BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Heavens Proclaim His Glory: A Spectacular View of Creation Through the Lens of the NASA Hubble Telescope

Average Rating 4.5
( 17 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(14)

4 Star

(1)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 14 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted August 31, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Visually Stunning Book.

    The Heavens Proclaim His Glory: A Spectacular View Of Creation Through The Lens Of The Hubble Telescope
    created and compiled by Lisa Stilwell

    Thomas Nelson Publishing

    Our world displays the handiwork of God -- in the land and sea, the animals and plants. But in the sky, the heavens, the universe . . . there's a realm of beauty and creation only recently witnessed by man, thanks to the amazing feats of the Hubble Telescope. The Heavens Proclaim His Glory opens the curtain to a stage of unspeakable beauty -- a stage where only God Himself can receive all the credit. It's a display that will leave you speechless and ever-so-mindful of just how small we are in the vast scheme of His power and might.

    I didn't quite know what to expect with this book. I heard that it had images from the Hubble Space Telescope mixed in with powems, quotes and other text from people, along with scripture. What I received was nothing short of a book filled with awe-inspiring images and inspirational messages. The truly beautiful thing about this book is that it's a double whammy: the images are much more inspirational than the text. Mix those images with scripture, and you hardly need poetry.

    This book has given me a new appreciation for the wonders of space and God's handiwork, and will remain as one of my favorites for a very long time. The collection of quotes from Frank Peretti, Max Lucado, Kirk Cameron, Third Day, Abraham Lincoln, Stormie Omartain, and Franklin Graham (among others) are perfectly paired with scripture and serve as a reminder of His power and might. I highly recommend this book.


    Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Thomas Nelson Publishers as part of their BookSneeze.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 30, 2010

    the heavens Proclaim His Glory by Thomas Nelson Publishing

    WOW !!! What a wonderful book this is!!!

    I love this book. Everyone should own a copy. It is the perfect gift for anyone in the hospital or down in the dumps or in need of insiration or just for the pleasure on a rainy day.
    It is packed with inspiring quotes and facts and data on space and the amazing universes God has created. The photos are simply breath taking. This book is in my favorite top 5 of all times. You cannot look at the stars in this way through this book and ever doubt the infinate love and power of God.
    This is a must have book. Any excuse is a good one; birthdays, weddings, anniversaries, graduations: i cannot put inot words how inspirational this book is to me. It is put out by Thomas Nelson Publishing and created and compiled by Lisa Stilwell. With the photo of Saturn Aurora, is a quote taken from Max Lucado from his work, Hope Pure & Simple, "By showing us the heavens, Jesus is showing us his fathers workshop..."
    Every photo gives you a reason to feel loved and the beauty is simply undescribeable.
    Couple this book with a Chris Tomlin cd, and you are set for a restful and joyful day!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 10, 2012

    Wonderful book!!

    Both of my boys are very interested in outer space/ the universe. I got this for our family for Christmas. It is a beautiful book with wonderful photos from the Hubble telescope. It has a lot of cool facts about space. Love the fact that Scripture is included in the book along with quotes and thoughts from well-known Christians. All of us have enjoyed looking at and reading this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 6, 2010

    The Heavens - finally in view!

    Book Review - The Heavens Proclaim His Glory!
    "I can see how it might be possible for a man to look down upon the earth and be an atheist, but I cannot conceive how he could look up into the heavens and say there is no God." Abraham Lincoln

    I feel EXACTLY the same way! Having a child produces the same thoughts-how can anyone NOT believe in a Creator!

    Our world displays the handiwork of God all around us-in the land and sea, the animals and the plants. But in respect to the sky, the heavens, the universe.there's a realm of beauty and creation man has not been able to witness, until now. The Heavens Proclaim His Glory is a compilation of stunning photography taken by NASA's Hubble® Telescope capturing striking images of stars, galaxies, cosmic events, planets, and more. Vivid up-close photographs are paired with a romantic Psalm or quote, as well as a short description of the image. The Heavens will open up a whole new world of worship and praise for our God.

    There were MANY reasons I chose this book to review. First, my love for God's creation. Second, my love for the sky! I remember, as a child, looking into the starry night, gazing at the moon, wondering what else was there! It is beyond comprehension that the beauty portrayed in this book has been there since the beginning of time; we were simply unable to reach/view it. Thank God for the invention of the Hubble telescope-and the creation of this book! I sit for hours looking at the photos and reading the Scripture references and educational information. It is truly an amazing book!

    In August of this year, I had the pleasure of attending the Science Expo in Washington DC. I was drawn to the "Hubble tent", where several of the extremely intelligent scientists were standing by to educate children and adults on NASA's projects. I asked one of the scientists about the upcoming telescope, The James C Webb Space telescope; inquiring about the information it will be able to provide that the Hubble can not. I was told they hope, in about 4 and a half years, to be able to report photographs of THE BIG BANG! I announced that I was a Christian and wasn't certain if there WAS a big bang; but assured him if there was, I knew who CAUSED the bang! Praise God! I can't wait to see the photos from the many journeys to come!

    This book was published by Thomas Nelson Publishers and provided by them for review purposes.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 15, 2010

    Beautiful and Worship-inspiring

    The Heavens Proclaim His Glory, created and compiled by Lisa Stillwell, is a fantastic composite of full-color images of the universe taken by the Hubble telescope together with well-picked quotes from Scripture (NKJV) and well-known Christian men and women. Almost every page or spread is tasked with the immense job of containing an awe-inspiring picture of some astronomical feature. Short descriptions accompany the images attempting to put these indescribable scenes into tangible form. If the aim of this book is to point the reader/observer back to the awesome glory and majesty of the Creator, it succeeds in no small way. As Scripture itself says, the heavens declare His glory. Every image in this book is radiant, every description is inadequate in translating this, but every quote or Bible passage serves to clarify that these indescribable photos are the works of an unimaginable wonderful God. I cannot imagine anyone flipping through its pages and not being led to worship this God.
    Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze (DOT) com \ book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 12, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    A book everyone should read!

    My main motivation in reading this book was the pictures... I love to see pictures of the cosmos, especially those taken from the Hubble telescope. But this book was about more than just pictures. When I opened it and began reading it, I literally could not put it down. I actually read the entire book aloud to my husband and five-year-old son. And though it didn't capture and keep my son's attention every minute, there were points when his attention was grabbed and held for longer than I'd have ever expected for a non-children's genre. That speaks volumes for this book, I think.

    The pictures lend a fascinating view of this vast universe we occupy, but the wisdom shared throughout every page tells a far greater story. A story that puts into perspective just how significant the Creator of our world is, and just how small we really are in the grand scope of things. I, admittedly, didn't realize just how much larger-than-life the Master of our world really is. I never realized just how impossible it is to comprehend His greatness, His power, and His glory. This book clarifies exactly that, however. It tells us, from more than one person's perspective, just how great He really is. It points to piece after piece of proof positive; that the God of all creation does, in fact, exist; has existed eternally; and is the Source of all that is. The beauty of His creation reflects the unfathomable beauty and greatness that He is. As unspeakably vast as this universe is, He is infinitely larger.

    On a scale of one to five, I give this book a high-five: for its use of scientific (photographic) evidence along with scripture and personal passages to support the photographic evidence in a world where so many, including many in the scientific community, do not believe in the Almighty God or His creation of the universe. This book is a must-read for anyone, Christian or non.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 20, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Awesome Book

    The Heavens Proclaim His Glory will make the perfect coffee table book. With this book we get a glimpse of just have big our universe is. The pictures are very amazing. I am glad the Hubble Telescope was invented because we would not experience stars, planets and other objects billions and billions and billions of light years away without it. We have such a creative God that our minds cannot fathom. Along with the pictures are inspirational messages that add to the beauty of the pictures. This is a great book just to sit back enjoy the splendor of the Creator.

    Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 14, 2010

    The Heavens Proclaim His Glory: A Spectacular View of Creation Through the Lens of the NASA Hubble Telescope

    A Book Review

    I can see how it might be possible for a man to look down upon the earth and be an atheist, but I cannot conceive how he could look up into the heavens and say there is no God.
    Abraham Lincoln

    The Heavens Proclaim His Glory is a hard covered coffee table book that incorporates amazing pictures of space (from the NASA Hubble Telescope) with scripture and quotes from many well known people.

    The effect is incredible. There are passages in Psalms that should invoke a combination of a realization of the awe-ful God who created everything and subsequent amazing worship. Normally, our information filled heads don't take in just what is being said and we reduce the God of these passages down to a size we can manage. But this book, with its mind blowing pictures, forces us to come face to face with the enormity of our God. It makes us feel small but then we slowly remember that this God, who created these gigantic nebula and galaxies also created us and that he loves us so outrageously that he would send his son to die for us!

    Truly a book I would spend money on to have on my coffee table.

    If I was to nit-pick I'd point out that the book could do with being a bit bigger to be a real coffee table book and that some of the pictures could do with taking up more real estate on the pages. But that might infer I don't recommend this book. but I do, with all my heart.

    Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255 "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 11, 2010

    Beautiful Book!

    This is a beautiful, wonderful book that can be kept in your own library, used as a coffee table book, or given as a special gift. It is full of fantastic images taken from NASA's Hubble Space Telescope, and credit is given to God through quotes by Christian writers or using scripture.

    I think this book would be intriguing to any age group, especially with the colorful and inspiring images. To think that these pictures, if you can even call them that, were taken in the Milky Way, which 100,000 light years across. That is 600,000,000,000,000,000 miles! Unbelievable... A definite plus to the library.

    Disclosure statement: I received this book free from Thomas Nelson Publishers as part of their BookSneeze.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 10, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Breathtaking!

    "If God has the power to create and sustain the universe, how can you or I think His power is insufficient for our daily lives?" Anne Graham Lotz "The Heavens Proclaim His Glory" is majestic in picture, Scripture, and quotation. The photographs taken by the Hubble Telescope are breathtaking and wondrous, and the facts associated with each help you understand what you are seeing. God's mighty hand is truly evident in the heavens! Children and adults alike will enjoy learning more about this pristine world of space while reading this book. This is definitely an encouragement to get out a telescope and a Bible, sit in the backyard, look at the heavens, and enjoy. I was blown away by the pictures in this book. It is something I have shared with everyone who has come in our door, and the book has a prominent place on our coffee table. This isn't really a book to be picked up and read straight through, but rather one that you can savor time and time again. I want to thank the Book Sneeze program for the opportunity to read and review this wonderful book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 10, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    The Heavens Proclaim His Glory

    This book is phenomenal beyond belief. As an avid astronomy geek, I loved the photos. I have previously bought books on space-time, nebulae, supernovae, and the like. However, in my experience, even the most scientific books I have don't measure up to this one in terms of the majesty of the photos. The quality is superb, and the Bible verses alongside them are very well matched. Quotes from famous Christian writers are included, too. Even a governor puts in his two cents. I have nothing but good words to say about this book and think everyone should have it. Sure, it doesn't go into astrophysics, but it will give readers a new sense of wonder when they think of God. Not included in the book but worth looking up is the cross-like gaseous formation inside a famous nebulae...

    http://brb.thomasnelson.com/reviews/blogger/2503

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 8, 2010

    The Heavens Proclaim His Glory

    'The Heavens Proclaim His Glory' compiled by Lisa Stilwell is not just a book, it is a revelation of cosmic proportions. Every photo is accompanied by facts and quotes from the scriptures to portray God's magnificent creations. The pictures have been taken by the famous Hubble telescope which orbits the Earth and they are breathtaking to say the least. We may have seen some of these snaps earlier but what this book does is that it makes us think about the Creator who can make such visions possible. It is true that science in the form of the Hubble telescope is bringing these photos to us but it can do so only because 'He' created such beauty.
    The Heavens Proclaim His Glory is a lot more than just a coffee table book. It is a priceless treasure worth collecting. It goes a long way in justifying the saying that a picture speaks a thousand words.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 2, 2010

    Fabulous and Fascinating Book!

    Wow ~ what an amazing book this is!! The Heavens Proclaim His Glory is truly a fabulous and downright fascinating book. The photographs throughout the book are taken from the lens of the hubble telescope ~ the photography, colors, and scenes are spectacular.

    This book focuses on a realm of God's beauty we just don't see every day. The scriptures throughout the book focus on God's creation of the universe, and you'll even find interesting facts about space and the planets incorporated into each section.

    I highly recommend this beautiful hardback book ~ not only is it wonderful to read through, it will also be a treasured keepsake!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 1, 2010

    Breathtaking

    The Heavens Proclaim His Glory was, by far, one of the most amazing books I've read. This book is a collection of images captured by the Hubble Telescope. The images are paired with quotes and meditations from authors, scientists, theologians, and laypeople. It has been said that nature declares the wonders of God, exalting Him, proclaiming His excellencies. Gazing into the amazing beauty captured in this book is a reminder to me of the wonders of the Creator of all. While reading through this book, I found myself thinking about how the vast expanse of space contains such immense created beauty, and then I found myself thinking about the fact that God created it by merely declaring it. It was by His voice alone that He set the heavens - and all of creation on Earth - in place. And then I was reminded that He has turned His affections, out of all of the heavenly bodies, to humans on a seemingly insignificant planet. I will be looking through this book again. I found great comfort in knowing that the God who created all controls all and is in all. There is nothing that come before me that is outside of His control. Get this book. Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Thomas Nelson Publishers as part of their BookSneeze.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255 : "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 14 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1