BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Heavy Metal And You

Average Rating 4.5
( 31 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(22)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2014

    This book is one of my favorite books of all time. I adore this

    This book is one of my favorite books of all time. I adore this book and have read it 3 times already because it is so easy to relate too and is essentially the story of my life, except I'm the preppy girl. Though I'm not exactly like Melissa, I asked my boyfriend to read it and he was amazed at how similar it was to our story and undoubtedly for many others. The book is realistic, honest, easy to understand and you'll be more than willingly to go along with Krovatin's clever writing and how easy it is to become attached to Sam. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 17, 2013

    i absoltely love this book and have nothing negative to say. i f

    i absoltely love this book and have nothing negative to say. i first read this at 15 feel in love with the story. now in my 20's i still read it at least once a year. this book is funny, sad, and full of truth. everyone and there mother needs to read this 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    A good book for a person whos ever been in love

    I fell in love with this guys writing years ago when i read Venamous and have been in an epic search to find this book ever since. I finnally found it and it deffinatly wasnt a dissapointment.I've read alot of books, from love stories to vampires to demons; and ive got to say, this is one of my favorites. Its just a story about a guy who falls in love with a girl thats not in his circle of friends. Its short, sweet, and filled with so many metal refrences it'l make your head spin. Point is, the writing style is easy to follow, the plot and structure is amazing, and all through the book, i felt like i really knew the characters and was able to relate to them. One of my friends also read the book and we make refrences to it all the time. This is a good book; its not totally popular but it deserves to be read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 14, 2009

    Must read!

    It's a must read if your young && rebelious!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 8, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    A M A Z I N G!!!!

    This book was freakin amazing! I was sucked into it the second I picked it up. I listen to all the music Sam listened to. And I could identify with him. Great book. I recommend to anyone who loves metal and is looking for a quick fun book to read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2007

    Amazing story.

    Possibly one of the best books ever written, in my opinion. Realistic but captivating.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2007

    AMAZING!

    This is the story of a real teenage boy. Not your dime-a-dozen, Romeo-esque prince charming, but a REAL American teenager. He drinks and smokes (not that all teenagers drink or smoke), parties, and jokes around with friends. Then, he gets a girlfriend. Their relationship also isn't a perfect relationship. It's real. This is a great read, full of amazing blurbs and side-thoughts, perfectly integrated music and wryly humor, plus a few references to other books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2006

    A GREAT BOOK!!!!

    I loved this book, it involved metal music and love and the crap that comes with it. Definetly this book is worth reading. I didn'treally care for the ending all that much but i enjoyed reading it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2006

    sex, drugs, and heavy metal

    This book is without a doubt one of the most real books i've ever read. It deals with all the things that we as teens go through and adds something we all love: music. Even though heavy metal is not everyone's favourite, we can all identify with music and how it affects us. As for the language, sure, it does have coarse language, but the title is 'heavy metal and you'. When has heavy metal had clean language?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2006

    jordan

    I thought the book was great. I like these type of books, books about teens that have problems.who knows we might have the same problems later on in life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2006

    Best ever written that I've read

    This is the best book ever! It helped me understand some of my life as well as the boys in my school. I understand why certain boys do certain things, and now I have fallen head over heels in love with Heavy metal. Be for I knew nothing but the way he describes heavy metal, it made me look at that type of music in a new light.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2006

    This is an awsome book.

    Heavy Metal and you is an amazing book. You wouldent guess that you would like this book if you don't like heavy metal. But i do like heavy metal even if you don't you must read this book. It relates to what teens go through. And makes you think about your opinon of yourself. How you feel about yourself. And if you don't like yourself this book will inspire you to do something about it. Sam is an awsome main character and that Melisa dosn't deserve someon as awsome as him. Really this book is sweet.SO GO READ IT!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2006

    Just Incredible

    I love this book. I started yesterday night finished this morning. It was sooo REAL!which sometimes i dont read in books. I related to alot of it, which definatly interests me, i was a little dissapointed to find that Christopher Krovatin doesnt have any other books out : (

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2005

    KICKED MAJOR BUTT!

    i dont really like to read but when i started reading this book i couldnt stop reading it...i absolutly loved this book! i'd give it more than 5 stars if i could...it really captures how teenage love goes on and real life situtations

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2005

    Rockin' Good Time

    Teen angst at it's best. Krovatin really strikes a power chord with this book which details the beginning and end of a high school relationship. Most of the characters are extremely memorable and genuine. Even when the book seems to enter common territory, it flips you over and let's you know that it's not just any teen novel. The book makes references to drug use, alcohol, and sex so it may not be appropriate for young readers. However, this makes the book less didactic and preachy and more realistic.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2005

    this book rocked

    this book rocked..i am somewhat a metalhead but then again i like other music too..i like mostly metal..rock...punk..i love music..its practically my life..i was confused about myself and who i was...i realized i can be a big mix of everything.. and not have a title because i don't care what people think.. i dont need a label because i know who i am now..

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2005

    best book i`ve read since harry potter

    i love this book i have so many things in life that this book can relate to i recomend this book to everyone, this book is so comforting and amazingly funny in ways it wasn`t ment to be it makes you NOT wanna put the book DOWN, i give it 5 star heck possibly more

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2