Customer Reviews for

Heaven Is for Real: A Little Boy's Astounding Story of His Trip to Heaven and Back

Average Rating 4.5
( 8966 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(5700)

4 Star

(1490)

3 Star

(780)

2 Star

(370)

1 Star

(626)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

324 out of 416 people found this review helpful.

Very enjoyable

I loved reading this wonderful book! It is a story that keeps you entertained for hours.

posted by theReader278 on June 29, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

499 out of 1724 people found this review helpful.

Hogwash

I cannot believe the masses are drinking the Kool-Aid that is this silly little book. It's very clear that the parents are pimping out this kid to sell the book. Any four year old who has been exposed to as much religion as this kid has been since he was born is bound t...
I cannot believe the masses are drinking the Kool-Aid that is this silly little book. It's very clear that the parents are pimping out this kid to sell the book. Any four year old who has been exposed to as much religion as this kid has been since he was born is bound to pick up the vernacular of all things spiritual. His dad obviously filled in the blanks to make this piece of sentimental hogwash marketable. By the way? The kid describes Jesus as having blue eyes. Uh, no. Jesus was a Jew from Palestine. Not likely. This book should be shelved in fiction.

posted by 6403186 on January 4, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 5700 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 285
  • Posted August 15, 2011

    How would you know?

    First of, Jesus was not an ordinary man. He might've had blue eyes. How would you know? This is a story about a miracle, and a boy who nearly died. Do you really need to critisize this much? Just read and enjoy

    5 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 12, 2011

    THE BEST!

    This is the best book I have ever read. Sometimes, when people say that phrase, they exaggerate. But, honestly, I am not. This story is filled with truth and the revealed tales and feelings of a life-changing experience. Bad things can happen to anyone, but if we stand strong and be who we are as more than conquerors in Christ during times of hardship good things can happen and miracles occur. :) FABULOUS!!! Thank you, Burpo Family, your story has been a blessing for me even at the age of thirteen. :)

    5 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2011

    beautiful story!

    Great book. I read it fast and as you go, it makes you imagine heaven and it gives you a great feeling... one day you are going to see your loved ones, and honestly I can't wait. I did believe in God before, but now I believe more deeply. I am so excited to have an idea of heaven and what is coming for all of us who believe.

    5 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 17, 2010

    A Gift of Hope - Must Read!

    A preschooler named Colton Burpo (son of the author) gets unexpectedly ill with an unknown condition, which is later discovered to be appendicitis. Sometime during the life saving surgery, Colton visits heaven and returns with a wealth of knowledge. Soon, Colton slowly tells his parents of the wonders of heaven while showing us what childlike faith really is. The amazing part is, he references parts in the Bible that have never been told to him before. His father tells us the amazing story.

    This book was a pleasure to read and is definitely one I will recommend often. If you have ever wondered about heaven's existence, about the after-life of a missed loved one, or just needs a refresher in childlike faith then this book will surely be a good choice for you. This would make a good gift to someone who has recently lost someone (even a pregnancy). Colton's experience in heaven truly touched my heart and my soul. Having lost a loved one earlier this year, this book brings me such hope. It lets you now that your family are okay in heaven and are waiting for us. We can continue our lives without grief knowing that we will see them again and in a much better state.

    I received a free copy of this book.I was not required to write a positive review. All opinions are my own.

    5 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 3, 2010

    A true glimpse into Heaven

    What an amazing story. So riveting and engaging I found myself reading the entire book in a 24 hour time span, mostly in the evening after my baby was in bed for the night. The chapters are short, but once into the book (and it doesn't take long), the chapters pass by without notice as the story just flows.

    I found myself amazed at the story of this little boy and his family, heartbroken at their struggles and intrigued by the proclamations and statements of this small child after an illness that nearly took his life. Having read other books about visits to and from Heaven by others, I anticipated it would be similar, yet this book is entirely different. Each claim little Clayton made his father (the author) could back up with scripture references upon investigation.

    While some may claim this is another hoax or story, I truly believe this encounter took place and is an encouragement and challenge to all Christians. What a glimpse of Heaven I have been provided and through the innocent eyes of a child... the little ones Christ calls us to be like in our faith. A definite recommendation for all readers - you will find yourself amazed and challenged, your eyes opened to possibilities and your hope and desire for our Heavenly home renewed.

    Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Thomas Nelson Publishers as part of their BookSneeze . com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255 : "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."

    5 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2012

    Meh

    The fact that people are saying this book is fake and that you are crazy to believe it is just disrespectful. I heard the author of this book speak to my school today and while it is a bit unbelievable it is no more fantasy than the idea of evolution or "the big bang". This is a book review not a religious debate so argueing over the honor of the parents and the child just kind of makes me want to barf. Dont believe it if you want but judging it based only off your close minded thinking wont get you anywhere and giving this book a shot wouldnt hurt either.

    4 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 21, 2011

    Tear jerker

    Hard to put down. If you're a believer, it will inspire you. If you are not, it wll make you pause and think.

    4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2011

    Sad but best book ever

    Im 9 years old and my mom read this book to me and my brother and sister i think it is a great book and that it is inspiering i love it the little boy in this story is so lucky it is sooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo good i would deffently recomend this book but if u are a kid like me i might not make sence so i would have a adult exsplane it to you From: Halle

    4 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2011

    Wonderful!

    I loved this book. Filled me with hope and helped me feel more at peace about eternity as a believer. My husband recently met a friend of the Burpos who was around when these events unfolded and there's no doubt this book is truthful. I highly recommend it.

    4 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2010

    It will touch your heart!

    I just recently lost my brother because of lung transplant complications and needed some comfort. Colton's sharing with us his visit to heaven gave me the peace I so badly needed. I am very grateful for this families sharing of this very personal experience. My heart is very thankful!!

    4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2012

    The best

    What a great, heartwarming story. The dad specifically said that he asked non-leading questions and he did not influence the boy but just wrote down what his son said. Everyone who has lost someone should read this comforting book.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 19, 2012

    this book is AMAZING!!!!!! This little boy has explained heaven

    this book is AMAZING!!!!!! This little boy has explained heaven in the best way possible that when u get to heaven all your loved ones meet you thier and celebrate with you and even more!!! it describes the lord jeseus and god. please read this book once you read it yo will be glad you did i promise ¿¿¿¿

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2012

    AMAZING

    I am wanting to go to heaven more than ever now. This book looks at both prodestant and catholic points of view. Looking at the scripture does show that all who believe, wether christian or not, will get into heaven. Heaven IS for real

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 22, 2012

    Heaven is For Real is a fascinating story about a 4 year old boy

    Heaven is For Real is a fascinating story about a 4 year old boy who goes to heaven during an appendix surgery. As time goes on he speaks a bit here and there of what it was like. At first his parents thought he was making it up but then it got more and more detailed, like the miscarriage that his parents had never told him about. Finally his dad started to talk about it and tell the world about it. know it is a book called Heaven is for Real.
    I really liked this book and there was really nothing bad about it. it was a very well written book.
    I would recommend this book who anyone who doesn't have a strong hold on christ and would like to learn more and be amazed what he can do.

    3 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2012

    Are you crazy?

    I cannot BELEIVE any of these people who put a review of stars 2 stars or less. This book is so freakin' good and I don't know how anyone could hate it. That is so stupid.

    3 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2011

    This is a good book. :)

    I am a 6th Grader, and let me tell you a bit of information. This book is a great read that will reassure that Heaven is a very real place. Remember, if God intended for this to happen, surely it will be different from what the usual circumstances of NDEs? Don't stop believing in Him; God knows. He also knows when you lie, so some of you should keep this in mind when writing a review. :)

    3 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2011

    Loved this book - and I'm agnostic!

    While I was raised roman catholic, I'm totally not religious in the slightest. Still, I was intrigued by the description of this book and thought at the very least it would be a worthwhile and entertaining read, even if I wound up disagreeing with the premise entirely. I did not expect to have my mind completely blown by 4-year-old Colton's story, but I did! I got chills from various parts of the story (won't give anything away) and at the end felt that while I wasn't sure how his story could be true, it was so believable that it must be! Definitely recommend this to anyone with an open mind and somewhat spiritual outlook.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 4, 2011

    think about it...

    For all the comments on it being impossible for Jesus to have blue eyes, just remember that He was conceived of God, not man. I'm sure He had traits from his mother, Mary, but who knows what other traits He may have gotten because of not having a biological father. Blue eyes are a possibility.

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 2, 2011

    AMAZING BOOK

    This is the most amazing book ever. If you are afraid to die, after you read this book you will never be afraid to die. Also if you don't believe in GOD, you will believe in GOD more than you think you do. I reccomend this book very much.

    3 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 17, 2011

    highly recommend seriously check it out

    this is really good book. there is many things that i never thought about jesus what he look like and what he wear. i feel about the parent had to deal few day with boy been sick but i am happy that it become better and this is very great book i ever read.

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 5700 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 285