Customer Reviews for

Heft: A Novel

Average Rating 4
( 66 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(31)

4 Star

(21)

3 Star

(9)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

15 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

Heartbreaking work of staggering genius

Liz Moore pulls you in and never lets you go. I found myself so wrapped up in the characters of Arthur Opp and Kel Keller, two people whose lives orbit each other, that they are still with me today. This novel is enormously affecting, and it takes a big heart to tell a ...
Liz Moore pulls you in and never lets you go. I found myself so wrapped up in the characters of Arthur Opp and Kel Keller, two people whose lives orbit each other, that they are still with me today. This novel is enormously affecting, and it takes a big heart to tell a story with this much empathy and passion. I recommend with absolute vigor.

posted by Alex_Gilvarry on January 20, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

WHERE IS THE ENDING??? I thought this book had a good story and

WHERE IS THE ENDING??? I thought this book had a good story and well-drawn characters, but I hated the complete lack of an ending!! The author didn't have to tell us everything about the rest of the characters' lives, but I would have liked to have had a little more &qu...
WHERE IS THE ENDING??? I thought this book had a good story and well-drawn characters, but I hated the complete lack of an ending!! The author didn't have to tell us everything about the rest of the characters' lives, but I would have liked to have had a little more "tieing up" of their stories. It seemed that the author wanted us to take the progress the characters were making in their lives and imagine the rest of the story ourselves, but I prefer more conclusion.

posted by hollylewis on April 9, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 66 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted January 20, 2012

    Heartbreaking work of staggering genius

    Liz Moore pulls you in and never lets you go. I found myself so wrapped up in the characters of Arthur Opp and Kel Keller, two people whose lives orbit each other, that they are still with me today. This novel is enormously affecting, and it takes a big heart to tell a story with this much empathy and passion. I recommend with absolute vigor.

    15 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 25, 2012

    A Grand Slam of a Second Novel

    A genuine page-turner that unabashedly pulls at your heartstrings - an experience I find myself rarely succumbing to lately. It's got both the sweet and the bitter of a hard life lived everyday, and it's endearing, and it's sad. I could not put it down. HEFT is just plain lovely, and Liz Moore is an author to get excited about.

    12 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2012

    Could not put Heft down - had me from start to finish

    You will cringe, you will laugh, you will cry and you will be thinking about Heft long after you've read the final paragraph.

    A must read.

    8 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2012

    stunning

    I just finished this book having read it over the past two days. I, too, want to know what what will come?
    How does Ms. Moore feel these things? I hope that she and her characters are safe.
    Extremely thoughtful, painfully real.

    7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2012

    Well done but...

    Needs one more chapter. I like at least a little resolution.

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 1, 2012

    Sequel please!

    If you like your novels all tied up with a little bow on top, no loose ends, this may not be the novel for you. If, however, you love a story that leaves you with a few "Hmmmms" at the end and keeps you thinking about it for hours afterwards, this is your story. Heft is the perfect choice for a reading group discussion as it's characters are lovable, yet exasperating; the storyline easy to follow yet full of questions. I'm hoping there's a sequel. Highly recommend!

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2012

    Thought provoking...

    This book is very well written and leaves one thinking about it long after finishing. The loneliness of the characters that are all connected is heart wrenching and the choices they made are very painful to read. Arthur talks about the oversoul and the lonely people.... and he feels comfortable because that is the only world that accepted him. I cried when I read this because there is an entire world of invisible and unbeautiful people that we don't see even when they live right next door....because we choose to not see. Easy to read and gives a lot to think about.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 1, 2012

    Loved this book

    this book has absolutely wonderful characters--the best book I have read this year. (and I've read a lot)--you won't be sorry.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2012

    Wonderful!!!!!

    I couln't put it down. Would be a great discussion for Book Clubs. Everyone could write the Epilogue

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 6, 2012

    A Fantastic Read

    Very well written. Inspiring and utterly heart-breaking, I highly recommend.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2012

    Excellent

    I never write reviews for books but had to for this one. The characters are so well developed and Ms. Moore's compassionate writing makes you really drawn into their lives, not to mention tearful at times. Highly recommend!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 9, 2012

    WHERE IS THE ENDING??? I thought this book had a good story and

    WHERE IS THE ENDING??? I thought this book had a good story and well-drawn characters, but I hated the complete lack of an ending!! The author didn't have to tell us everything about the rest of the characters' lives, but I would have liked to have had a little more "tieing up" of their stories. It seemed that the author wanted us to take the progress the characters were making in their lives and imagine the rest of the story ourselves, but I prefer more conclusion.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2012

    I loved this book....Until it ended abruptly. I was very disapo

    I loved this book....Until it ended abruptly. I was very disapointed in
    the ending. I feel the author could have tied up ALL the loose ends.
    So if you like a book that doesn't have and ending, this is the book for
    you! On a positive note. I loved the characters and the whole story
    line.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 27, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    If you are looking for a book that is wonderful, heartbreaking,

    If you are looking for a book that is wonderful, heartbreaking, touching and incredibly meaningful… then you’ve found it.

    At age 60 and over 500 pounds, Arthur Opp finds himself in a strange predicament. For twenty years, he’s remained in his house, refusing to go outside. What he needs, he has delivered to the house. Food, supplies, you name it. He’s a thoughtful man, and very lonely yet he’s been removed from society for so long, that he fears he may never leave the house again.

    Charlene, was a student of Arthur’s in college. While taking his class, she and Arthur had a connection that neither of them could explain. Charlene, plain and socially awkward, found a friend in Arthur that she’s not had since. Not even after 20 years. Although their physical friendship ceased after she left college, she continued to write letters to Arthur for a few years and those letters meant more to him than she could ever possibly know.

    Now, twenty years later, Charlene writes to Arthur once again to tell him of her son, Kel. She asks Arthur if he can help Kel by providing the guidance that he so desperately needs. Arthur’s excitement over her letter, sets a series of events into motion. For one, the hiring of maid. An act that causes great stress for Arthur, after all…no one has been in his house for years, yet with this stress, comes friendship (of all things) and his friendship with Yolanda, the maid, brought many smiles to my face.

    This was a fabulous read. Absolutely fabulous and it brought me to tears numerous times. These characters are wonderfully flawed and honest and vulnerable and well…real. It’s the type of book that has you cheering for EVERYONE and that is such a rare thing, to be able to cheer for everyone. The story is told by Arthur and Kel in alternating chapters and let me tell you, the structure worked for me. The beginning was a tad slow, just a tad but once you get going, you won’t be able to put it down.

    Plus, this is the first book I’ve read that had a character with Lupus. As a person who tests positive for Lupus every now and then, I am happy to see Lupus getting some attention. It’s a disease that affects many, yet many haven’t a clue what it is. Although it wasn’t the focus of the story, the effect that is has on one of the main characters is touching and heartbreaking and devastating in the way only a serious illness can be.

    As I was reading this book, I felt that it could easily cross into Young Adult although it’s not classified as such. It’s an easy read, yet deals with some really heavy themes, all of which held my attention and made me love this book even more.

    Heft will definitely be one of my faves for 2012. I want everyone to read it.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2012

    Great Read!

    Beautifully written and thought-provoking. I am inspired to spend as much time with my sons as possible.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 9, 2014

    Disjointed storyline and stereotypical characters behaving as ex

    Disjointed storyline and stereotypical characters behaving as expected.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2014

    Nice story

    A unique, interesting story that keeps you interested from start to finish. Not one of my favorite books, but worth the read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 30, 2013

    A good read!

    This was a really unusual, but touching and enlightening story.

    Heft is the story of two men, a 58 year old morbidly obese recluse, and a 18 year old high school senior athlete. They are linked together by one woman and a mutual sense of loneliness even though they do not know each other. Their story is told in two separate points of view, both allowing the reader an insight into their lonely and difficult worlds.

    Moore does an excellent job of creating believable characters whom you come to care for. She spells out the differing worlds of these to men in a careful and believable manner, offering a sympathetic view into behavior. As I read about Arthur Opp, the recluse, I could understand how he came to be a 500-600 pound man who is afraid to leave his home. Likewise, learning Kel Keller's story, I hurt for the boy, for the things he longed for that eluded him in his short life.

    The story moves at a good pace. The writing is accomplished, although there were some gimmicky touches that I found distracting at first. As the story progresses, the gimmicks became less of an annoyance, and I wondered if Moore wasn't using the gimmicks to tell us something about the characters. If that was her intent, I missed it.

    The ending is hopeful without being saccharine, but also a touch unsatisfying. There is a lot left hanging, but with her technique you intuit that the end is happy.

    A good read. There is some harsh language, but it is not gratuitous - it really is part of the character development. If the language is not an issue for you, I highly recommend this one!(less)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2013

    A Pleasant Surprise

    This book was a pleasant surprise, not at all what I expected. I thoroughly enjoyed it and wanted to know what happened after the ending.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 29, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    loved the characters in this book

    A friend recommended this book to me and now I am doing the same.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 66 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4