Customer Reviews for

Heir

Average Rating 4
( 97 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(32)

4 Star

(34)

3 Star

(21)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

WONDERFUL

THERE ARE NOT MANY BOOKS AROUND THAT KEEP ME VERY INTERESTED AND CAN JUST LET ME ESCAPE FROM EVERYDAY HUMDRUM. I'LL READ IT AGAIN

posted by Anonymous on June 21, 2001

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Good Enough !!

I enjoyed this book. Not one of my favorites, but still a nice Lindsey. I have read many of her books and totally disagree with some of the other reviews. You cannot compare this book to Fires of Winter. Just remember that JL has MANY books and each one needs a differe...
I enjoyed this book. Not one of my favorites, but still a nice Lindsey. I have read many of her books and totally disagree with some of the other reviews. You cannot compare this book to Fires of Winter. Just remember that JL has MANY books and each one needs a different plot and characters. This book was sweet. Sabrina is a wonderful girl and Duncan such a gentleman. I agree that the passion is not as hot, but it was nice in its own way. Definitely recommend it ;0)

posted by Danette_Stroh on December 25, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 98 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 5
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2001

    Sweetly Satisfying

    I am not that familiar with Johanna Lindsey's other books, but I plan to read more after reading The Heir. I thought it was a sweet story. I like the fact that the heroine, Sabrina, was not the most gorgeous creature mankind ever laid eyes on! It was nice to see an average-looking girl end up with the rich, handsome hero in the end! I do hope that Johanna Lindsey will write a sequel to this book involving Ophelia...a sort of 'taming of the shrew' kind of story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2001

    This Is A Must Read

    Once I started, I continued to read.Once again, Ms. Lindsey's books maintain their ability to carry the reader through non-stop from beginning to end. I've often wished that her books were even longer in length.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2001

    Great

    This was the first book by Johanna Lindsey that I have read, and I thought it was great. I can't wait to read more

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2000

    The Heir was a sweet, funny love story!

    Even though most of these reviews were negative, I'd say that this romance is more of a real story. You don't fall in love at first sight always, and you don't desire them the moment you lay your eyes on them. Yes, I'd have to say that the love scenes were not enough, though. However, I did like the basis of this story. I would like to see more friends-to-lovers romances.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2000

    Not the typical Lindsey, but still worth a read!

    Generally, Lindsey's books are page turners that so captivate you that no sooner do you finish it you want to read it all over again. Not so with this one. The story lacked passion, and the characters didn't have the kind of energy & chemistry you come to expect from Lindsey. At times, the banter between the grandfathers was more exciting than the romance between the characters--although, the friendship angle was new and interesting. I love Lindsey's books and have read them repeatedly, but this was a little weak for her. Just the same, it was enjoyable and I would recommend reading it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2000

    Differently Sweet

    It wasn't your typical Johanna Lindsay. I thought it was great...me being a Lindsay fan and all. But it went too easy and the romance was slow and then i didn't feel that crazy chemistry she usually has between her characters. I felt there was more potential in Sabrina with Raphael than Duncan. But it made me smile and laugh at certain points. It was really a good read, there were just a few elements that were missing that didn't make it bad, it just made it different. But I still like it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2000

    Purely Delightful!!

    I love the humor and sweet romance in this book. If you like any other of Johanna's books, you will enjoy this one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2000

    What is up with some of you people, Johanna Lindsey is great!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    I am almost 16 and I have read all of Johanna Lindsey's books and I love all of them, I have all of them, Johanna Lindsey is the best. And The Heir is great!!!!!!!! You will love reading it!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2000

    Boring!

    I have read every single one of Johanna Lindsey's books, and have pretty much loved all of them. She is one of my favorite romance novelists. That being said, I was very dissappointed in The Heir. The characters were extremely uninteresting and there was no chemistry between Sabrina and Duncan. Furthermore, for me, romance novels are an escape, so I do not want to read about heroines that are average looking and only get better looking as the other characters get to know them. I would not recommend this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2000

    Wonderful!

    The Heir is one of her best books, once you start reading it you can't put it down! You're wondering to the end if Sabrina and Duncan will ever get together and in the end true love wins out.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2000

    Very Good

    It was not your usual Lindsey book ,But I loved it just the same! It seemed to end too Quickly, to soon But I still could not wait until the kids were in bed and I had my reading time too my self. Thanks! When is the next one coming out?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2000

    Not Her Best Work

    I always wait for a new book by this author with excitement,but I was dissapointed in this one. It was not up to her usual standard of work. The romance was a little lacking. Sabrina was fun to read, but Duncan could have been a little more interesting. I was wishing that Sabrina and the other lord would get together.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2000

    GREAT!

    Wonderful characters! Happy story of a plain girl who never expects to end up with the hero.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2000

    What is up with Johanna Lindsey?

    I was so looking forward to Johanna Lindsey's new book,The Heir, but I was devastingly disappointed. Sabrina is weak heroine and Ophelia is an even weaker villian. There is little to no excitement in this book. I miss Johanna's earlier works when she dazzled us.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2000

    Lindsey creates believable and very real heroines

    I loved this book. It had a real heroine that I could identify with. Sabrina was not a raving beauty, but she had a wonderful sense of humor and that was what won her man.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2000

    Where's the Johanna we know and love?

    I normally enjoy every Johanna Lindsey novel I read. With this book I was a bit disappointed. It didn't have as much suspense as her others and I didn't care about her characters like I usually do. I feel that I wait so long for my favorite authors books to come out and then this happens. I hope her next book will be better.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2000

    Different...Better... yet not as good as her old novels

    I think The Heir would have been a perfect novel which a reader wouldn't be able to put down if it had contained a bit of more romance between the characters. I applaud Johanna Lindsey for trying out another formula to writing her story, her plot was good, her characters were endearing, and as usual her dialogue was absolutely hilarious. I mostly enjoyed the grandfathers amusing verbal warfare and Archie's Scottish accent although hard to read gave the book a more realistic aspect and brought a dose of Scottish humor. But it was lacking that heart wrenching romance that you would be able to find in all her old novels and the character development of her hero and heroine. But I would still say it is a good book to read if you want to plant a smile on your face for a few hours. But if you want to find true romance I say go read her old novels and I suggest buying them because you would want to read it over and over again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2000

    Not one of the best, yet decent

    The Scottish accents were annoying, and I thought the age of the characters were annoying...I don't know, but I would have liked the male older than just 21 years old..but then again, no one over 21 would have been as stupid to actually fall for all the plot. It was better than the last book, which was somewhat disappointing. I laughed a lot during the story though...but not up to the author's usual standards.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2000

    More like the books we look forward to

    This is a charming story that is far better than the last few efforts we have seen. I used to wait in anticipation of Ms. Lindsey's novels and the past few have left had something lacking. I am glad to see that she has attempted to give us lovable, lighthearted characters that we can cheer for.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2000

    Not one of Her Best Books

    Duncan discovers he is 'The Heir' to an English title as well as a Scottish. He goes to England to visit his just discovered grandfather. Unfortunately, the story line faulters along this and many areas. The heavy accented speach patterns of Duncan and his Uncle Archie, make reading difficult. The overly opressive Ophelia; The too sweet Sabrina, all contribute to a book well below Ms. Lindsay's usual standards. This novel could have been written as a short story and been pretty good. The plot is poorly constructed and dependent upon a flimsy idea of an arranged marriage. Ophelia is a pain, while Sabrina is nice but needs some spine. Duncan as the hero, lacks polish and the usual zip Ms. Lindsey is noted for. As an avid reader, I hope the author's next effort will be back to the Malory family, always a great source of deep character and tight plots. This selection is one to pass on.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 98 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 5