Customer Reviews for

Heck : Where the Bad Kids Go (Circles of Heck Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 83 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(47)

4 Star

(12)

3 Star

(10)

2 Star

(8)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

15 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

H-E-Double Hockey Sticks for People Under 18 Great

Heck is one of the best and funniest books I have ever read! I loved all the great puns about the teachers and their classes, but some of them are hard to understand. I HIGHLY, HIGHLY, HIGHLY, recommend this book trilogy. Great read for anyone who liked The series of Un...
Heck is one of the best and funniest books I have ever read! I loved all the great puns about the teachers and their classes, but some of them are hard to understand. I HIGHLY, HIGHLY, HIGHLY, recommend this book trilogy. Great read for anyone who liked The series of Unfortunate Events! I loved these books and I am a 12 year old girl who reads ALOT!!!

posted by From-the-Qwill-Pen on January 16, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

It was good for the most part....

I liked it alot, but I felt like it repeated itself alot. The author didn't express the characters personalities as much as I had hoped. He did very well on the details about the scenery, but not very well in general. I love the story plot but i don't think I will be re...
I liked it alot, but I felt like it repeated itself alot. The author didn't express the characters personalities as much as I had hoped. He did very well on the details about the scenery, but not very well in general. I love the story plot but i don't think I will be reading the next book.

posted by hippiepeach99 on December 21, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 10 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted June 12, 2010

    It's cute

    Definatly different than other books I've read. Interesting how the author wrote a book about 2kids going to.well..not quite hell.
    I found it a bit long in the tooth, yet I like the concept itself. The charters and the spins and puns were very entertaning. I think it would stand well as a book to read a "troubeling" kid. Who knows might make them think twice...if you can get them to sit and listen.

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2012

    One of the best bookz eva

    In this story two kids get themselves in trouble by stealing. When they pased away, the went straight to heck, and they learn that they wont b realeased until they turn 18. Which could turn into eternity. Will their plans be good enough to escape or will they be stuck there FOREVER... read this awesome begining to this amazing story

    4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2008

    Clever and intelligent, but not for little kids

    This is an intelligent and culturally literate tour de force, a very well written novel by a writer who's obviously in love with his craft. That being said, the book is quite long for the 9-12 year old age group. Furthermore, the cultural references will be almost completely lost on this group-- Beelzebub, Richard Nixon, Lizzie Borden, for example. And references to one of the protagonist's acne and underdeveloped breast size? Those aren't primary concerns for third-to-fifth graders. It's marketed for the wrong age group, quite frankly. Middle-schoolers might love it.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 5, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Heck

    Basye, D.E. (2008). Heck: Where the Bad Kids Go. New York: Random House.

    9780375840753

    Heck follows the well-named Milton, his pet ferret and his goth sister, Marlo on their journey through the first level of Heck after their deaths in the first chapter. The book is humorous and Basye creates an interesting and detailed world in his first novel. The book's subject is entertaining and would be attractive to reluctant readers, especially kids who chuckle at or make fart jokes.

    Basye's version of Heck has some similarities to the movie Beetlejuice's version of the underworld in that bureaucracy is perceived as one of the great evils. (IMPORTANT NOTE: Basye implies bureaucracy is evil, not me. If I hadn't fallen in love with children's literature so early, I totally would have become a bureaucrat. You hear that bureaucracy? Please don't lose my social security number)

    Much of the book feels like an extensive inside joke, filled with references to the works of Donne, Dante, Milton etc. Fallowing Dante's example, Basye's version of Heck includes nine levels and real deceased people portrayed as the teachers in Heck's school. If the students do not have knowledge of Watergate or the killings of Lizzie Borden then a number of the jokes will escape them. But at the same time, many teachers would probably be unwilling to formally teach Heck, since it assumes life after death, the existence of souls, a Judeo-Christian worldview, and includes a lot of gross details and descriptions.

    While geared toward middle grade students, if I were to teach this book, it would be to high school student and only in I was conducting a parent-approved extensive examination of the portrayal of Hell in literature and other media first.

    Of course, Heck (like so many other books) is being turned into a series. All I have to say is that if I'm expected to read nine books to discover how Milton and Marlo find peace and/or escape Heck, I'll declare that I have discovered my own, personal, hated circle of Heck.

    Activities to do with the book:

    Discuss fun topics like the way Hell (or Heck) is portrayed by different authors and in different media. The book also lends itself to discuss the lives of some of the real people who are featured as teachers in Heck, including Lizzie Borden, Typhoid Mary, former president Richard Nixon, etc. This book could also be used to discuss the nature of death and loss.
    Students could also make illustrations or dioramas of what Heck looks like or they could create their own versions of Heck. Which behaviors cause a person to go to Heck? What are the punishments for those behaviors?

    Favorite Quotes:

    "ABANDON ALL HOPE, YE WHO ENTER HERE (AS WELL AS ALL CAMERAS AND ELECTRONIC RECORDING DEVICES)" (p. 14).

    "So I'm facing eternal.darnation.for a tube of kiwi-cantaloupe lip gloss?" (p. 25).

    "Just because you cease to be doesn't mean you cease to learn" (p. 77).

    "This was simply a case of mind over fecal matter" (p. 133).

    "It was joy with an edge. Happiness with a hunger to it, an appetite that ached, that could never be filled. It crackled all around him, making him itchy and agitated" (p. 168).

    For more of my reviews, visit sjkessel.blogspot.com

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 10 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1