Customer Reviews for

The Heir

Average Rating 4
( 807 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(287)

4 Star

(271)

3 Star

(144)

2 Star

(56)

1 Star

(49)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

22 out of 29 people found this review helpful.

Really? Inaccurate, wont load to Nook?

Here is to all you spoil sports FYI. Leaving bad feed back for a Romance fantasy book. Why because the historical facts arent accurate, what? This is a romance fantasy people nothing is real or accurate, its just for fantasy, (fun), get over it. As far as bad reviews fo...
Here is to all you spoil sports FYI. Leaving bad feed back for a Romance fantasy book. Why because the historical facts arent accurate, what? This is a romance fantasy people nothing is real or accurate, its just for fantasy, (fun), get over it. As far as bad reviews for not loading correctly to your nook REALLY? This is not the area for complaining for that. Go through the correct channels. This crap frustrates me. I want a review of the book not your whinning. Besides that it isnt fair to the author to bring down her score for things out of their control. GREAT HISTORICAL (FANTASY) ROMANCE BOOK.

posted by Charmed47 on December 30, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

32 out of 53 people found this review helpful.

Completely lacking in historical accuracy

I usually don't get too upset about historical accuracy in romances because that is not the point of the genre, but this book is so outrageous that I cannot even finish it. I am willing to accept that a beautiful woman with no work history is hired as the head housekee...
I usually don't get too upset about historical accuracy in romances because that is not the point of the genre, but this book is so outrageous that I cannot even finish it. I am willing to accept that a beautiful woman with no work history is hired as the head housekeeper for an Earl, even if that is completely impossible. I am even willing to accept a romance between an aristocrat and woman he believes is a servant (seductions happen). Actually, I such a fan of upstairs-downstairs shows that I was eager to see how this would play out.
What I cannot get beyond is that the Earl's butler, secretary, and all his male servants go missing so that the housekeeper can flounce around, performing their duties. La-la-la... she waltzes in on her employer and his brother, proceeds to arrange flowers, and then engages them in conversation. Not only does the Earl not get upset that his housekeeper beats him unconscious, he allows her to nurse him (naked), and then they proceed to share all their intimate thoughts over lemonade. Not only would a housekeeper not sit in the presence of her employer, she would likely have little interaction with him. Her job was to manage the female servants. The butler's job was to manage the male servants and to attend personally on the lord. All the male servants would not be allowed to go missing. I was completely distracted by how woefully understaffed this supposedly rich Earl's house was.
Also, we are led to believe that it is impossible for the Earl to find a wife to bear children and his father is so desperate to get him married that he tries to get his mistress to pass off another man's child on him. What?? A Duke wants his heir to marry a fallen woman who is pregnant with another man's child????
This book is so full of historical problems that I simply cannot finish it, despite decent writing.

posted by 2950578 on December 15, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 144 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 8
  • Posted March 6, 2012

    Sparkling Start Dawdles to a Slow, Predictable Finish Good poin

    Sparkling Start Dawdles to a Slow, Predictable Finish

    Good points: Good writing. This author shows potential.
    Bad points: Slow-moving, poor plot development, weak characterization
    Highlights: Erotic romance
    Lowlights: Too many erotic scenes. Is there a precursor to this book? There’s a lot of irrelevant back story on secondary characters

    We meet our hero, Gayle, Earl of Westhaven, when his housekeeper, Anna Seaton, bashes him on the head with a fireplace poker. She mistakenly believes he is making unwanted advances toward one of her housemaids. She patches him up, and unless you’ve never read a romance novel before, you know that they quickly feel an irresistible attraction for each other. Gayle is a serious-minded heir to a dukedom, devoted to duty, family and the obligations of his rank. I need hardly tell you that Anna is young, beautiful, and shows unmistakable signs of gentility despite her humble position. But she is trapped in a dangerous situation that leaves her powerless, and she has a secret that precludes her from marrying Gayle or revealing her desperate circumstances. And that’s where things go wrong.

    In the best romance novels the plot advances in every scene. But Anna’s refusal to explain her secret bring the action to a crashing halt. The only development in the book for many, many pages is the lovers moving from heavy petting to back-seat high school antics. Gayle and Anna are believable lovers, but we are stuck in the bedroom with them way too many times and for far too long. If you’re 14 and this is your first romance novel, this may be useful—The Heir is a virtual erotic primer for the uninitiated. But Gayle’s initial characterization as the serious man of honor is exploded by this subsequent sexual behavior (where did those principles go?). And Anna’s survival instinct and mettle are undermined by her tedious stubbornness and inability to trust. Her Great Secret, when it is finally revealed, is reasonably interesting, but the action still plods along to a slow, anti-climactic finish. When the villains are at long last revealed, one is the blandest bad guy on record; the other is truly evil, but mostly described as fat. This seems to be as abhorrent to the author as his unspeakable deeds although Anna finally gives him a pass on being porky. It reads as if an editor asked for a little balance, and a touch of it was reluctantly provided.

    If you like a historical romance with interesting period details; fully realized characters; a sense of the time and cultural mores; and a feel for the location, this book is not for you. If you are looking for one sex scene after another, a simple-minded plot that hangs fire for at least two-thirds of the book, and characters who refuse to accept or speak what is obvious to the reader from page 10—go for it!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2014

    Well Written

    Good number of charaters. Nice details. Good plot.

    The only problem was the lenght. There were to many seens as a housekeeper. The story needed to pick up the pace at that point.
    Read it worth your time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 22, 2014

    Recommend

    If you want a change of pace this is a good book to read. Typical light read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2013

    Good

    Very enjoyable.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 23, 2013

    This is the first book of the Duke's Obsession series.  

    This is the first book of the Duke's Obsession series.  

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 6, 2012

    Quiet and Sweet

    This was a charming romance that relied heavily on the sweet little things that can lead to and build a relationship.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2011

    Awesome

    Couldn't put down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 20, 2011

    Good book, would recommend!!!

    The first 250 pgs were very slow, but then the story picked and was very good to the end!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 27, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Millmm

    Decent first book. I enjoyed it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 12, 2011

    liked it, but don't know why

    i thought the characters were interesting. i don't think this is the kind of book you read for historical accuracy...

    I found myself wanting to know what would happen next.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2011

    good story

    It took a long time into the book for the story to grab attention but once it got going it was very good reading.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 2, 2011

    Very slow start...but enjoyed

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Posted May 28, 2011

    Recommended

    I loved the way the brothers stood for each other and the banter between them. A little drawn out, and I would have like the villians to appear sooner, but a good read. If this is Grace's first effort, I look forward to reading more of her work.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 18, 2011

    Good!

    This book was good. Gayle and Anna have a passionate relationship but keeps you guessing as to whether or not they will finally resolve their
    conflicts. The major problem in Anna's life has kept her on the run but in the end, the problem is resolved a bit too easily.
    Good read, good storyline too.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2011

    Good Story but frustratingly slow...

    This is the only Grace Burrowes book I have read. The story was good but it just kept creeping along.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 1, 2011

    from romance to sleaze

    this story started as expected and kept my interest at peak. that is until a love/sex scene turned sleazywiththe unnessasary fowl language and the rediculouseness of the spanking. without this cheesy admission in the storyline, i would have given The Heir 4 stars.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 144 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 8