Customer Reviews for

Heaven Is for Real: A Little Boy's Astounding Story of His Trip to Heaven and Back

Average Rating 4.5
( 9064 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(5781)

4 Star

(1492)

3 Star

(788)

2 Star

(371)

1 Star

(632)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

333 out of 426 people found this review helpful.

Very enjoyable

I loved reading this wonderful book! It is a story that keeps you entertained for hours.

posted by theReader278 on June 29, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

505 out of 1758 people found this review helpful.

Hogwash

I cannot believe the masses are drinking the Kool-Aid that is this silly little book. It's very clear that the parents are pimping out this kid to sell the book. Any four year old who has been exposed to as much religion as this kid has been since he was born is bound t...
I cannot believe the masses are drinking the Kool-Aid that is this silly little book. It's very clear that the parents are pimping out this kid to sell the book. Any four year old who has been exposed to as much religion as this kid has been since he was born is bound to pick up the vernacular of all things spiritual. His dad obviously filled in the blanks to make this piece of sentimental hogwash marketable. By the way? The kid describes Jesus as having blue eyes. Uh, no. Jesus was a Jew from Palestine. Not likely. This book should be shelved in fiction.

posted by 6403186 on January 4, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 371 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 19
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2013

    Omg

    This book was ok i guess but noy good at all....a bunch of crap i think he has a active imagination you can tell don tspend your time and sav eyou 8 bucks thums up if u agree!,,

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2013

    No

    I am a Christian, believe myself to be open minded, but my inner alarms were going off in this book. It completly lost me when I found out the child never died. Doesn't pass the sniff test for me. I believe heaven IS real, but don't believe this child has been there yet. Two stars for the interesting short story about the atheist girl who did die and came back with amazing painting skills and stories of the afterlife. That, at least, was interesting.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2013

    I want my money back.....

    Sorry, but it just wasn't to believable!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2013

    Fiction

    This book should be a bible it has so many bible quotes but its ok

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2013

    Okay

    I am a Christian, but this is quite absurd. Children have vivid imaginations, and from my reading in the book of Revelation, this kid's perception is pretty inaccurate. Yes, I do believe in heaven, but I wouldn't be suprised if this turned out to be fake. Evenmy Bible teacher, one of the strongest Christians I know, is skeptical.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2012

    Fake?

    This book was okay. I believe the kid was uncontious, but he didnt go to heaven. That is such a lie...his dad is a pastor and he probobly told the kid all about heaven. By the way, the kid was like 3!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2012

    a must read!

    fascinating!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2012

    Average

    Like UFOS, I am sure that people are telling the truth when they see somethig, but I don't believe they know what it really is. That being said, you don't rate a book by its claims. But rather the structure and quality, of which this isn't much different from a magazine article. I found myself skipping content just to get directly to what the kid had to say. The intros to those special moments of revelation are supposed to feel connected, and give a sense of excitement. Instead, they were more of an inconvenience.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 9, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Sweet story, but....If you read all of the other lower reviews o

    Sweet story, but....If you read all of the other lower reviews of this book, you have my review. I'm automatically going to be skeptical of any 3 1/2 year old who suddenly starts spouting stories of going to heaven starting MONTHS after it happened and continuing for years. I know plenty of strong Christians will be inspired, and I think that it wonderful. It's a lovely, inspirational tale - but I emphasize TALE.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2012

    Disappointed

    This book was highly disappointing. I was hoping to read the story of a child's near death experience and instead got a Pastor's take on his son's experience. With little to no writing skills, I was left feeling like I had wasted my money amd time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2012

    The right way

    Really astounding but to mmany parts make it hard for me to beleive it seems like there parents made this story up and made there son go along whith it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2012

    I dont know

    Intresting book, but how did heaven help him?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2012

    This was ok

    This was an ok book. It did not live up to the hype.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2012

    Slow & Drawn Out - But Great Lessons

    Very touching story, but the book probably should have been a short story - it felt very drawn out.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 13, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Don't Bother

    This is a little boy's story of his trip to heaven and back. I will admit that I was curious about this book after seeing it on the bestseller list and listening to friends who said I must read it. I don't disagree with the "facts" that are presented in this book at all. In fact, many of the concepts are thrilling and engaging. But I do think the writing was very bland and elementary, that the little boy's story has been sensationalized and that any purity that it was once meant to have has been mainstreamed and talk-showed to death. My beliefs are these: death is not the end, children have a very unique spiritual perspective because they have not yet been molded by parents and society to disbelieve or remain skeptical and this little boy did, in fact have a spiritual experience worthy of sharing with the world. However, the writer, the father and the publishing house seem to have all capitalized on it. I am very sad to say that I could not, in good conscious give this book a good rating. It felt too much like propaganda to me as I was reading it.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2012

    Its ok

    It got a little to dramatical for me, read the five people you meet in heaven first!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2012

    Rqwertgxf ggffb

    Ryggfyjvjgh

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2012

    Dont get it

    I read the uinfo about the book it doesnt make sense

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2012

    Not the best not the worst

    You could skip right to the end with the timeline and skip the rest of the book. I wish the kid wrote his account over the dad. I just kept feeling like i was trying to be convinced of the truth of of heaven through scripture matching. Like see see it had to be real because this.... i dont doubt this happens but i prefer more to the points not matchy matchy. But if you read it youll know what i mean.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2012

    Meh.

    Simple. But, kind of

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 371 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 19