Customer Reviews for

Heaven Is for Real: A Little Boy's Astounding Story of His Trip to Heaven and Back

Average Rating 4.5
( 9123 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(5826)

4 Star

(1502)

3 Star

(794)

2 Star

(371)

1 Star

(630)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

339 out of 432 people found this review helpful.

Very enjoyable

I loved reading this wonderful book! It is a story that keeps you entertained for hours.

posted by theReader278 on June 29, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

506 out of 1776 people found this review helpful.

Hogwash

I cannot believe the masses are drinking the Kool-Aid that is this silly little book. It's very clear that the parents are pimping out this kid to sell the book. Any four year old who has been exposed to as much religion as this kid has been since he was born is bound t...
I cannot believe the masses are drinking the Kool-Aid that is this silly little book. It's very clear that the parents are pimping out this kid to sell the book. Any four year old who has been exposed to as much religion as this kid has been since he was born is bound to pick up the vernacular of all things spiritual. His dad obviously filled in the blanks to make this piece of sentimental hogwash marketable. By the way? The kid describes Jesus as having blue eyes. Uh, no. Jesus was a Jew from Palestine. Not likely. This book should be shelved in fiction.

posted by 6403186 on January 4, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 1502 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 76
  • Posted November 3, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Heaven IS for Real

    He's just a little boy, only four years old. Could he really have visited heaven and come back to tell us about it? Colton and his family had gone on vacation to try to relieve some of the stress of his father's illnesses. But Colton ends up in the hospital with an emergency appendectomy. It gets worse as he has to undergo another surgery a week later. Thankfully he recovers and the family is on the road again. Colton relays some interesting information to his family about angels singing to him and sitting in the lap of Jesus while his father was praying and his mother was on the phone. How could he have known that? He also talks about other things he sees in Heaven (like Jesus' red "markers," gem/crown colors, and wings) leading the family to wonder just what happened to Colton during surgery. This story is amazing.

    This wonderful story gave me goosebumps as I read it. Did Colton really experience these things? I don't know. Some people may say that he is just repeating things he has heard in Sunday School, church, and at home. But I do know this, Heaven is for real! I recommend this book to people who love inspirational tales, and will be giving it as gifts to family and friends. Thank you to the Book Sneeze program for the opportunity to review this book!

    12 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2011

    For real, this book is epic!

    Heaven is for Real tells the inspiring journey of the Burpo family as their already strong faith is solidified. In the beginning, Colton Burpo, age four, begins to have severe stomach pains and after some tests, is revealed to have a ruptured appendix. While in emergency surgery, Coltons dies for three minutes and ascends into Heaven.

    You can imagine the reaction his parents had when he finally told them of this news! At first, they simply believed that the Sunday school teachers were doing a fine job however, Colton began to reveal information that there was no way he could've known any other way. For example, Colton met his sister while in Heaven . . . a sister who died two months into his mother's pregnancy. He also met his great grandfather as well as John the Baptist, the angels Gabriel and Michael, Mary, and of course, Jesus.

    The book does start off slowly but after you push through the first chapter or so, it becomes a very easy and enjoyable read. Despite its powerful message, the book also has several humorous moments.

    "Yeah, I know, Dad. Jesus told me I had to be nice."

    Colton's childlike faith is inspiring to all of us. His story is unnerving to say the least, but there is comfort to be had. After all, Jesus loves us all and despite the omnious and imminent battle ahead, Colton reassures us that Jesus wins. He always wins.

    5 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2014

    Heaven is for real

    This book is amazing! Deatails are wonderful and made me cry.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2013

    In this fascinating and gripping book, 3 year old Colton Burpo w

    In this fascinating and gripping book, 3 year old Colton Burpo while undergoing emergency surgery for a burst appendix gets to go to heaven. After his operation he begins to share details with his family about meeting Jesus and relatives he had never met who are now up in heaven.  He describes heaven as a shimmering place filled with all the colors of the rainbows where everyone has wings except Jesus who moves up and down like an elevator.  Every picture of Jesus Colton sees is never quite “right”, his family jokingly begins to show him pictures and ask what is wrong with each.  At the end of the book his father sees a news story on CNN about a girl named Akiane who also has visited heaven and now paints pictures depicting it.  He shows Colton the picture of Jesus and asks him “what’s wrong with this one”, Colton studies it for a few minutes and says “nothing, this one got him right”.  He and the girl saw the same JESUS!

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2011

    Hmm...

    Makes u wonder wut the Great Lord looks like..

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2014

    This book was exceptional in the sense that no matter what relig

    This book was exceptional in the sense that no matter what religion one practices, it makes the reader ask questions about this family's faith
    and a boy's supernatural experience. My faith was challenged while reading the story, as well as challenged me in many ways. It just goes
    to show that God can use a tragedy to change lives, proving that the statement 'Everything happens for a reason", is true.
     
    The story was truly inspiring and really made me think about my relationship with God. It showed me that we need to have faith more like
    children and quit trying to be "too smart" for our own good. Colton's story of meeting Jesus and sitting in his lap and how God shoots
    powers down to people was fun and very encouraging. He spoke the bible in kid terms and without knowing all the details of the bible.
    He spoke of God's throne and how "no one wears glasses in Heaven", and how Jesus really loved children. 
    It is a must for anyone who wants to see Heaven through a child's eyes.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2014

    To EveryOne Hating On This Book

    v.v Are You all stupid? This is the single most greatest book I've read. I saw the movie, and I intend to continue believeing. This Book isn't made simply for money. Why would a Pastor do that? It's easy to tell that this book is stating true facts. How else would Colton, 14, be able to describe Jesus as did the girl who painted His image? Sure, these visions Colton had are a little vivid for a 4 Year old, but they're true! So You can stop hating on this book, and actually attempt to believe. x.x Seriously..People these days...

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 5, 2014

    Soul food for the Seeker

    Very much enjoyed this chronological journey of Colton's family as viewed/experienced by his pastor dad Todd Burpo. Based on a Christian world view and the basic faith tenants of their family. Jives with other after life accounts in numerous other books on the subject. I found it to be a quick, interesting read and recommend it to other Seekers.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2014

    Heaven is for Real is a heart touching, remarkable story about a

    Heaven is for Real is a heart touching, remarkable story about a little boy and his family who find out that while their son, Colton, was fighting for his life, he astonishingly went to heaven, met Jesus and many others, and came back. I would most definitely recommend this book to anyone and everyone. Even if you’re not religious, this is an inspiring story about the desperation of a mother and father for their, how strong a community can be when coming together in a time of need, and the love and strength of a little boy.  Apart from the wicked encounters this boy made, Colton’s appendix burst at the age of three and had toxins poisoning his body for 5 days straight. When they finally found a hospital that could figure out what was wrong, Colton was in the “shadow of death”. During those 5 days, Colton’s parents were desperate for their little boy to get better, but the news they got at the hospital was heart breaking; they didn’t know if their son would make it. They blamed it on themselves and felt helpless. People can really connect with this feeling, especially if they have kids.
     Desperate times call for desperate measures, they called their church and asked for as many prayers as they could and the turnout was remarkable. So many people prayed, and sent money for them to pay off their medical bills. It just goes to show that when a community comes together, amazing things can be done and thankfully, Colton made it out ok. 
     Just when they think everything is alright, the doctor finds something else wrong with Colton’s white blood cell count and the process repeats, but Colton’s strength is outstanding. At the age of three, he defeats his medical problems like a marine on the home front. 
    For those who are religious, you would really enjoy reading this book, the connections and the things Colton says he saw when he was in heaven is mind boggling and amazing! It really makes you think.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2014

    God

    I love this book

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2013

    Yhku

    He is a brave little one

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 22, 2013

     The book Heaven Is For Real by Todd Burpo is an inspiring and t

     The book Heaven Is For Real by Todd Burpo is an inspiring and touching story of a young boy about the age of four that has a near death experience.  The sickness that was unknown for quite some time very nearly took his life and what he experienced and saw was truly remarkable.  Sonja and Todd Burpo (the author) are truly moved and speechless as they listen to their young son describe in vivid detail how heaven looks and how everyone is portrayed.  The four year old kid named Colton is just like any other kid as he enjoys playing with action figures, etc.  When he starts revealing what he experienced while at the hospital, everyone is inspired, and Todd even used what Colton said in one of his future sermons.   
    This inspiring non-fiction story has many strengths as it is easy to read for all ages and it keeps the readers hooked.  It is a quick read and it made me want to keep on reading to find out more of what Colton had to say about his experience in heaven.  I think the author does an excellent job of tying together his knowledge from being a pastor to what his son had to say.  This helped me believe the credibility of Colton’s stories as they were closely tied to those in the Bible, most of which a four year old would have no knowledge of. 
    Truthfully, I could not find any weaknesses in Heaven Is For Real and I really enjoyed it.  I am not a big reader, but I had no issues reading the book from cover to cover in only a week’s time.  
    I really enjoyed this book because not only it was interesting but it also helped improve my knowledge about heaven.  The novel was well written by Todd Burpo and I would definitely read more of his work.  I have lost quite a few relatives throughout the years, and I always wondered what life was like for them in heaven and this book helped me paint a mental picture of exactly that.   
    In my opinion, I believe that the novel Heaven Is For Real by Todd Burpo is suitable for all ages.  I would recommend this book to anyone who has an interest regarding what heaven is like in reality.  I myself was intrigued to read about the kid’s encounters in heaven and surprised on how closely his descriptions matched those in the Bible. 

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2013

    Entertaining, but not completely believeable

    Definitly interesting, and at many times convincing. Some things are easily explainable, but many are not. If this is a nonfiction story, then WOW, but it seems more fictional to me. I am not an avid believer, though, so maybe it could be true. I would recomend this book, and as either a fiction or nonfiction read.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2013

    Genuine, personal experience.

    Loved reading through this families experiences. The very personal telling is down-to-earth, and genuine. I loved how as a Christian family, they were so understanding of the truth of what had happened and so in awe of being chosen to be a part of what was their experience. I think if I had been in this family, I would have gotten real busy in pulling every particle of remembrance my son had, written it down and possibly found out more of his experience. Loved the book !

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 14, 2013

    This is a phenominal book, regardless of your religion or belief

    This is a phenominal book, regardless of your religion or beliefs. Heaven is for Real tells a heartwarming story of a young boy who almost died, but ended up being saved by the grace of God. All the things he went through and witnessed will catch the attention of any reader. If you have any desire to believe in a higher power, this book will help you do so. 
    -JEH

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2012

    book amazing

    I thought story was amazing gave me hope into whom I'll see when i get there of course Jesus and all my family members including our 3 miscariges me and my wife had where they girls or boys?and my grandson that we lost in my daughters car accident in 2007.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2012

    Recommend

    Great thing about kids is that they often remind us how the simple things in life are very meaningful.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 13, 2012

    Heavan is for real

    Great book for everyone!

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2012

    Gave Me a new perspective

    I think it opened my eyes to new possibilities, and was an interesting read.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 22, 2012

    More proof of God's promises

    I am a believer in God, Heaven and all His promises, but this book gives me a real life reminder that all those things are real. What a gift to have spent time with Jesus and see some of heaven's glory. This book will strengthen your faith and put a smile on your face.

    My 10 year old daughter overheard me talking about this book to a friend and she is now reading it. I offered to buy her the children's version, but she wanted to read the exact book I read. She is now on page 102!

    Thanks to the Burpo family for sharing this special story with the world.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 1502 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 76