BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Heaven's Keep (Cork O'Connor Series #9)

Average Rating 4
( 59 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(37)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

the most endearing series

i read the first book on a whim during a summer vacation. I immediately went out and bought the rest. i am hooked! when i read the last installment in this oh so exciting series, i had been captivated for days reading all that william kent krueger had to offer. i can't...
i read the first book on a whim during a summer vacation. I immediately went out and bought the rest. i am hooked! when i read the last installment in this oh so exciting series, i had been captivated for days reading all that william kent krueger had to offer. i can't wait for the next book. He holds your interest and keeps you on the edge of your seat. thanks! i look so forward to the next book.

posted by charryrrt2 on October 27, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Nearly incoherent, nowhere near realistic, a waste of money.

I am a fan of William Kent Krueger and have enjoyed his fiction, for the most part. So I was more than happy to see and purchase his latest work. What a disappoinment! The novel wobbles and veers about with little or no rational or structure. The events are barely b...
I am a fan of William Kent Krueger and have enjoyed his fiction, for the most part. So I was more than happy to see and purchase his latest work. What a disappoinment! The novel wobbles and veers about with little or no rational or structure. The events are barely believable and wholly unrealistic. If you're not a fan, avoid the book. If you are a fan, wait for it to come out in paperback, if you must buy it.
Let's hope his next novel is better.

posted by edofarrell on September 3, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 59 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted October 27, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    the most endearing series

    i read the first book on a whim during a summer vacation. I immediately went out and bought the rest. i am hooked! when i read the last installment in this oh so exciting series, i had been captivated for days reading all that william kent krueger had to offer. i can't wait for the next book. He holds your interest and keeps you on the edge of your seat. thanks! i look so forward to the next book.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Men and Women will enjoy!

    This series of eleven books is great. Can't put it down as always need to find out what is going to happen next with Cork and his family. One of the best mysteries I've read. Compare it with CJ Box, Joe Pickett series.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 21, 2009

    Great Book

    Best book so far. Great plot, good suspense. Hard to put down. I think it would be helpful to know the characters, but would still be a good book. The book did have me wondering til the end what would happen. Krueger has a great series going.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2009

    His Best Book Yet!

    I have been checking my calendar for the release date of William Kent Krueger's next novel, Heaven's Keep. This latest book is also his best in my opinion. He has always had true to life characters that capture the heart, but this is a wonderful story with a believable plot and interesting twists. I had a hard time putting it down. I have read all of this series and truly love Cork O'Connor, despite all his flaws. It's probably what makes this series so good & the characters so believable. Krueger makes his characters very human and is very good at developing them. I would highly recommend this book, but it would mean a lot more if the others in the series are read first (although not a requirement for enjoyment). Now I can't wait for the next one!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 3, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Nearly incoherent, nowhere near realistic, a waste of money.

    I am a fan of William Kent Krueger and have enjoyed his fiction, for the most part. So I was more than happy to see and purchase his latest work. What a disappoinment! The novel wobbles and veers about with little or no rational or structure. The events are barely believable and wholly unrealistic. If you're not a fan, avoid the book. If you are a fan, wait for it to come out in paperback, if you must buy it.
    Let's hope his next novel is better.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 22, 2011

    highly recommended

    this book made me very sad, but nonetheless I loved it!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 30, 2009

    Heaven's Keep

    While I did enjoy this book I would have to say it was not up to what I have come to expect from Krueger. It is as descriptive as ever, what I consider one of his skills, but was to much into the emotions of the event. Glad I read it but not one I will likely read again.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2009

    Krueger has done it again.

    I've read all the O'Connor books and this one left me wondering where he can go in the future. It's well written and the characters developed very well. Cork O'Connor is a complex person and a good part of his life as we know it has been intertwined with Jo, his wife. Thus when Jo goes missing on a private charter plane, we feel his loss and sense of urgency in looking for her. The setting in Wyoming is out of his comfort zone but he does a great job with drawing you into the majesty of the land. Very unexpected plot twists keep you interested and very surprised. I would recommend this to a new reader of Krueger!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 29, 2009

    Pleasant Surprise

    This book was recommended by a friend. I had no idea what to expect but I was very impressed by this author, not having read anything of his before this. Being from Wyoming made the storyline even better. It keeps you on the edge of your seat until the very end. Try it - you might like it. I absolutely love the cover on the book. Shows off the beauty of Wyoming.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 27, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Wow, what a ride!

    Not only is Heaven's Keep a thriller, it is also a slice of family life. Great characters, great storyline. Nice twists and turns. I have read several of Krueger's books and I think this is one of the best yet. This is one book you will enjoy again and again.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 24, 2009

    A Complex Thriller rooted in family relationships

    This is a dense, emotionally packed novel that fully illuminates the author's talent and command of his material. Krueger frequently remarks that he writes about family relationships and about Northern Minnesota. In Heaven's Keep readers get both in spades. But there's more.

    Here, Cork O'Conner is forced to go out of his comfort zone, the mythical Aurora, Minnesota and journey to Wyoming, to a forbidding and lonely part of the state at the edge of the Rocky Mountains during a stormy time of year. The catalyst is that Cork's wife Jo, an attorney, is flying by private charter to Seattle for a conference of Native American leaders. The plane disappears and the early part of the novel deals with the agony and frustration of not knowing the fate of the passengers. Krueger's intelligent and intriguing twist on the plot is that Cork and Jo parted on testy terms at the Aurora airport. They were arguing about O'Connor's future, and the future of Sam's Place, Cork's burger shack on the shores of Iron Lake.

    Thus, O'Connor's grief over Jo's loss is compounded and when, much later new and unsettling information about the pilot of the plane surfaces, the O'Connor family is thrown into new emotional turmoil. Throughout this book, Krueger's control of the plot, the character changes, and the family relationships, is sure handed and, for the most part will be satisfying to the reader. This is a novel that deserves a wide readership. It is one that is satisfying in all its elements, and will stay with readers well after the final page.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2009

    William Ken Krueger Does it Again with "Heaven's Keep"

    "Heaven's Keep" is a page-a-minute, heart-rending thriller with characters who have grown with each book of the series. Being from a "flying family" I was particularly appreciative of Mr. Krueger's well-researched and authentic prose. Anyone who buys this book is in for more than a thrill. One word of warning: keep a handkerchief handy.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 19, 2014

    i have read some of the reviews with negative comments about Hea

    i have read some of the reviews with negative comments about Heaven's Keep, but I thoroughly enjoyed it. I have read the series in order (through this book) and will continue. I found this one completely engaging and did not see all the turns coming. Krueger did an excellent job of weaving the storylines together on this one -- better than in earlier books, I thought. In my opinion, the writing continues to improve as the series progresses.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2014

    Heather&co

    Forest

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 23, 2014

    An excellent story that takes the Cork O'Connor out of the Northwest Territory.

    The story begins with an airplane accident in Wyoming and its aftermath of intrigue. First you know that Jo O'Connor is in trouble and apparently has regrets over a pre-trip argument. You also have an argument over the fate of Sam's Place and the Iron Lake shoreline, which is an issue for many parts of the country. The story continues to add suspense with many characters helping the plot and finally betrayers and criminals being identified brought to justice in at times brutal-ways.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2014

    Highly recommend

    I have enjoyed the boooks that I have read in this serious.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2014

    I have just finished reading Heaven's Keep.   This is the first

    I have just finished reading Heaven's Keep.  
    This is the first - and very likely - last book by this author that I will read for fear the
    rest of his books are as lacking in true mystery as I prefer.  There was far too much
    that seemed absurd in some ways - Parmer just didn't seem all that real to me -
    And the vision bit might be of interest to some, but it actually made the story, for me,
    seem just a bit too much overall.  Frankly, the ending was, IMO, just a bit overdone,
    but will not explain further because it would be a "spoiler" and some reader may be
    put off by knowing it.

    I will be more careful in the future about spending this much money on a writer I
    am not at all familiar with.   

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 30, 2013

    Must read this book.

    I love this book and all in the series. Being from Minnesota and in the northern area, I loved it, the story I could visualize the whole story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2013

    Terific

    Love this series

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2012

    Best book

    One of the best books i have read in a long long time

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 59 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3