Customer Reviews for

Heidi

Average Rating 4
( 204 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(134)

4 Star

(26)

3 Star

(15)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(24)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

15 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

Little Orphan Heidi

Heidi by Johanna Spyri is an inspiring story about a girl who lives in the 1800's in Germany. Heidi is a five year old orphan who has been living with her aunt for most of her life. When her aunt gets a job in Frankkfurt, she takes Heidi to live with her grandfather in ...
Heidi by Johanna Spyri is an inspiring story about a girl who lives in the 1800's in Germany. Heidi is a five year old orphan who has been living with her aunt for most of her life. When her aunt gets a job in Frankkfurt, she takes Heidi to live with her grandfather in the little village called Dorfli. Heidi's grandfather is said to be a very mean man that frightens many people. Heidi must face her grandfather alone.
Heidi is a cheerful girl and she tries her best to be friendly with her grandfather. She soon begins to worm her way into his old heart and many of the other villagers in Dorfli. She makes friends with almost everyone she meets. She even gets her grandfather to come down from his mountain to be around the villagers that he separated himself from years ago. Around Heidi's 8th birthday,her aunt comes back to take Heidi to Frankfurt where there is a girl named Klara who is in a wheelchair and is in need of a companion. Heidi is very sad to have to leave her mountains and her grandfather, but she goes anyway.
Heidi has many adventures with Klara and even begins to like being in Frankfurt, but she still misses the mountains. Everyday she begs to go home. Finally, they send her back to live with her grandfather in her beloved mountains.
Heidi by Johanna Spyri is a classic children's story loved by many people. I would recommend this book because it was very enjoyable and I learned a lot. Even though Heidi was kind of thrown around and sometimes not wanted, she still stayed positive and tried to be as nice as possible. This is a great story about an orphan who goes on many adventures and gets through them with her head held high.

posted by Cougar_H on December 16, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

The transcription is poor with missing words, incomplete words a

The transcription is poor with missing words, incomplete words and sentences, and portions that are completely incomprehensible.

posted by Anonymous on April 27, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 204 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 11
  • Posted December 16, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Little Orphan Heidi

    Heidi by Johanna Spyri is an inspiring story about a girl who lives in the 1800's in Germany. Heidi is a five year old orphan who has been living with her aunt for most of her life. When her aunt gets a job in Frankkfurt, she takes Heidi to live with her grandfather in the little village called Dorfli. Heidi's grandfather is said to be a very mean man that frightens many people. Heidi must face her grandfather alone.
    Heidi is a cheerful girl and she tries her best to be friendly with her grandfather. She soon begins to worm her way into his old heart and many of the other villagers in Dorfli. She makes friends with almost everyone she meets. She even gets her grandfather to come down from his mountain to be around the villagers that he separated himself from years ago. Around Heidi's 8th birthday,her aunt comes back to take Heidi to Frankfurt where there is a girl named Klara who is in a wheelchair and is in need of a companion. Heidi is very sad to have to leave her mountains and her grandfather, but she goes anyway.
    Heidi has many adventures with Klara and even begins to like being in Frankfurt, but she still misses the mountains. Everyday she begs to go home. Finally, they send her back to live with her grandfather in her beloved mountains.
    Heidi by Johanna Spyri is a classic children's story loved by many people. I would recommend this book because it was very enjoyable and I learned a lot. Even though Heidi was kind of thrown around and sometimes not wanted, she still stayed positive and tried to be as nice as possible. This is a great story about an orphan who goes on many adventures and gets through them with her head held high.

    15 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2008

    You should read this book!!

    HEIDI is heart warming book.It makes you feel that anything is possible.Even though Heidi is an orphan she still loves her grandfather like a mother. I would recommend this book to anyone, because it has a goal that people should follow in life:'any thing is possible'.

    11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2012

    Wonderful story; typos in ebook

    There are some words left out of this nook edition on page 328, chapter 19

    8 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2012

    Highly Recommended.

    A lovely story of a young girl who spends time with her grandfather on a mountain. It is appropriate for people of all ages. the book is about life and love and priorities. It is one of my all time favorite stories.

    7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2012

    Made me feel like i was there

    When i read Heidi i felt like i was in Heidi' s world. I could feel it when the author described the mornings in the montains. The fresh scents, and the sunrise. Although this book had no main point i really liked it. This book makes me feel at home with the fireplace on making me feel warm and cozy. There are no unbearably sad parts or scary parts in this book. Good read for mos t all ages - very heartwarming.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 26, 2009

    What Will Happen To Heidi?

    An orphaned little girl named Heidi, lives with her angry but caring grandfather. They live on the side of a mountain. She becomes friends with Peter, the goatherd. They have lots of fun when they take the goats up the mountain to munch on the grass. Although they may get mad at each other they still care about each other. <BR/> One day Heidi¿s aunt returns and forces her to leave her grandfathers house. She takes Heidi with her to a house in Frankfort. There Heidi has to live with a sickly girl in a wheelchair. Although Heidi doesn¿t like it in the beginning she becomes friends with the ten year old Clara. Will Heidi go back to the mountains?

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2012

    The transcription is poor with missing words, incomplete words a

    The transcription is poor with missing words, incomplete words and sentences, and portions that are completely incomprehensible.

    5 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2005

    Truly touching! I Loved it! I love reading. Excellent and charming book! Must Read!

    I loved this book! I rad it nearly 10 times, and I never got tired. I felt like wringing Miss Rottenmier's neck. Her name suits her real well. Heidi's sweet and loving nature wins her grandfather's heart. I'd reccomond this book to everyone

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 17, 2005

    'The Best Feeling Book Ever'

    I loved the adventures and the dramatic feelings in this book. I also love how carefree and happy Heidi is. Even though everyone thinks that uncle alp is cruel and a horrible man, he is so sweet and caring for Heidi. I love this book because everything turns out to be wonderful for everyone!!! The book Heidi is an inspiration to me!!!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 19, 2013

    Book

    The book was boring

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2003

    wonderful book

    this was a fabulus book and it was amazing i was wondering what it would be like to be her it was the best book i ever read i will really think you will enjoy this book

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2013

    ;)

    This story is the most wonderful story! I love it! ~giggles~

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2012

    Awesom!

    1 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 9, 2012

    Uhh

    Meow

    1 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2012

    Uhh

    Meow

    1 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2012

    melanie musa

    Just by reading the sample it is so good i mean it is just so perfect you your self would love i am 17 years old and i drive a car.

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 28, 2012

    Still a great read!

    This is a wonderful story of family and friendships. Love it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2012

    Good

    I hste when people give u thr hole stupid book in an single review!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Dont get the book unless u have a stuoid pushy teacher who wants u to'' Read more kids and stay in school

    1 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2012

    Beautiful story.

    I already own a copy of his wonderful book, but bought it on here to use it to write for an english essay, so that I can highlight and write notes in it, unlike my fifty year old edition. When I opened the book, however, I found that the translation of this edition is vastly different from my older edition. In this, some convorsations were condensed, summerised, or simply not there at all, and the descriptions were far less potent. While reading this book the first time with my old edition, small though I was, I loved it so much, remembering how the wonderous descriptions of the beautiful alps transported me there, made me see it as if I were really there. When I recently reread Heidi, I experienced the same feeling, but did not get as much of a sense of that with this edition. In the end, I decided that I would much rather use my beautiful edition of Heidi despite not being able to take it to school or even put sticky notes in it for fear of it breaking than have to get used to the mew version.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2011

    Great

    I love this book but somtimes it makes some molisakes

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 204 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 11