Customer Reviews for

Heir

Average Rating 4
( 97 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(32)

4 Star

(34)

3 Star

(21)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

WONDERFUL

THERE ARE NOT MANY BOOKS AROUND THAT KEEP ME VERY INTERESTED AND CAN JUST LET ME ESCAPE FROM EVERYDAY HUMDRUM. I'LL READ IT AGAIN

posted by Anonymous on June 21, 2001

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Good Enough !!

I enjoyed this book. Not one of my favorites, but still a nice Lindsey. I have read many of her books and totally disagree with some of the other reviews. You cannot compare this book to Fires of Winter. Just remember that JL has MANY books and each one needs a differe...
I enjoyed this book. Not one of my favorites, but still a nice Lindsey. I have read many of her books and totally disagree with some of the other reviews. You cannot compare this book to Fires of Winter. Just remember that JL has MANY books and each one needs a different plot and characters. This book was sweet. Sabrina is a wonderful girl and Duncan such a gentleman. I agree that the passion is not as hot, but it was nice in its own way. Definitely recommend it ;0)

posted by Danette_Stroh on December 25, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 98 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Good Enough !!

    I enjoyed this book. Not one of my favorites, but still a nice Lindsey. I have read many of her books and totally disagree with some of the other reviews. You cannot compare this book to Fires of Winter. Just remember that JL has MANY books and each one needs a different plot and characters. This book was sweet. Sabrina is a wonderful girl and Duncan such a gentleman. I agree that the passion is not as hot, but it was nice in its own way. Definitely recommend it ;0)

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2001

    WONDERFUL

    THERE ARE NOT MANY BOOKS AROUND THAT KEEP ME VERY INTERESTED AND CAN JUST LET ME ESCAPE FROM EVERYDAY HUMDRUM. I'LL READ IT AGAIN

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 20, 2012

    Highly recommended

    The author did an awesome job once again this book was really great the twists and turns were exciting would totally read it again !!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 5, 2011

    Best book ever

    it was great, this book is the best to notch , loved the characters and the drama

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 24, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Hated It!!! Buy it used if you really want to read it.

    Having read "Fires of Winter" I was looking forward to reading more from Ms. Lindsey. This was the first that I found. By 50 pages I was wondering how this could be the same author and at 100 pages I gave up. Boring, boring, boring!!! Maybe it is my 20th century feminism but the whole plot seems contrived and artificial. And trying to wade through the brouge didn't help. Reading is my passion and I read about 50 - 60 books a year during lunch breaks and on weekend. These are my summer bubble-gum for the brain but this one went in the Used Book Sale pile very quickly. If you want Regency period (give or take a reign or two) try Carolyn Jewel's "Scandal". Much better read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 30, 2008

    It was pretty good

    I enjoyed this book.I loved Sabrina's character.I can't wait to read " The devil who tamed her".

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2008

    Could have been lustier

    Generally I enjoyed The Heir, mostly because I love Scotsmen and there were a couple in this book. Great accents. Sexy plaid skirts. What's not to love, really? Duncan and Sabrina were both relatable characters and their relationship developed very nicely indeed. Their initial friendship was endearing and made the anticipation of the passion all the greater. However, I was disappointed when the passion pretty much fizzled out after that climactic (in more ways than one) scene in the (SPOILER ALERT) . . . coach. I felt that the story kind of dropped off toward the ending and there wasn't much excitement left at all, only eagerness and even that was mostly one-sided on Duncan's part. I felt like both of them should have tried harder to be together to prove how desirous they were of having one another. In addition I hated Ophelia's character, and not just on an audience-hating-the-antagonist level, but also on a discerning-reader-disapproving-of-a-flat-character level. No one is as bratty as Ophelia is, and she was designed to essentially be Duncan's and Sabrina's number 1 nemesis. And she was lame. Which makes Duncan and Sabrina's opposition seem tame and the fact that it took them as long as it did to overcome that obstacle makes their love for each other seem somewhat lacking.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 12, 2007

    A great book!

    The Heir is a sweet story. It's not quite as passionate as some of Lindsey's other books but the characters are interesting and the plot has a lot of interesting turns. Sabrina has to be one of my favorite characters that Johanna Lindsey ever thought up. I would definitely recommend this book!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 19, 2006

    Not as passionate as Lindsey's others - but still great.

    Sabrina and Duncan in this have a real relationship - based on friendship as well as lust. It's not nearly as passionate as Lindsey's others, where lust turns hatred or dislike to true love, but it's a great read. Especially for those who like to think relationships aren't just based on carnal desire - Sabrina and Duncan I can see living together in blissfull happiness till they die, whereas with some of Johanna Lindsey's characters I get the feeling the second they're too old to have a sex-life the relationship will die. In other words, a great read, but without that consuming desire one associates with Lindsey.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2006

    My Favorite Lindsey Novel

    This is by far my favorite Lindsey novel to date. I have read three others, 'The Joining', 'The Pursuit', and 'Say You Love Me', but so far, none of them have come close. Duncan & Sabrina have a genuine relationship that makes sense...they do not fall in love after just one brief meeting, nor is their relationship based on sex and attraction. I found myself rooting for Sabrina's cause, and hoping that Duncan would find a way to be with her in the end. Highly recomdended.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2001

    Much better than I thought it would be!

    From the boring back cover to the lukewarm reviews, I was sure that this book would be a waste of money, but I was actually pleasantly suprised! The characters were all well developed, and the dialog was very witty. The supporting characters were especially enjoyable, and I look forward to a book with Rafe someday in the future. The description on the back cover is slightly confusing (or maybe I'm just dumb) so to clarify...Sabrina is on the marraige market, as is the girl Ophelia who Sabrina is hanging out with. Both are the same age, and Ophelia is trying to figure out a way out of the betrothal she is already in. It is not a book about Ophelia and Duncan not being able to be seperated because of the betrothal, which may come as a relief to some (and perhaps an inducment to actually buy the book?) Anyway, just wanted to say that it is much funnier and more enjoyable than it seems to be on the face of it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2001

    A romantic, exciting tale of 2 friends

    I am a 20 year old that just recently started reading books to go to sleep, but when I read this book, I wanted to keep reading to see what would happen. I knew what I wanted to happen, but the suspense drove me crazy.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2013

    Good

    Good

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2013

    Weak story and characters

    A disappointment compared to most of the authors othe books. Weak hero and heroine and the story seemed to be more about the antagonist instead. The Scottish accent dialog was distracting as well. I kept reading in hope that it would picked up but it never did. I usually love Lindseys stories but this one was flat. Definitely NOT one worth rereads.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2013

    highly recommend

    very good reading and entertaining

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2012

    I am a huge fan of J. Lindsey, I have read almost all her books.

    I am a huge fan of J. Lindsey, I have read almost all her books. I finally got around to reading The Heir, I already read the other two that followed in this series and loved them. I didn't like it. I felt The Heir was just a starting point for Rafe and Ophelia, I wanted more Sabrina and Duncan. Sabrina was a great character I wish I saw more of her than Ophelia. Duncan made me so mad!! He was worried about Ophelia more than Sabrina, yes Ophelia could have a scandal because of him, BUT Duncan ruined Sabrina and didn't seem to care one bit! It made me so annoyed I didn't even want to read anymore. I did keep reading though. I didn't care about all the other characters, I cared about Sabrina and Duncan, and I feel like through out the whole book all I got of them was maybe a Chapters worth.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2005

    hmmm.. not that good

    out of all of johanna's books that i have read i would have have to say this one was one of my lease favorites! I love her books, but this one was really slow, and i kept skipping parts just looking for something more interesting! it had some good parts, but overall the book was not very beleivable. The book didnt just evolve around the two main characters, but a lot of other people's points of view (i.e. the two grandfathers, ophelia, the two aunts,...) this was one of the reasons it was so slow, also making it less believeable that the sabrina, and Duncan fell in love when so little was written really about them, they only were together like three times!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2004

    review

    The story was good. This is one of the rare books that I have read twice, but it was out of necessity. The Scottish brouge slowed the reading and was somewhat inconvient when there were phrases that were not understood.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2002

    What Work?

    I absolutely loved the book. I work two jobs and couldn't manage to put the book down long enough to get anything done. I had it read in less than two days

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2001

    I am shocked

    This was NOT one of her best works. I am a GREAT fan of Ms. Lindsey. I say this because I own a copy of everyone of her romance novels. So as a Fan of romance and esp a Lindsey fan I can say this one was not very good.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 98 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5