Customer Reviews for

Heir

Average Rating 4
( 97 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(32)

4 Star

(34)

3 Star

(21)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

WONDERFUL

THERE ARE NOT MANY BOOKS AROUND THAT KEEP ME VERY INTERESTED AND CAN JUST LET ME ESCAPE FROM EVERYDAY HUMDRUM. I'LL READ IT AGAIN

posted by Anonymous on June 21, 2001

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Good Enough !!

I enjoyed this book. Not one of my favorites, but still a nice Lindsey. I have read many of her books and totally disagree with some of the other reviews. You cannot compare this book to Fires of Winter. Just remember that JL has MANY books and each one needs a differe...
I enjoyed this book. Not one of my favorites, but still a nice Lindsey. I have read many of her books and totally disagree with some of the other reviews. You cannot compare this book to Fires of Winter. Just remember that JL has MANY books and each one needs a different plot and characters. This book was sweet. Sabrina is a wonderful girl and Duncan such a gentleman. I agree that the passion is not as hot, but it was nice in its own way. Definitely recommend it ;0)

posted by Danette_Stroh on December 25, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Good Enough !!

    I enjoyed this book. Not one of my favorites, but still a nice Lindsey. I have read many of her books and totally disagree with some of the other reviews. You cannot compare this book to Fires of Winter. Just remember that JL has MANY books and each one needs a different plot and characters. This book was sweet. Sabrina is a wonderful girl and Duncan such a gentleman. I agree that the passion is not as hot, but it was nice in its own way. Definitely recommend it ;0)

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 30, 2008

    It was pretty good

    I enjoyed this book.I loved Sabrina's character.I can't wait to read " The devil who tamed her".

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2008

    Could have been lustier

    Generally I enjoyed The Heir, mostly because I love Scotsmen and there were a couple in this book. Great accents. Sexy plaid skirts. What's not to love, really? Duncan and Sabrina were both relatable characters and their relationship developed very nicely indeed. Their initial friendship was endearing and made the anticipation of the passion all the greater. However, I was disappointed when the passion pretty much fizzled out after that climactic (in more ways than one) scene in the (SPOILER ALERT) . . . coach. I felt that the story kind of dropped off toward the ending and there wasn't much excitement left at all, only eagerness and even that was mostly one-sided on Duncan's part. I felt like both of them should have tried harder to be together to prove how desirous they were of having one another. In addition I hated Ophelia's character, and not just on an audience-hating-the-antagonist level, but also on a discerning-reader-disapproving-of-a-flat-character level. No one is as bratty as Ophelia is, and she was designed to essentially be Duncan's and Sabrina's number 1 nemesis. And she was lame. Which makes Duncan and Sabrina's opposition seem tame and the fact that it took them as long as it did to overcome that obstacle makes their love for each other seem somewhat lacking.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2004

    review

    The story was good. This is one of the rare books that I have read twice, but it was out of necessity. The Scottish brouge slowed the reading and was somewhat inconvient when there were phrases that were not understood.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2000

    Not the typical Lindsey, but still worth a read!

    Generally, Lindsey's books are page turners that so captivate you that no sooner do you finish it you want to read it all over again. Not so with this one. The story lacked passion, and the characters didn't have the kind of energy & chemistry you come to expect from Lindsey. At times, the banter between the grandfathers was more exciting than the romance between the characters--although, the friendship angle was new and interesting. I love Lindsey's books and have read them repeatedly, but this was a little weak for her. Just the same, it was enjoyable and I would recommend reading it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2000

    Not Her Best Work

    I always wait for a new book by this author with excitement,but I was dissapointed in this one. It was not up to her usual standard of work. The romance was a little lacking. Sabrina was fun to read, but Duncan could have been a little more interesting. I was wishing that Sabrina and the other lord would get together.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2000

    Where's the Johanna we know and love?

    I normally enjoy every Johanna Lindsey novel I read. With this book I was a bit disappointed. It didn't have as much suspense as her others and I didn't care about her characters like I usually do. I feel that I wait so long for my favorite authors books to come out and then this happens. I hope her next book will be better.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2000

    Not one of the best, yet decent

    The Scottish accents were annoying, and I thought the age of the characters were annoying...I don't know, but I would have liked the male older than just 21 years old..but then again, no one over 21 would have been as stupid to actually fall for all the plot. It was better than the last book, which was somewhat disappointing. I laughed a lot during the story though...but not up to the author's usual standards.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2000

    A Sweet Story

    This book was a vast improvement upon Lindsey's last 2 books, but it was still missing something. I think Lindsey took the criticisms from her last book ('Joining') to heart and went off to the extreme in the opposite direction. We go from the constant tension, mistrust, and fighting of the hero and heroine in 'Joining' to a perfectly sweet and utterly passionless relationship between them in 'The Heir'. Give us some middle ground Johanna! 'The Heir', a sweet story about two friends who fall in love, lacked the fire and passion that is typical of Lindsey's characters. Even in 'Joining', which I thought thoroughly sucked, at least the hero and heroine had great sex. There are only two sex scenes in this entire 370+ paged novel and they were far from her best work. I don't know what's wrong with her these past few years, but lately I either dislike her books or they leave me feeling like they're just okay. The latter is the case with 'The Heir'. It's an okay one time read, but not the Lindsey book you will pull off the shelf and read over and over again. I love her futuristics the best. I heard a rumor that she's writing Dalden's story - on one hand, I can't wait. On the other, I'm afraid she'll screw it up! Come on Johanna - come back to us! I know you have it in you!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2