BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Heaven Is for Real for Kids: A Little Boy's Astounding Story of His Trip to Heaven and Back

Average Rating 4
( 96 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(61)

4 Star

(14)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(13)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

53 out of 62 people found this review helpful.

Exceptional!!!

I recieved this as free ebook from booksneeze and would have rated it at about 3 stars, until I read it to children. I enjoyed the letter to the parents in the beginning and liked that they had questions (and answers to the questions) that children might ask at the end ...
I recieved this as free ebook from booksneeze and would have rated it at about 3 stars, until I read it to children. I enjoyed the letter to the parents in the beginning and liked that they had questions (and answers to the questions) that children might ask at the end of the book. When I sat on the couch, though, with a 5 year old on one side and an 7 year old on the other and all of their attention was unwaveringly on this book I knew it was a great resource.
Even in black and white on my little NOOK screen they enjoyed the pictures. They both said that they liked ALL of it until I asked if there was anything they didn't like and then the 5 year old only said that he didn't like when Colton had to go back to the hospital.
Death is a scary unknown for adults, but even more so for children who can't always understand the explanations to the questions that they have. This book does not talk down to children as some books tend to do. It uses simple language in definite terms and backs it up with short passages from the bible.
I think this book is wonderful. I will be purchasing it from BN to add to my children's book collection.

posted by avid_reader13 on October 28, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

so boring

i read the book and this is like maybe 5 of the ideas presented in it...with a picture now. not worth any amount of money

posted by guitaoist3 on November 14, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 61 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted October 28, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Exceptional!!!

    I recieved this as free ebook from booksneeze and would have rated it at about 3 stars, until I read it to children. I enjoyed the letter to the parents in the beginning and liked that they had questions (and answers to the questions) that children might ask at the end of the book. When I sat on the couch, though, with a 5 year old on one side and an 7 year old on the other and all of their attention was unwaveringly on this book I knew it was a great resource.
    Even in black and white on my little NOOK screen they enjoyed the pictures. They both said that they liked ALL of it until I asked if there was anything they didn't like and then the 5 year old only said that he didn't like when Colton had to go back to the hospital.
    Death is a scary unknown for adults, but even more so for children who can't always understand the explanations to the questions that they have. This book does not talk down to children as some books tend to do. It uses simple language in definite terms and backs it up with short passages from the bible.
    I think this book is wonderful. I will be purchasing it from BN to add to my children's book collection.

    53 out of 62 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2011

    This book is amazing!!!

    When i first read heaven is for real i hardly belived it. I had so my questions with very little answers. See i am a teen and hardly understand somethings out there. I found heaven is for real at my library and thought i would give it a try. I didnt think i would be to interested in the book. But then i started reading it and couldnt put down. I finishwe it in a whole 2 hrs. It was that good. It made me think alot about life and how one kid can see so much.

    26 out of 33 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2011

    Touched my Spirit

    This book is a must for any person, Christian or not. You will come out of this book knowing "Heaven IS for real". I have been going along lately with a feeling that my prayers hit the ceiling and was not going anywhere and doubting my faith.....this book changed my life as it touched my spirit. This is a must read for every man, woman and child.

    16 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2012

    Hi

    A must-have! Amazing!

    15 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 26, 2011

    Excellent Book For Kids

    I just finished reading "Heaven is for Real for Kids, A Little Boy's Astounding Story of His Trip to Heaven and Back" and I thought this was a great book for Kids. I read this book to my daughter and she was amazed at everything thing that was talked about with Colton's time he spent in Heaven. She loved how the pictures conveyed the message he was talking about from meeting Jesus, God, Angels, lost loved ones and even animals. I enjoyed reading this book to her because of the message of the book. I also liked the fact that each section had a Bible verse that my daughter could learn as we was reading, and they backed up what Colton was talking about. Overall I really enjoyed this book and my daughter did as well. John 14:2-3 2In my Father's house are many rooms. If it were not so, would I have told you that I go to prepare a place for you? 3And if I go and prepare a place for you, I will come again and will take you to myself, that where I am you may be also. Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255 : "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."

    11 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 19, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Adorable and Comforting

    Summary: You've probably heard of the full nonfiction book that has been a bestseller. This is the illustrated children's book version of that. "Heaven is for Real for Kids" tells the story of a young boy named Colton who was sick in the hospital when he almost died and got to go to Heaven. The book includes Scriptures on every page that correspond with the story. At the end, a Q&A is provided on what Colton is like today, if there's more to his story, if other people have similar stories, how we will know each other in heaven, and if you can fly in Heaven.

    Review: Sometimes the simplified version of a story is all it takes to make you think. This children's book version of the bestseller does that, and it is bound to benefit the youngest to the oldest reader. The Bible constantly reminds Christians of the promise of the resurrection and of Heaven for those who follow Christ. For those doubters out there, or those who just need a reminder (we all doubt at some time), this simple child's true story will give comfort and peace. It might even elicit an "awww" out of those who like cute children and cute stories. The book also serves as a great introduction to Heaven for kids. It will serve as a discussion starter, and I'm sure the beautiful illustrations will make the reader happy, as well.

    11 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2012

    Exquizet truly amazing

    These past few months have been rough on me so then one day i went to school and my friend reccomended it to my whole class she is actually behind in this book which surprised me that when she was at chapter 5 i was at chapter 17 but i cried because it was so full of joy so i cried all night because it was so good it is truly a must must have and i asked my mom and she said it is a true story which i think is so cool i forgot about all my hard times when i started reading this book i think everyone even if you are not christian should read it because it is such a great book

    9 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 4, 2012

    While I find it a tad problematic to accept the literal message

    While I find it a tad problematic to accept the literal message of this book – descriptions of Jesus, the animals, the games and the like - the spiritual message, that Heaven is for real, is of immense value. Heaven is for Real for Kids is the children’s edition of the original book, Heaven is for Real. This story documents a little boy’s experience of Heaven. Close to death after a medical emergency, Colton Burpo miraculously pulled through and, after his remarkable recovery, gradually disclosed an amazing account of a near-death experience where he encountered Jesus in Heaven. While it would be easy to dismiss this story as mere fantasy, the figment of a child’s imagination, or the product of his parents’ promptings, it is much more helpful to take it at face value and read it with an open mind. Don’t be distracted by details but allow yourself to be comforted and reassured by the truth of the message – Heaven is indeed for real!
    This edition has been beautifully illustrated by Wilson Ong, albeit with pictorial portrayals remarkably reminiscent of some vintage Ellen G. White Bible story books. Nevertheless, the pictures certainly do transform it into an attractive little book to share with children of all ages.
    This is a book that should generate much beneficial discussion about very important issues that children (and perhaps their parents) might not otherwise know how to broach. Illness, death and life after death are not easy topics to tackle. Here is the perfect opportunity to allow children to start to talk about those serious, scary – and sacred – subjects.
    I recommend this book for family reading. Don’t just give it to your child and walk away. Allow the young reader to express any concerns or reactions that they have to the story. There is a brief question and answer section at the end of the book that may address some of the issues that children raise, but I understand that an associated “Conversation Kit” has also been published, I assume for use with the “adult version” of the book. Undoubtedly, this would be a very useful tool to facilitate the dialogue.
    Whether or not the little ones take on the complex message of Heaven and life after death, there is one message that I pray that they will not miss, and that is that “Jesus really, really loves children!”.
    A little book direct from the heart and experience of a little person! To be sure, “a little child will lead them”! (Isaiah 11:6).
    Well done, Colton! You are God’s miracle and God’s messenger!
    Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

    8 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2012

    Please reply...

    What is the differance betwean Heaven is for real kids and normal?

    7 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2013

    July 10 2013

    I dont care what anyone says this book is amazing. When I read it I was in total shock. I thought I iwas going to cry. So if this helps you decide press yes or no. THANKS!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2012

    Kayla holbrook

    Im tierd of that anonmous person who keeps dening GOD whos with me.GOD is real

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2014

    A book that brings peace to the soul.

    Two years ago my daughter died from Lukemia. She left behind a husband and a 22 month old child. Since my family are believers, we wanted to teach our grandchild about where we believe his mother has gone, and this book is the thing to do just that. My grandson is now 4 like Colton was at the time of the events in the book. He ( my grandson) relates to Colton and he speaks of his mommy in Heaven and how one day he will see her. The pictures in the book are as beautiful as the story. This book has brought a lot of comfort to my family!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2014

    A great book for young children

    I purchased this book for my grand children and great-grandchildren for Easter. This is a very nice book to get children started with a little religion.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2014

    This book is awesome. I couldn't put it down. I have referred i

    This book is awesome. I couldn't put it down. I have referred it to many of my friends and we now have it in our church book store. Everyone that has read it is blown away by this little boys' memories of heaven. It's definitely a must read..

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 20, 2011

    A must read for all ages not just kids!

    As an adult I have read "Heaven is for Real" and thought it was amazing, so I jumped at the chance to read the kid version to my 4 year old. This is the story of Colton who while undergoing surgery travels to Heaven and meets all kind of people including Jesus, God, the Holy Spirit and many others. Colton tells his children readers what he saw and what he felt. The pictures that accompanied those descriptions were amazing and really helped to tell the story.


    I think this book was very well thought out it can be read to a smaller child, and to an older child as well. To bridge this gap there are Bible verses to accompany the story, which reinforce what Colton is telling the reader. In fact, I thought of taking it to some individuals I know who are reaching the end of their life, because I think everyone could benefit from this refreshing story!


    The end of the book also had some question and answers, which I thought would be very helpful. I read this book to my son just before bed, but I can imagine that when he gets up in the morning he will have some questions, I think these couple of pages could be a really great asset for any parent. I would recommend this book to all people, not just children, but it is a great way to teach our children about heaven and about our Lord. Awesome book!

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2011

    Very good Book

    I just recently read the adult version of Heaven is for Real, I was very excited to see that they have also written a children's book, Heaven is for Real for kids. This story was told by Colton Burpo to his parents Todd and Sonja Burpo after he was very sick in the hospital and he made a trip to heaven and back.

    In telling his story Colton relays to children how much Jesus loves them and let them know what Heaven was like. Colton describes simply what he saw in Heaven and each page has a Bible Verse that coincides with what he is describing.

    The illustrations (by Wilson Ong) of heaven, angels, and animals really make this story come to life.
    BookSneeze® provided me with a complimentary copy of this book but all opinions are my own.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 24, 2011

    Sweet Reassurance!

    Heaven is for Real for kids is a children's book telling the story of Colton Burpo. When Colton was 3 years old he had to have emergency surgery and during the surgery he took a trip to heaven. I know it's hard to believe as this is certainly not an every day occurrence! God wants us to have the faith of a child, does he not? In his story, Colton tells of meeting Jesus, playing with the animals (yes, he says there are animals in heaven! And they all get along!), how beautiful heaven is, and all about the multitudes of angels. He also tells about meeting his big sister and his great grandfather that he never even knew he had. (They do not mention this part in the book, but his big sister and great grandfather had passed away before he was born.) The book is lovely and conforting for children. It shows how heaven is a wonderful place where no one ever gets sick or old. Everyone is happy and glad to be there. I think this is perfect for any age as we all want to be reassured that heaven is real and not frightening. There are also questions at the end of the book for further discussion with your child.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 23, 2011

    Nice Young Children's Book.

    I have read the adult version of Heaven is For Real and liked it. I then received the kids version from Booksneeze in return for a review. The book is a very condensed version of the nonfiction version. It is written in very simple terms that kids can understand. It also contains a series of questions that children may ask about the book and Colton Burpo.

    Overall I thought that the book was really good. I is a book that should be read to younger kids. An older kid would think that it is too elementary. I would like to see a version for kids 7-12 to see how Heaven would be address. The illustrations were really well done. It has lots of children (most with wings) and vivid colors. It does use a large amount of the color yellow. The illustrations and story would be loved by children younger than 5. I will be passing this one along to another child. Nicely done.

    Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255 "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 12, 2011

    Highly Recommended

    I read Heaven is for Real for kids as told by Colton Burpo to his parents, Todd & Sonja Burpo. I received the book from booksneeze. I really enjoyed reading the book. It is such a great and inspirational message for kids and adults. The fact that his story matches bible references is so reassuring and gives hope. It is very easy for kids to understand and get excited about God, Jesus and the Holy Spirit. The pictures throughout the book are great to draw kids into the book and are a great way to help tell the story. Colton has had an amazing experience that I am sure most of us hope to experience for ourselves one day. I really enjoyed the questions in the back so you can learn a little more about Colton Burpo and his experience in heaven. The prayer at the end is a great prayer for kids. Reading the book I learned new things that I never knew and also made me think about my life. I would recommend this book to both kids and adults. This would be a great bed time story for younger children. I am definitely going to be rereading this book over and over again.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 12, 2011

    Best book!!!!!!!!!

    It really changed my life!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 61 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4