Customer Reviews for

Heidi

Average Rating 4
( 192 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(127)

4 Star

(24)

3 Star

(13)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(23)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

12 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

Little Orphan Heidi

Heidi by Johanna Spyri is an inspiring story about a girl who lives in the 1800's in Germany. Heidi is a five year old orphan who has been living with her aunt for most of her life. When her aunt gets a job in Frankkfurt, she takes Heidi to live with her grandfather in ...
Heidi by Johanna Spyri is an inspiring story about a girl who lives in the 1800's in Germany. Heidi is a five year old orphan who has been living with her aunt for most of her life. When her aunt gets a job in Frankkfurt, she takes Heidi to live with her grandfather in the little village called Dorfli. Heidi's grandfather is said to be a very mean man that frightens many people. Heidi must face her grandfather alone.
Heidi is a cheerful girl and she tries her best to be friendly with her grandfather. She soon begins to worm her way into his old heart and many of the other villagers in Dorfli. She makes friends with almost everyone she meets. She even gets her grandfather to come down from his mountain to be around the villagers that he separated himself from years ago. Around Heidi's 8th birthday,her aunt comes back to take Heidi to Frankfurt where there is a girl named Klara who is in a wheelchair and is in need of a companion. Heidi is very sad to have to leave her mountains and her grandfather, but she goes anyway.
Heidi has many adventures with Klara and even begins to like being in Frankfurt, but she still misses the mountains. Everyday she begs to go home. Finally, they send her back to live with her grandfather in her beloved mountains.
Heidi by Johanna Spyri is a classic children's story loved by many people. I would recommend this book because it was very enjoyable and I learned a lot. Even though Heidi was kind of thrown around and sometimes not wanted, she still stayed positive and tried to be as nice as possible. This is a great story about an orphan who goes on many adventures and gets through them with her head held high.

posted by Cougar_H on December 16, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

The transcription is poor with missing words, incomplete words a

The transcription is poor with missing words, incomplete words and sentences, and portions that are completely incomprehensible.

posted by Anonymous on April 27, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2012

    Wonderful story; typos in ebook

    There are some words left out of this nook edition on page 328, chapter 19

    7 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 26, 2009

    What Will Happen To Heidi?

    An orphaned little girl named Heidi, lives with her angry but caring grandfather. They live on the side of a mountain. She becomes friends with Peter, the goatherd. They have lots of fun when they take the goats up the mountain to munch on the grass. Although they may get mad at each other they still care about each other. <BR/> One day Heidi¿s aunt returns and forces her to leave her grandfathers house. She takes Heidi with her to a house in Frankfort. There Heidi has to live with a sickly girl in a wheelchair. Although Heidi doesn¿t like it in the beginning she becomes friends with the ten year old Clara. Will Heidi go back to the mountains?

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 9, 2012

    Uhh

    Meow

    1 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2012

    Uhh

    Meow

    1 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2014

    recommend for everyone to read at least once

    This is a book that is a classic. Our granddaughter had never heard of it. Should be one everyone reads.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2012

    Heidi

    This was one of my favorite books as a child and i ennjoyed reading it again as an adult.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 7, 2012

    Great chapter book for bed time reading...

    3rd grader loves these books

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 11, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Great book!

    The book "Heidi"is a good young classic book. It stayed on topic a lot , but some things i didn't really like is that the book was very slow, & didn't really have a point about it. Just that the grandpa was not a grumpy man. He was actually loving and did care about people. When Heidi was taken away from Alm- Uncle. He was hopeless. But then Heidi came back & he was so joyful he started going church. The reason why i like this book is because it showed to me that some people out in the world might not be grumpy, they just haven't found that one thing that makes them happy. So when Heidi came Alm-Uncle wasn't happy at first. But when she went to Clara Alm-Unlce knew that he was missing something in his life. He wanted Heidi to come home. Another reason why i like this book is because, I was named after the book Heidi. Because it was my grandpa's favorite book. So i wanted to read it , and this age was a perfect age because i understood the book. The characters in the book were all loving , Heidi would always put people before her. For example when Grandma needed someone to read to her, Heidi would always be next to her bed side reading to her. I would tell people to read this book because it is loving and touching and means a lot to me because I'm named after the book. If i could i would go back and read the book 10000000 times, so i love this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 18, 2010

    Still enjoyable

    I got this book to share with my daughter. I read through it before starting the story with her, re-reading it after almost thirty years was enjoyable. It is a simple story that is for the most part easy for a younger reader to understand and enjoy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 10, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Heidi is unlike the movies

    Over the years, I have watched several movies based on this book but had never actually read it. Finally being able to read the book and compare it to what I thought I knew was liberating. I loved to know that the ending was happy all around and not overly dramatic. Its a great book for children and young teenagers.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2007

    Heidi is an awesome book!!!!

    Heidi was written by Johanna Spyri. I give it an astounding 4 stars!!This rating is that many because it's an excellent book, and i found myself having a hard time putting it down. I would recommend this amazing story to anyone. It's heartwarming twist melts the hearts of everyone who reads it. I don't care if you are 9 or 90. 'Heidi' is about a young girl who goes to live with her grandfather in the beautiful mountain hills. Where she finds adventure in everything she does. At first her grandfather is mean and bitter but he warms up and becomes very friendly.She meets a boy who raises goats. They grow up together and fall in love. Heidi finds herself in all kinds of situations and mischeif. Her joyful cheery life takes a turn and her mean aunt comes to take her away to live with her. This book is tremendous and an excellent reason for kids to start reading young.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2003

    Great book!

    This was a tyte book! it made me think about how we treat each other! Mabey all of us should be a little more like heidi!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2001

    This is a GREAT book!

    In the story Heidi a little girl goes throught alot of things. Her parents die when she is quite small and is sent to live with her Grandpa who is not the most popular man in the world but Heidi loves him and the Alps. Heidi is very happy she meets Peter and the grandma who she even steals bread for. Heidi's happiness comes to an end when her aunt takes her away to Frankfurt to live with Klara a little girl who is sick and lonely. The begining of her stay is pretty rough but she settles, even though Heidi likes Klara very much she misses her Grandfather and the beauty of the Alps. Wheather or not she gets home I will not tell so if you must know read this book it is worth the effort!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2