with al

    It cast away the fear and anxiety of the uncertain world with all its rapid changing. Reading this book, I felt having re-assurance that God is care...of what is going on in this world. I also feel that God gives strong unceasingly Personal Attention to each of us, and God always has a good intention. It also helped me to be aware in the time of trials. The writing came from somebody whom highly integrated, with very strong divine experience. The personality growth of the writer showed the maturity of years and years being in trials but also the growth of the strong faith which being poured out as a grace. It is an extremely beautiful experience, and by reading it, I have a lot of confirmation to walk on my own path in this world. Thank you, Lord!

    14 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2013

    We highly recommend this book to our family members, relatives,

    We highly recommend this book to our family members, relatives, friends, co-workers and even to those we don't know them especially to those need spiritual guidance back to our Almighty.

    14 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2013

    Eagerly awaiting my copy of "Heaven is Real but so is Hell&

    Eagerly awaiting my copy of "Heaven is Real but so is Hell" ... ... which is undoubtedly a signpost and a roadmap to God's Mercy & Love. Follow the map. Read the signpost.
    I believe in You, I adore You, I hope in You, and I love You, ... ...

    13 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2013

    The Beauty and Love of God for His people comes through in this

    The Beauty and Love of God for His people comes through in this book. I felt Gods Presence as I read and contemplated His words to Vassula. I also felt Loved by Him. Very Good Read!! I highly recommend Dr. Diane M. Hursh

    13 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2013

    Beware people!! This book is full of occult practices this woma

    Beware people!! This book is full of occult practices this woman uses.

    The Holy Bible which is Gods written word tells us to test the spirits to see if its true or not and also to stay away from mediums, people who talk to the dead, and who communicates with entities she Thinks is from God. But God clearly tells us to flee from this. Read the real words of God and read your bible which Is the truth and not this book.

    12 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 14, 2013

    I just finished this book last night and it is an amazing read!

    I just finished this book last night and it is an amazing read! What an incredible experience this woman has had and continues to have. I found this book to be inspiring, hopeful but also a call to action to get myself back to my faith and to God's ways. Her story is absolutely fascinating and I highly recommend this book to everyone.

    12 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2013

    I am counting days when B&N will ship this book to me... I a

    I am counting days when B&N will ship this book to me... I am so glad Vassula wrote this book and share her entire life with all of us! From the little I read "looking inside" the book, it's going to be a page turner. I'm giving it 5 stars in eager anticipation. I know I'm not going to be disappointed.

    12 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2013

    Reading Heaven is Real But so is Hell has opened an infinite vis

    Reading Heaven is Real But so is Hell has opened an infinite vista, keeping my mind focued, immersed in the spiritual realm God spoke about in Ephesians 6:12, For our struggle is not against enemies of blood and flesh, but against the rulers, against the authorities, against the cosmic powers of this present darkness, against the spiritual forces of evil in the heavenly places.


    May the Holy Spirit never let us forget what our Father told Vassula, I am your Father and you descend from Me...you come from Me...you belong to Me...you are Mine...you are My seed, page 31, Heaven is Real But so is Hell

    12 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 16, 2013

    God is speaking to us, let us listen! We all would do well to he

    God is speaking to us, let us listen!
    We all would do well to heed the messages Vassula Ryden has received from our Lord.
    After reading this book, I believe God is calling to us, warning us, preparing us, reassuring 
    and giving us hope. I think He is trying to pull all of us closer to Him through Vassula's
    Story. This book will touch you deeply!   

    11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 14, 2013

    A must read for the believer & non-believer. This book will

    A must read for the believer & non-believer. This book will captivate your heart & soul, you will not want to put it down!

    11 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 14, 2013

    Drop everything! This a must read. Everything will change for yo

    Drop everything! This a must read. Everything will change for you. 

    10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2013

    I think this ,an excellant book to read.

    I think this ,an excellant book to read.

    10 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 16, 2013

    This book is a very important read for bringing humanity togethe

    This book is a very important read for bringing humanity together to find peace that is so lacking in this world right now.
    Vassula comes across as very humble yet very convincing. I have no doubt that she is living a most extraordinary experience that she is boldly sharing with everyone. 
    Thank you for writing this book.

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2013

    It's a GREAT read! 

    It's a GREAT read! 

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 98 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5