Customer Reviews for

Heaven Is for Real: A Little Boy's Astounding Story of His Trip to Heaven and Back

Average Rating 4.5
( 8996 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(5730)

4 Star

(1489)

3 Star

(780)

2 Star

(371)

1 Star

(626)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

326 out of 418 people found this review helpful.

Very enjoyable

I loved reading this wonderful book! It is a story that keeps you entertained for hours.

posted by theReader278 on June 29, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

500 out of 1733 people found this review helpful.

Hogwash

I cannot believe the masses are drinking the Kool-Aid that is this silly little book. It's very clear that the parents are pimping out this kid to sell the book. Any four year old who has been exposed to as much religion as this kid has been since he was born is bound t...
I cannot believe the masses are drinking the Kool-Aid that is this silly little book. It's very clear that the parents are pimping out this kid to sell the book. Any four year old who has been exposed to as much religion as this kid has been since he was born is bound to pick up the vernacular of all things spiritual. His dad obviously filled in the blanks to make this piece of sentimental hogwash marketable. By the way? The kid describes Jesus as having blue eyes. Uh, no. Jesus was a Jew from Palestine. Not likely. This book should be shelved in fiction.

posted by 6403186 on January 4, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 626 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 32
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2011

    Hogwash

    I cannot believe the masses are drinking the Kool-Aid that is this silly little book. It's very clear that the parents are pimping out this kid to sell the book. Any four year old who has been exposed to as much religion as this kid has been since he was born is bound to pick up the vernacular of all things spiritual. His dad obviously filled in the blanks to make this piece of sentimental hogwash marketable. By the way? The kid describes Jesus as having blue eyes. Uh, no. Jesus was a Jew from Palestine. Not likely. This book should be shelved in fiction.

    500 out of 1733 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 30, 2011

    *

    I was very disappointed in this book. The book was more about the Pastor and his congregation than his son's experience. There were so many quotes from the bible that I felt like it was a bible study rather than the "Near Death Experience" that I was expecting. The parts that were described from his son would have had more meaning if this pastor weren't promoting his religion. Save your money....there are so many other books on NDE much better than this one.

    121 out of 275 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2011

    A load of bull...

    I wanted to like this book but, coming from a medical background this book is a load of crap. What parent who's child has been throwing up for 5 days, not eating or drinking, lethargic and crying is going to wait to drive all the way home (a state away) to take them to a hospital? What parent is going to stand by while doctors and nurses poke and prod their kid while the kid is screaming bloody murder and not ask about pain control? What hospital allows the nurses to hold the child while a parent gives injections of medicine in the hospital or is told by the medical staff to change the JP drain on their child?
    At first I tried to find the silver lining, "well maybe this was several years ago", "well maybe this was in a very small, rural town, etc." but when I looked up the so called hospital and town, it just isn't possible.
    My final straw was the fact that the family outright names the hospital, doctors and other medical staff and yet no legal investigation was done considering the medical mistakes and unnecessary testing and in my opinion torture was done to this child by the medical team and family. YEAH RIGHT!

    76 out of 161 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2011

    Um no.

    I just don't get this book. Too many of its kind have been written... it's just not believeable. In fact it makes me kind of suspicious of the whole thing. I believe in god and heaven... but wish I had passed on this one. I am left wondering who's words these really are. Sorry, I wanted to like it.

    70 out of 175 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 5, 2011

    I wish I could give it NO stars

    I have to admit, I'm a skeptic on a lot of "claims" that people make. And so it was with a very critical eye that I read Heaven Is For Real by Todd Burpo, a pastor who until this story came out, had been facing some challenging times, both physically and (because of medical bills) financially. Interestingly he's now the (obviously) published author of his son's story which is on the best seller list, he has a radio program, and tours to do various talk shows to promote his book. Not a bad for a small town pastor, eh? Todd Burpo is the author of this very simplistic, so easy to read that I read it over the course of a few hours while my son was at a drama rehearsal. And apparently I'm not the only one who was able to zoom through it like that, it's a common theme for all the other reviews I've read about it. Now, it's not a typical thing for me to read other people's reviews before reviewing a book myself. but I read the book, and had NO idea where to start in reviewing it. I think it's a fanciful tale. There are several reason I disliked it. I'll just list them: The publicity is misleading. This is not the tale that little Colton Burpo woke up and told. the "story" actually came out over the course of YEARS following the surgery it was supposed to have happened during. Little Colton did NOT die. medical records (you know, how they monitor every breath and heartbeat) show that he never died. His simple answer? If you have to be dead to go to Heaven *shrug* then I guess I died. Well, Colton, that's nice, but it's not what happened. There is so much theologically questionable material in this book, it's dangerous. I don't know Todd Burpo from anyone, but if I were the governing body of his church, I would take a serious look at this man's theological beliefs before letting him shepherd a congregation - apparently he's teaching that the Holy Spirit is a blue lighting bolt throwin' dude who sits around with little boys in the Thrown Room of Heaven. Now, I have children. One of the things that amazes me is how "tuned" in they are when you don't think they're paying any attention. Recently my 5 year old came running up the stairs to ask if she could "help me" . to do what? To bake the cake I had off-handedly joked QUIETLY to my teenage daughter that I "should" make (can't remember what for, something like Dr. Suess' birthday or something.) She had heard me, even though she was down in the family room playing, a floor and a half away from where I was talking. Her brother at the time was watching a video in the same room as she was, and she STILL heard me. Talk about tuned in! Now, let's take a look at the facts: Colton's dad is a pretty conservative PASTOR. Colton's mom is active in their church ministry. Colton's mom talks to people on the phone (possibly within the hearing of young Colton, possibly discussing things on a higher theological level than she might teach in sunday school.) Colton attends church (and sunday school) with his family every week, where no doubt he hears all about various aspects of Heaven. Colton's dad reads from a Bible storybook to Colton EVERY NIGHT (hmmm.. there might be pictures in this book that filled in some gaps in Colton's knowledge, like about robes with purple sashes) Colton took several years for this information to all seep out, so it's wasn't just the memories of a 4 year old. he had years to embellish with his imagination this tale that when you read the story,

    57 out of 118 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2011

    Come on now...do people really believe this??

    It reminded me of my parents telling me stories about God and Jesus. The stories told to this little boy as a young child were also told to me. There was nothing in his "experiences" that I haven't envisioned in my mind after my parents read these stories to me. It was a joke to think he actually experienced these things outside a dream. I think his parents need to fess up and stop pretending their son came up with these experiences on his own. Did they actually forget they read him these stories as he was growing up? How convenient. If this isn't using their own son for personal gain, then I don't know what is! I'm sure they're laughing all the way to the bank!

    46 out of 122 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2011

    Complete and Utter Propaganda

    If the family had been atheists instead of evangelists, this might be believable. It's obvious that this kid was coached into some of his answers and some of it is outright lies in order to sell Christianity to a public desperate for proof of anything. It's a good story if you're desperate. They use a kid because it sells the lie better. If you did this same story with a 20 year old instead of a 4 year old, people would put him in a psych ward. If you did this same story with a Muslim child, the Christian right would decry it as blasphemy.

    Don't believe the hype.

    41 out of 87 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 14, 2011

    Not believable

    Anticipated reading this. Was very disappointed. It was less about the boys visit to heaven and more about the minister dads sermonizing. The fact that the preschool boys memories of heaven surfaced over several years made me wonder about the storys validity. But when the dad admitted he did not write down the names of the children the boy saw in heaven it convinced me the story was not completely true. Why would he not have a pencil and paper handy to write these down. I believe the author believes his son visited heaven and his son may have. The author just does not present a believable case. I would not recommend this book.

    29 out of 53 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2011

    Ugh.

    I read this book after my mother. She loves this book and swears the boy is truthful. I read it and thought I would get a biblical representation of heaven and Jesus and feel uplifted as my mother would say. Unfortunately, there are a lot of things the boy says that don't add up to what is in the bible. I may not be an expert but the book of revelation is a personal favorite of mine and apparently Todd and his son, Colton never read it. I'm surprised that Todd is a pastor and never taked about how to recieve salvation our gift from God in the book. Sorry if I offend any one with this post but reading something that is a false representaion of our Lord and heaven is appalling!

    27 out of 61 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 22, 2011

    Made up Story

    This story is obviously made up. I recently lost my daughter and was hoping to read a true story about what a child experienced in heaven. The fact that a preacher would make up a story, and try to pass it off as true is disturbing. This book personally hurt me.

    26 out of 56 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2011

    BULL!!

    I am only part way through this book and it is obviously a work of fiction!! I work in the medical field and think perhaps the author should have done some research!! This is NOT how things work....in ANY hospital!! A gross misrepresentation of hospital staff, policies and procedures!!

    21 out of 43 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2011

    Shameless

    This book is a testament to the danger of dogma. Todd Burpo gives us a nasty account of how he nearly killed his own son out of negligence and incompitence. If I had any say in the matter he and his wife would never have custody of any children because they are obviously not capable of properly caring for one. Mr. Burpo is not even embarrassed by his failure as a father and has twisted the whole matter into a sermon. The prestige of "new york times best seller" must surely be slipping. This is despicable.

    18 out of 33 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2011

    Horrible

    2 letters b.s.

    18 out of 35 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2011

    Wow

    One mans story of how he indoctrinated his son

    18 out of 33 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2011

    Absolutely Horrible

    I feel sorry for all of the people who don't see the horrible exploitation of this child. Come on, the man begins the book by saying how much he and his church needed money, when suddenly this wonderful bank opportunity arrises. This load of garbage is so obviously a fabricated and dishonest scam that an explanation shouldn't even be required for low ratings. This is ridiculous and the fact that this book is rated so highly is truly embarassing.

    17 out of 30 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 1, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    You do realize this is fake, don't you?

    This is a fakery of the worst kind. This is a real as Wrestlemania. Don't buy into it. Have some self respect.

    17 out of 45 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 14, 2011

    Pure fiction!

    I couldn't finish this book because it made me so angry I wanted to write to the author. I got a strong feeling while reading that while a portion of the story may be true, the rest is greatly exagerated. I feel its wrong the author seems to have used his own child to make up lies and tall tales for the purpose of making money.

    16 out of 31 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 6, 2011

    Delusional

    If you like this book just wait until I finish the book about my seven year old son who is given CPR by the Easter Bunny AND Santa which saves his life! An amazing story of faith and inspiration for the delusional who read and believed this nonsense!

    16 out of 30 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2011

    Awful

    These guys seem to have terribly bad parenting skills.

    16 out of 28 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 2, 2012

    Don't waste your hard earned money on this trash.

    This book isn't even about Colton, it's about his father Todd. Colton's parents ignored his abdominal pain to attend yet another meeting resulting in his needless suffering, they should be ashamed of their neglect and for profitting from this.

    15 out of 27 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 626 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 32