Customer Reviews for

Hegemony or Survival: America's Quest for Global Dominance (The American Empire Project)

Average Rating 3.5
( 32 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(12)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Finally I see the truth

I think that Chomsky's analysis of the events of our time is an essential part of understanding our current political situation. Without information by people like him, the ruling class would have us believe that it opporates upon the highest of moral doctrines while v...
I think that Chomsky's analysis of the events of our time is an essential part of understanding our current political situation. Without information by people like him, the ruling class would have us believe that it opporates upon the highest of moral doctrines while vainquishing evil forces and whatever other rhetoric seems applicable at the time. Excellent work from a true patriot.

posted by Anonymous on September 25, 2006

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Nothing substantial

Mr. Chomsky's book is suprisingly (or, perhaps not) thin on hard information. It contains his usual sweeping criticisms of US policy without any substantial factual foundation. He cites rumour as fact, makes statements such as 'as everyone knows' in lieu of solid footno...
Mr. Chomsky's book is suprisingly (or, perhaps not) thin on hard information. It contains his usual sweeping criticisms of US policy without any substantial factual foundation. He cites rumour as fact, makes statements such as 'as everyone knows' in lieu of solid footnoting and generally relies on his reputation rather than his reporting to bolster the arguments he presents. The book is alarmist which may account for it's popularity but there's nothing really there save a badly presented opinion.

posted by Anonymous on September 23, 2006

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 12 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 25, 2006

    Finally I see the truth

    I think that Chomsky's analysis of the events of our time is an essential part of understanding our current political situation. Without information by people like him, the ruling class would have us believe that it opporates upon the highest of moral doctrines while vainquishing evil forces and whatever other rhetoric seems applicable at the time. Excellent work from a true patriot.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 18, 2004

    Simply Brilliant

    You don't have to agree with what the man says but his writing is superb. Chomsky writes with a clarity that few authors can hope to attain.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2009

    very good and interesting take on the subject of essays.

    very good and interest take on the subject of essays.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2006

    every american should read this book

    frightening, unnerving confirmation of all we may have suspected about the americas global policies. whichever party you support, however much you love or hate Bush, read this book.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2005

    An Enthralling Read!

    Noam Chomsky is standing atop our rooves shouting truths the whole world must hear, especially those in the US / North America who today are being subjected to a snow job of epic proportions and potentially terrifying consequences. This book is replete with details, an abundance of excellent sources, and such clarity it gets your adrenaline pumping! Chomsky is a nonpareil thinker and intellect who unabashedly speaks truth, aiding in creating a better world for all of us. WE must decide to care as much as he does and seek out and spread the truth in similar fashion: with tireless and dogged diligence, and always with compassion for all humanity. But in the meantime let us drink deeply of this refreshing and heady elixir of truth.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2004

    Superb study of US foreign policy

    This brilliant study is based, like all Chomsky¿s writings, on a vast range of sources, including Pentagon, CIA and White House statements. He uses these to detail how the US ruling class seeks to rule the world. It seeks `full spectrum dominance¿, weapons in space, greater powers of attack through `ballistic missile defence¿, and the break-up of all international treaties and agreements that might limit its ambitions. Chomsky argues that the US ruling class threatens an earthly wasteland. He explains that the Republican-Labour doctrine of preventive war justifies all aggressions: Japan at Pearl Harbour and Hitler attacking the Soviet Union also claimed `anticipatory self-defence¿. He points out that the US and British states constantly use the Security Council to flout UN Resolutions; their record numbers of vetoes prove them to be its worst non-compliers. Chomsky reminds us that the old British Empire proclaimed the right to `humanitarian intervention¿. Liberals like John Stuart Mill defended this, writing shameful apologetics for the imperial crimes of aggression against India and China, and for France¿s atrocities in Algeria, `exterminating the indigenous population¿, as its War Minister urged. The liberal David Lloyd George praised the British government¿s sabotage of Disarmament Conferences by `reserving the right to bomb niggers¿. Now Blair¿s adviser Robert Cooper writes, ¿the need ¿ for colonisation is as great as it ever was in the 19th century.¿ Chomsky notes that today¿s imperialists commit war crimes too: President Clinton flew Al Qa¿ida terrorists from Afghanistan to fight for the US side in Bosnia. Labour imperialists backed the Kosovo Liberation Army terrorists, even though Defence Minister George Robertson admitted, ¿the KLA was responsible for more deaths in Kosovo than the Serbian authorities had been.¿ The same forces drive empires past and present: John Maynard Keynes explained, ¿the democratic experiment in self-government was endangered by the threat of global financial market forces.¿ So now the European Union uses Eastern Europe to ¿hammer away at high wages and corporate taxes, short working hours, labor immobility, and luxurious social programmes¿, as the business press boasts. In sum, this extraordinarily well-informed survey shows how capitalism endangers us all.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2004

    A must read for any American

    Incredible book. Everybody should read it. I have always suspected the government was up to no good, but Mr. Chomsky has a great way of exposing the lies. Easy to read, this book should be on the shelves of every American, wheter you are a Democrat, Republican, Liberal, Conservative...

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2004

    'Dude where's my country' for the thinker.

    This book, i could not believe it. Somebody with conscience. Somebody not afraid to speak up against the propaganda the government tries to spoonfeed us. As a college student who only gets CNN, MSNBC, and Fox News's propaganda, this is a great insight for anyone interested in deeply diving into just how corrupt the government has been regarding the war agains terrorism.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2003

    Excellent overall argument, and facts to support!

    Chomsky does it again- but quite differently in my view. This book is mostly focused on current events although it goes into how our Cuba policy and such lead us to where we are today. He provides historical parallels to what is happening with the Middle East, and it is extremely well documented and convincing. Whats not to be convinced about?-we are in Iraq for Oil and to secure our globally dominant military/ political position. He goes into a lot about how propaganda (mostly de facto) has lead about half the US to believe Saddam was behind 9/11 and good stuff like that. Ive read Chomsky before but I found this one infintely more interesting. A great book as your first or 100th Chomsky read. Yes, he actually has written 100 books! Check it out.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2003

    Outstanding treatment of the way things are

    Reading this book is a must for anyone who depends on the 'journalistic integrity' of what is reported in the U.S. press. Chomsky is at his best and most understandable for the casual Chomsky reader. For me at least, there was a surprize ending. I approached the title and reading thinking that we, the U.S.,were in a position of having to choose between hegemony and survival. Nothing could be further from the truth. The recurrent and consistant theme of imperialism as practiced by both political parties and driven by corporate america will surely hasten the demise of the things we value most about being Americans. If this book adds focus to one single idea; it is that America is no longer her people, but a handful of 'instituitions' bent on maximizing their own prestige, profit, and power. There is no human, environmental, or ethical price too great, in the minds of these instituiton, to achieve that status. We as americans are not immune from but culpable for the actions of these institutions. This is probably one of the ten best books I've ever read. Thank you Noam Chomsky

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2004

    Think before you follow blindly

    This book is truly an eye opener; it is evidence that there is some conscious left in this world. MG Allam

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2003

    An eye-opener

    The basic theory of HEGEMONY OR SURVIVAL is found in its subtitle that the United States has and has had (back to at least JFK and perhaps the end of WW II) a goal of America's Quest for Global Dominance (The American Empire Project). Noam Chomsky uses specific examples from the past four decades to defend his argument that owning the world and militarily space have been the real objectives of American foreign and domestic policy. Chomsky also parallels the American global empire building to that of the eighteenth and nineteenth century British Empire where the sun never set until 1942 in North Africa. He insists the current administration is willing to risk human survival to prove they are right. He succinctly and intelligently supports his thesis by tracking the U.S. government's aggressive pursuit of attaining 'full spectrum dominance' at any cost.<P> This tome is extremely well written and worth reading as the historical based logic is quite easy to follow and seems so valid that the spin is the USA is the freedom providers and anyone opposing America is a vicious totalitarian. Chomsky¿s belief that a global empire must fail like the British did, but in this NBC (nuclear, biological and chemical WMDs) age will lead to an orb- wasteland is not as reliable of a conclusion as its defense seems more of a supposition. Still this is an eye opener that will receive praise from the left, condemnation from the right, sadly ignored from the middle, and never reach the global unaligned masses more interested in surviving leaders who know what is best for everyone.<P> Harriet Klausner

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 12 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1