Customer Reviews for

The Heir

Average Rating 4
( 804 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(285)

4 Star

(271)

3 Star

(143)

2 Star

(56)

1 Star

(49)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

22 out of 28 people found this review helpful.

Really? Inaccurate, wont load to Nook?

Here is to all you spoil sports FYI. Leaving bad feed back for a Romance fantasy book. Why because the historical facts arent accurate, what? This is a romance fantasy people nothing is real or accurate, its just for fantasy, (fun), get over it. As far as bad reviews fo...
Here is to all you spoil sports FYI. Leaving bad feed back for a Romance fantasy book. Why because the historical facts arent accurate, what? This is a romance fantasy people nothing is real or accurate, its just for fantasy, (fun), get over it. As far as bad reviews for not loading correctly to your nook REALLY? This is not the area for complaining for that. Go through the correct channels. This crap frustrates me. I want a review of the book not your whinning. Besides that it isnt fair to the author to bring down her score for things out of their control. GREAT HISTORICAL (FANTASY) ROMANCE BOOK.

posted by Charmed47 on December 30, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

32 out of 52 people found this review helpful.

Completely lacking in historical accuracy

I usually don't get too upset about historical accuracy in romances because that is not the point of the genre, but this book is so outrageous that I cannot even finish it. I am willing to accept that a beautiful woman with no work history is hired as the head housekee...
I usually don't get too upset about historical accuracy in romances because that is not the point of the genre, but this book is so outrageous that I cannot even finish it. I am willing to accept that a beautiful woman with no work history is hired as the head housekeeper for an Earl, even if that is completely impossible. I am even willing to accept a romance between an aristocrat and woman he believes is a servant (seductions happen). Actually, I such a fan of upstairs-downstairs shows that I was eager to see how this would play out.
What I cannot get beyond is that the Earl's butler, secretary, and all his male servants go missing so that the housekeeper can flounce around, performing their duties. La-la-la... she waltzes in on her employer and his brother, proceeds to arrange flowers, and then engages them in conversation. Not only does the Earl not get upset that his housekeeper beats him unconscious, he allows her to nurse him (naked), and then they proceed to share all their intimate thoughts over lemonade. Not only would a housekeeper not sit in the presence of her employer, she would likely have little interaction with him. Her job was to manage the female servants. The butler's job was to manage the male servants and to attend personally on the lord. All the male servants would not be allowed to go missing. I was completely distracted by how woefully understaffed this supposedly rich Earl's house was.
Also, we are led to believe that it is impossible for the Earl to find a wife to bear children and his father is so desperate to get him married that he tries to get his mistress to pass off another man's child on him. What?? A Duke wants his heir to marry a fallen woman who is pregnant with another man's child????
This book is so full of historical problems that I simply cannot finish it, despite decent writing.

posted by 2950578 on December 15, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 49 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted February 14, 2011

    DO NOT TRY TO DOWNLOAD ON COLOR NOOK

    The free sample downloads just fine. When I purchased the book and tried to download the entire book, all I got was blank pages. I called the help line and was told to totally wipe out everything on my color book nook and register it, then try again. I did so. Still all I got were blank pages. The Barnes and Noble representative said she would see if she could obtain a refund of my money. m She acted as if she was unsure whether this can be done. Moreover, she acted put out with me as though the problem was caused by me rather than some technical problem. She was NOT friendly. I have downloaded many books, the Barnes and Noble rep even commented on how many books I have in my account, I certainly know how to download books and have never had this problem before.

    6 out of 31 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 22, 2011

    dont purchase

    I decided to buy this book and was looking forward to readind it, but I too have had difficulty downloading it. The book is blank, so if you want to read this book I would suggest buying a soft copy, or get it for another store.

    3 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 22, 2011

    I WANT MY MONEY BACK!!!!!!

    BE WARNED: This book is absolutely terrible. The plot was lame, the main characters were unconvincing and annoying. Im trying hard to figure out how this author got this book published. Save your money....I wish I did.

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2013

    Anonymous

    I really hate giving one star reviews, especially to any novel, let alone one written by Ms. Burrowes, but this one is NOT what it pretends to be ---a Regency novel. The mere appearances of Earls, Dukes, Duchesses and Vicounts does NOT a Regency make. My complaint is not about "historical facts" and their absence or misrepresentations, but rather about the singular absence of Regency social protocol in the development of the relationship between housekeeper Mrs Seaton and her employer, Earl of Westhaven.

    Regencies are best when an author can find a way of bringing hero and heroine together within the social parameters and restrictions of the era so that when the wooing hero fulfills the readers wish and actually throws over those social protocols, the reader understands and agrees. Reader agreement is necessary at that point in a Regency novel.

    The relationship between housekeeper and the Earl happens too fast. It should have developed at a much slower rate with more time alloted to their (and the reader's) self-discovery of attraction and love.

    For readers who understand the Regency (even those of us who get that Georgiana Spencer Cavendish, Duchess of Devonshire, lived in a large household with her Duke and his mistress and their bastards), we rebel at reading tripe (albeit very well wrtten) because it is internally inconsistent not only as a stand alone story but also as it relates to the Moreland family saga. And yes, I get that this is all fiction and I read it as such. It's too bad it is not a Regency fiction, which is what I thought I was buying. The Novellas which preceeds this book had some semblance of internal consistency and they brought the reader along, as does the book on Maggie Windham. For whatever reason, this one is sort of a dud Regency.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 16, 2011

    Didn't even finish it

    From what I read, the storyline was OK, but I was so turned off by the meaningless sex and the repulsive language to describe it that I didn't get past page 26. I know that many have given this book good reviews, but I just did not like this author's writing at all. If I have missed out, so be it, but I don't think I am. I am an avid reader and it was time to move on to the next book. Life is too short.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 3, 2011

    Hated it

    I didnt even finish book. I do not know why it received so many good reviews. The people who gave it good reviews must not have ever read a truly good book. This is not one.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 3, 2011

    Don't recommend

    I was saddened by this book in the first two chapters. I was hoping for a sweet romance. I was very disappointed in the crude language that the author used and the too gutter explicit sex acts and talk. I did not finish this book and would not recommend it to anyone!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2011

    Disappointing...vulgar, and in bad taste.

    I found Burrowes's writing style to be vulgar, and not in good taste. This book reads like it is written by a man, not a woman. I really did not care for this "first taste" of Grace Burrowes; although, I did not make it past the first two chapters, so maybe it gets better.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2011

    only blank pages

    Only blank pages came on the download. Can't get a reply from B&N?

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 22, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 49 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3