Customer Reviews for

Heaven's Wager (Martyr's Song Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 28 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(21)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 28 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted May 22, 2011

    Very Good Read.

    With this book, I believe that Ted Dekker is trying to display to the readers two important aspects. First and foremost, he displays the truth of God and His existence. There are many occasions when Dekker uses visions and miracles in his books to display God's existence, he does so in this novel as well. He also shows readers the importance of being a prayer warrior for neighbors and friends in need. Helen Jovic is an amazing example of this in Heaven's Wager. For those aspects alone, I believe that any reader, Christian or non-Christian, ought to read this book. It is an excellent example of God's love for each of His children. I give this novel a four out of five, only because Dekker does not go into as much detail as he does in some of his other novels. The ending is fantastic to this book, which is why I give it a four.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2001

    Best Christian Novel in Years!!

    Heaven's wager is the story of a man whose life is thrown into chaos by a series of bad events. In Heaven, a 'wager' is made about the man's destiny. Will he turn to evil as Satan believes he will, or can God find a way to make something good of the man's life? By the end of the story all the spirit realm is viewing the events of this one man's life. Heaven's Wager is a brilliant book-- a true masterpiece of Christian fiction. It will go down with the works of C.S. Lewis and Frank Peretti. Frank Peretti, by the way, endorses 'Heaven's Wager' on the front and back cover. If the author of 'This Present Darkness' and the master of Christian fiction in our time, endorses the book, you know it's got to be good. I HIGHLY recommend Heaven's Wager. The suspense will nearly kill you, but you will enjoy the book!!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2001

    Yes!

    This book was one of my favorite reads ever. What happens in this book could happen to absolutely anyone. The characters and plot are very believable. It shows you that God works in ways that may not be expected by us.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 2, 2011

    Ted did it again! Excellent!

    I highly recommend! A great picture of the heavenly battle that goes on for our souls!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 24, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    An Unbelievable Redemption Story

    This life-changing story dives deep into the invisible realm of spiritual warfare and the battle for our souls. Dekker does a fantastic job, especially in this novel of heartbreak, pulling the reader into the main character and feeling his emotions. This is a redemption story about a man rebelling against God, who has suffered unendurable loss, as well as a page-turning crime novel. Heaven's Wager is a perfect blend of passion and suspense. You will "find yourself pondering it for months to come," from the back of the book, is no exaggeration. A truly remarkable book. Anyone who has read This Present Darkness and Piercing the Darkness will absolutely love this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 26, 2009

    This Book Changed My Life!

    Heaven's Wager
    After reading this book I thought for hours about the main character's morals. Heavens Wager is a great book which is an amazing work of art. Ted Dekker is a master of writing, interweaving morals and Christianity together to make a majestic work of literature. I strongly suggest this book to read.
    Heaven's Wager is a story about a man named Kent Anthony. He has a nice life with his wife and son. The only difference in his life and any other businessman is his mother in law. She thinks she can talk to God. And all of that is all about to change. It is the most unexpected change of his life.
    Kent, a computer programmer, has made a computer program called "Rooster" that protects against viruses. It is a breakthrough in technology and it is all his.so he thinks. He hopes no one finds out. After his boss hints that he found out, he goes home and hopes for the best. Little does he know, his wife is ill.
    The next day he goes to work worried, and he feels bad already. His boss doesn't say anything, so he goes on with his work. After half a day he gets a phone call from the hospital. His wife is in the intensive care unit.
    He is devastated. He goes into denial when she dies, and he goes to work. At work he finds out his boss took the fame and fortune of his program. A few days later, his 10 year old son is killed in a wreck. He thinks it is time to run from his problems.
    I loved this book, so I can't give the ending away, but he does some bad things and God forgives him. As you see, I am shying from the details, so you can read this masterpiece of literature for yourself. I may be biased because I like Ted Dekker, but that means nothing. I think everyone should read this book. It inspired me and hopefully it will inspire all who read it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2005

    Terrific

    I was floored by this book. I cried several times while reading it. It was fascinating how Dekker wrote about Heaven and God's interaction with Helen. It shows the power of God and His love to overwhelm darkness. If you read no other Christian fiction book, please read this. It will leave an impression on you, I'm sure.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2005

    A story and a message

    Once again Ted Dekker has won me over and impressed me beyond words with his writing. I started reading Ted Dekker with his circle trilogy and enjoyed it so much I started reading his earlier works, such as Heaven's Wager. From the beginning I was hooked. The story was fast paced, full of surprises and orginial. Not only that, but at the end of the book I found myself weeping. A man who 'has it all' but loses everything fights for a personal justice. In the end He is broken and realizes that what He really never had was an understanding of God's overwhelming love. It is at this point of no return, that He finds true redemption. Amazing! Read it but buy two. Give one to a friend!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2002

    My New Favorite Author

    Ted Dekker has an insight into Heaven that is far beyond anything I have ever read. This story shows the true mercy and love of a Heavenly Father that cares about his creation more than they could ever imagine. Because of his wonderful way of telling a story and his obvious relationship with God, Ted Dekker has become my new favorite author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2001

    A Truly Great Writer

    Ted Dekker is a master writer. His characters are realistic, and he has an amazing way with words, which, sadly, most writers do not possess. I can't wait to read his other books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2001

    Fabulous read

    This book follows in the tradition of Francine River's Redeeming Love (the book of Hosea in the Bible in 'ficticious' novel form) but this covers the book of Job. It proves the adage 'be careful what you wish for-you just might get it'. Kent gets what he always wished for but what he has to go through to get it and how he responds to having it make for a book that you can't put down. The other message, never under estimate the power of prayer - as Helen will prove.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2001

    Clever Premise, Spiritual Wallop

    What if you could have everything you wanted? Would you be happy? By figuring out a way to electronically bilk ATM machines, the protagonist makes himself an overnight multi-millionaire. Then he fakes his death, disappears to an island paradise . . . and is bored out of his tree. Will he languish in moral, emotional, and physical lassitude, or will the intercessions of Helen, the all-time champion prayer-walker, prevail? A cautionary tale of the first water, HEAVEN'S WAGER is a stunning debut from the most promising Christian novelist to come along since Frank Peretti. This is a MUST read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2001

    'Heaven's Wager' is a sure BET!!

    This book is captivating from the very first page. The characters is the book seem so real they could be your next door neighbor. The author draws you into the story so you are feeling the things the characters are feeling. The gospel story is presented in an easy to understand format without being preachy. I would highly recommend this book to every reader!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 28 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2