Customer Reviews for

Heaven Is Real, but So Is Hell: An Eyewitness Account of What Is to Come

Average Rating 4
( 94 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(67)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(17)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

32 out of 34 people found this review helpful.

In Heaven is Real but so is Hell one perceives the imperceivable

In Heaven is Real but so is Hell one perceives the imperceivable. This amazing book helps readers journey into a spiritual reality that exists around us, widening our vision and faith in God. Upon reading this extraordinary book, it has shown me how to become more deepl...
In Heaven is Real but so is Hell one perceives the imperceivable. This amazing book helps readers journey into a spiritual reality that exists around us, widening our vision and faith in God. Upon reading this extraordinary book, it has shown me how to become more deeply united with the Sacred Heart, which is the Heart of Jesus. This book also helped me better understand humanity's existence and that every creature was created by the Creator Himself, the One who Was, the One who Is, and the One who Is to Come! Our Father in Heaven. Every person in the world is meant to read this book! Truly it will show mankind how to live in Love who is God and to live a True Life in God. This book is truly life changing filled with abundant grace.

posted by Anonymous on March 5, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

76 out of 86 people found this review helpful.

While the number of five star reviews for this book shows that t

While the number of five star reviews for this book shows that there are people hungry for God, this book is filling them with occult teachings that are condemned in the Bible.  (Leviticus 19:31, Deuteronomy 18:10-14) 

Vassula Ryden is a medium who uses the occultic pr...
While the number of five star reviews for this book shows that there are people hungry for God, this book is filling them with occult teachings that are condemned in the Bible.  (Leviticus 19:31, Deuteronomy 18:10-14) 

Vassula Ryden is a medium who uses the occultic practice of automatic writing to receive messages from entities she calls `Yahweh', `Jesus', `Mary', and `Daniel'.  These messages contradict the Bible, contain bad theology, and misguide the reader in the way of salvation.  She claims to see angels, demons, the souls of the dead (pg. 7), and that at times they have possessed her (pg. 140) and spoke through her (pg. 139).  She also claims that people have seen Jesus' face superimposed over her own (pg. 135).

She admits she never studied theology or catechism (pg. 91) and that once when reading the Bible "the words were incomprehensible" to her and that "it was a tormenting experience" (pg. 27)

Throughout the book she writes of people in the church who refused to accept these messages were from God and who tried to warn her of their real source, but she doesn't listen.  She does however admit that the devil "often uses people for his purpose" and that he "sometimes will carry out his evil actions with subtly so as not to be exposed".  This is exactly what the Apostle Paul says in 2 Corinthians 11:14 when he writes that the devil masquerades as an angel of light.
  
Unknowingly, She admits this to be the case with her when she writes a church pastor telling him that his God is not her god (pg. 69)

For those people yearning to be brought closer to God, this book is not the way to go, instead there is no better place to look than the Holy Bible.

posted by 3964874 on March 18, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 17 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2013

    While the number of five star reviews for this book shows that t

    While the number of five star reviews for this book shows that there are people hungry for God, this book is filling them with occult teachings that are condemned in the Bible.  (Leviticus 19:31, Deuteronomy 18:10-14) 

    Vassula Ryden is a medium who uses the occultic practice of automatic writing to receive messages from entities she calls `Yahweh', `Jesus', `Mary', and `Daniel'.  These messages contradict the Bible, contain bad theology, and misguide the reader in the way of salvation.  She claims to see angels, demons, the souls of the dead (pg. 7), and that at times they have possessed her (pg. 140) and spoke through her (pg. 139).  She also claims that people have seen Jesus' face superimposed over her own (pg. 135).

    She admits she never studied theology or catechism (pg. 91) and that once when reading the Bible "the words were incomprehensible" to her and that "it was a tormenting experience" (pg. 27)

    Throughout the book she writes of people in the church who refused to accept these messages were from God and who tried to warn her of their real source, but she doesn't listen.  She does however admit that the devil "often uses people for his purpose" and that he "sometimes will carry out his evil actions with subtly so as not to be exposed".  This is exactly what the Apostle Paul says in 2 Corinthians 11:14 when he writes that the devil masquerades as an angel of light.
      
    Unknowingly, She admits this to be the case with her when she writes a church pastor telling him that his God is not her god (pg. 69)

    For those people yearning to be brought closer to God, this book is not the way to go, instead there is no better place to look than the Holy Bible.

    76 out of 86 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2013

    Beware people!! This book is full of occult practices this woma

    Beware people!! This book is full of occult practices this woman uses.

    The Holy Bible which is Gods written word tells us to test the spirits to see if its true or not and also to stay away from mediums, people who talk to the dead, and who communicates with entities she Thinks is from God. But God clearly tells us to flee from this. Read the real words of God and read your bible which Is the truth and not this book.

    11 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 12, 2013

    Caution

    The author relates her experiences and visions. However, something does not feel right about this book. I am just a layperson, not a theologian and wonder how much it coresponds to Biblical theology. It lacks some logic. In the end I felt uncomfortable about both heaven and hell. A good modern translation of the Bible would be a better source of information and much more trustworthy.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 11, 2013

    I think the author posted her own reviews.  The review seems to

    I think the author posted her own reviews.  The review seems to indicate that the author may believe in the heresy of universalism.

    5 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 24, 2013

    Use discernment if you choose to read this.

    I prayed for discernment, and though subtle beneath the words that seemed to follow the Bible, there is an underlying darkness. The author seems to come off as humble, but then encourages you to read her writings over and over in the book. She does not encourage reading the Bible as much as she does reading the writings she wrote while in communion with a spirit or multiple spirits claiming to be God, Jesus, Mary, etc. I can't tell you what to read, but this book was nothing like I thought it would be. I can't in good conscience recommend this book, but I caution you if you do choose to read it. I believe if you ask the Holy Spirit, it will guide your feelings. I felt a wrongness about this book.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2013

    Ficton

    This book is fake

    4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2013

    Beware of this book, stick to the Word of God. Be safe.

    Beware of this book, stick to the Word of God. Be safe.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2013

    The Bible is free if you want to read it. A person who profits

    The Bible is free if you want to read it.

    A person who profits from telling others how to live is to be looked at a second time. Jesus was poor and invited to speak where he went, or, shunned. In both cases, He didn't ask recompense for the actual truth.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 9, 2013

    Nonsense. My mom bought it because their internet ad claimed it

    Nonsense. My mom bought it because their internet ad claimed it was the #1 book at B&N. That was an outright lie. There is something truly sick about selling your religious experience with a lie. This woman is just another scamming hack.

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2013

    I haven't read the book and I will not read the book. The author

    I haven't read the book and I will not read the book. The authors background and affiliation with the Catholic Church alone tells me that it is filled with lies and heresy. There is a post being shown that says: "we are all children of God." That is an absolute lie. Not everyone is a child of God. The Bible says: "Even in his own land (Jesus Christ) and among his people, the Jews, he was not accepted. Only a few would welcome and receive him. BUT TO ALL WHO RECEIVED HIM, he (Jesus Christ) gave the right to become children of God. All they needed to do was to trust him to save them. All those who believe this are reborn!--not of a physical rebirth resulting from human passion or plan--but from the will of God" (Jn. 1:11--13). This post does nothing more than deceive the people into believing that they are all children of God. To become a child of God, a person has to be spiritually born again by accepting Jesus Christ as their Lord and Savior (Rom. 10:9, 10).
    Thank God there are some people who do read the Bible and who know when there is false teaching, and the Catholic Church is full of false teachings.



    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2013

    I agree whith belo!

    UR RIGHT Just buy bible join church and pray that easy.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2013

    Don't waste your time!

    Did not enjoy this book. Only made it one third through, then looked up ratings, found the one that gave it a one and knew that I felt the same way. What a waste of a book. Not that I am an expert in writing by any means, but this book did not give any details. I do not usually give reviews but this book was just not any good.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2013

    Her messages exalt her far above other persons and other women,

    Her messages exalt her far above other persons and other women, including Mary. She is not Humbling.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2014

    I judged the book by its cover and thought it was going to be so

    I judged the book by its cover and thought it was going to be something completely different than what it was,
    And I couldn't keep on reading the book because parts didn't make sense like for example in the Bible it says that the ONLY way 
    to the father is through Jesus and I know she talked about God and Jesus but nowhere in the book did it say that she dedicated her life to Jesus 
    And I feel horrible for feeling like there is something is quite off about the book but I believe it is important to read our  Bibles and know the word of God! The truth!!! So when we as Christians come into contact with run ins like this we will know what is true and what isn't but I do
    Not doubt at all that God uses people in spiritual ways. God gives me visions that have come to pass and I would want people to believe me and I believe he gives the gift of prophecy but it all comes down to the truth and the truth stands in the word of God the Bible!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2014

    The response on March 18, 2013 is right on. Remember what Paul s

    The response on March 18, 2013 is right on. Remember what Paul said, "Even if a angel tells you a gospel other than the one I have passed on to you, reject it. And even if I tell you of another Gospel than I have passed on to you reject it." There is one Church and one Gospel and one truth. Any other is false.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2014

    I have had this book for 6 months or so and started to read it a

    I have had this book for 6 months or so and started to read it and for some reason stopped. Well today I picked it up again because my husband is having surgery tomorrow and thought I would take it to read the time I had there, for some reason this book does not sit well with me. In the Bible it speaks of the dead not being able to cross over to our world, I don't know exactly where but there is some reason that this book does not sit well with me. I will instead take my Bible with me to read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 17 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1