Customer Reviews for

Heaven Is for Real: A Little Boy's Astounding Story of His Trip to Heaven and Back

Average Rating 4.5
( 9094 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(5803)

4 Star

(1496)

3 Star

(792)

2 Star

(371)

1 Star

(632)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

337 out of 430 people found this review helpful.

Very enjoyable

I loved reading this wonderful book! It is a story that keeps you entertained for hours.

posted by theReader278 on June 29, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

506 out of 1767 people found this review helpful.

Hogwash

I cannot believe the masses are drinking the Kool-Aid that is this silly little book. It's very clear that the parents are pimping out this kid to sell the book. Any four year old who has been exposed to as much religion as this kid has been since he was born is bound t...
I cannot believe the masses are drinking the Kool-Aid that is this silly little book. It's very clear that the parents are pimping out this kid to sell the book. Any four year old who has been exposed to as much religion as this kid has been since he was born is bound to pick up the vernacular of all things spiritual. His dad obviously filled in the blanks to make this piece of sentimental hogwash marketable. By the way? The kid describes Jesus as having blue eyes. Uh, no. Jesus was a Jew from Palestine. Not likely. This book should be shelved in fiction.

posted by 6403186 on January 4, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 371 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 19
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2012

    Not in libr with the bible

    This is a good book if you read it as fiction. However, there are many spots that go against what the bible says so that does not make it true to me. One example, there is a fixed number of angels but this book says there are more and you become one. I am sorry but I will believe the bible above any book any day.

    7 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2012

    Christian Fiction

    This is a great story! The Balloon Boy comes to mind. Children are easily influenced and can just as easily be manipulated by their parents as well to say/believe what the parents want them to. Sorry, even as a Christian, I don't believe this story to be true.

    6 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 17, 2011

    Not Recommended, for those who view the subject objectively

    Unfortunately, the book is riddled with subversive references to Bible scriptures, and really is just a story used to inject scripture into the reader's thought pattern. Many of the statements made by the child are clearly mannerisms and responses which you wouldn't find in a child, but rather an adult. I believe the majority of the story happened, but not the premise. This book was not made by someone stepping back and giving a truthful story, but rather taking aim to pull the emotional strings of those already subjective to Christianity - either believing in it, or against it. I was hoping for a story full of evidence that the summary actually occurred. That just is not the case here. If you're a Christian and looking for the emotion, you'll find it. If you're objective and looking for a structured story which provides likely fact based real death experience, it's not here. It's too bad there was so much subversive undertones in this book, it had great potential - even if much of it may be fictional.

    4 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 14, 2011

    It was OK

    I agree with some of the readers that it would have been better said if it had happened to him directly. Speaking through the child was a little unbelievable at times. I am a Christian and do believe in what he is saying, but i can see how Christians and non-Christians would be skeptical about the details.

    4 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2012

    You see what you believe

    I agree with a lot of the other reviewers who say this child was pre conditioned. That being said i do not think that takes away from the legitimacy of the cholds story. My youngest son is practily sporting stigmata, he started drawing pictures of the crucified jesus when he was four and grown up in an agnostic home.
    I think that when we each have a different idea of "heaven" and that since once you die you ate pure thought energy you make it the after life as comforting as possible. I'm sure jesus is in heaven but i also believe that ghandi mohamad are there too.
    All i saw durring my one and only nde was a hospital room full of transparent and glowing people. I got no affermations, just a sense of calm.
    A christain will love this book, many others will not. But if you can look beyond the blatant agenda to the more subtle message of brotherly love and spiritual connection to a divine source it becomes quite comforting.

    2 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2012

    10/6/12

    10/6/12 This was a truly believable story until I got to the "wings" part. There is no mention of believers who have passed on becoming angels in the Bible. Perhaps the child really did experience Heaven, but I think dad and mom embellished a bit to make the story more sensational.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2012

    Good story but just a story

    Good story of fiction dad obviously is a money grab. Glad i didnt pay for it and contribute to his fraud. But a good story. True? Nope. First clue is "told by his father" um ok. The dad gets rich. Only in America

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2012

    Too literal

    I wanted to believe this book. I really did. But the literalness just made me roll my eyes. Having child like faith is one thing, but using literal images from modern Biblical translations and interpretations (e.g. the idea of Revelation as end time prophesy did not come until the 18th century; when the Bible was written, ir was understood as apocalyptic allegory fortelling the end of oppression of Christians by a particular Roman emperor) to "prove" that heaven is real, is childish. Not to mention that many of the things that Colton "could not have known" he would have heard over and over in the Lord's prayer and the Apostle's creed as the son of a pastor. Knowing how my own 4 year old absorbs things and embellishes and imagines and states things matter-of-factly, I find this to be a case of everyone hearing and seeing and believing what they want to. Which is okay. But while the story is sweet, it doesn't really resonate with me as some kind of blueprint for heaven.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2012

    It was okay.

    Not all that its cracked up to be.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2012

    No one shall see god and be among the living

    Children have great imaginations at very early age

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2011

    Far-fetched

    Ever notice how Colton always saw whatever his dad asked him, and how his dad could always conjure up a verse that rationalized the kid's response? Believe the story or not (I don't) the way the story unfolds is drawn out, tedious, and repetitive.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 30, 2011

    PURE FICTION

    I read this book - I received it as a gift.



    "Heaven is for Real" is non-fiction marketed as fiction: Another get rich quick scam-story with no indisputable, verifiable, physical proof to support the claims made. Because of the aforementined, I have given this book the lowest possible rating and do n ot recommend it. I would have rated this book higher (more stars) had it been written and marketed as "FICTION".

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 19, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    An Unbelievable Read

    Little 4 year old Colton Burpo's family is left stunned as he begins to describe heaven and the people he encountered there with an accuracy that should be impossible for a 4 year old child. Colton has a message for his family about his encounters, and questions for his daddy whom is a Pastor at a local church. I have to be honest when I first agreed to review this book I had my doubts, even as a Christian it was hard for me to wrap my mind around a 4 year old telling his story about heaven. But after I got deeper into the book, it was actually little scary to hear a four year old as he described meeting his unborn sister and great-grandfather, and what Jesus looked like, and little Colton was determined to be heard about his experience in heaven. Fact or fiction? Still not sure how I really feel about the facts of the book itself.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 19, 2011

    DISAPPOINTING

    I don't object to the premise of the story, but I wish someone else had written it. This was a fine account if it was intended as a journal of sorts for the young boy. When offered up to the public, a professional writer would have been better. I was distracted by the writing.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 10, 2011

    Cheaper on amazon kindle

    This book is 5$ on amazon kindle

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 7, 2011

    Is It Truth

    I want to believe this actually happened and i can say without a doubt i have an open mind. This story from the start makes you feel that its a family who is just in financial trouble and exploiting their son to make some money. Yes maybe the little boy did go to heaven and see Jesus and all these amazing things. Maybe this whole thing is just a fabrication and it would be a shame that their child would have to live with his parents lies. I believed some of the story but some leads you to say there is no way that happened. One thing is he says's Jesus has markers, which turn out to be where Jesus had the nails, as he say's in the palm of his hands. The problem is everybody knows Jesus was not nailed through the palm of the hand but the wrist's. Which leads me to believe these were memories he had surpressed that he was recalling from childrens stories. Now the father recalls a time when he talks about "POP". Ok for people who have children, is it not possible that maybe his sister was telling him about "POP" and this is why he was questioning his parents or maybe about the miscarriage his mother had. They never talked about their daughter. Has anyone ever asked the question "Does the daughter not like her brother and was playing games with him", and maybe just maybe they paid to much attention to him. I want to believe that there is a heaven and like the bible this book can be read by 100 people and you will get 100 interpretations. I will say it is well worth reading it can give hope to someone just keep an open mind and when you are done dont just believe ask questions.

    1 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2014

    Didn't completely hate it

    I read this book because I have seen the intriguing movie trailer several times as the movie releases in theatres this month. I give it two stars because I didn't completely hate it, but was definitely not impressed with Todd Burpo's writing style and I don't fully swallow what he lays out as facts. I am a believer with no doubt in the after life, God, Jesus and angels. However, for me it is too much of a stretch to accept that a three-year-old kid will report the facts accurately without being coaxed by his passionately religious parents. The basis of the story might be factual but to me it felt like the author filled in a lot of pages with his own ideas of what heaven and God are like (and there weren't that many pages in this short book.)

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2013

    If you have doubts about Heaven, an eye-opening book.

    Great story about Heaven, but too drawn out. It could have been told in a book half of its size....

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2013

    Disappppppppp .Dissapoiinted....Heaven is real ..but it's more than just this.

    I was dissapointed thst I actually spent money on this.
    it's not that I don't believd that the little boy was actually there. per se.
    I absolutely believe thst his experience is true.
    What upset me; made me wish I hadn't sctually spent money I don't have on this is that his father took the reigns. He realized that what he heard was as good as gold. It was money.
    He began filtering all the things that the lad had been through..and presenting them through his own lense.
    He managed to anchor every thought,every memory to a ver narrowly defined'Biblical, reference. And in dog so, despite his intentions...he got it all wrong.
    Well, not sll but enouhh to make this book..which should be th hands held wide and high..because I also revisted.God'heavenly realm..
    It wasnot sevulor.Nor was it bible..scripture..religion specific..
    It was about Gods love.. It filled up and radiateout of soul like a gollden light..
    Basically, it wa s filled with endless love and end kess light.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2013

    Ok

    The book is through his dads eyes and mouth.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 371 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 19