Customer Reviews for

Heir of Autumn

Average Rating 5
( 11 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(11)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 11 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 13, 2006

    What a FANTASTIC book!

    This was one of my favorite books that I've recently read. Excellent plot, characterization, descriptions, ect... I recommend it! READ IT!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2006

    Heir of Autumn

    ¿Heir of Autumn¿ is one of the best fantasy novels I¿ve read in ages! Carwyn and Fahnestock are a vibrant, fresh new voice in a genre that has grown stale with ¿LOTR¿ knock-offs of late. The book combines all the swashbuckling and magic every fantasy-junkie looks for, but adds a new layer of depth to the genre. And the Game of Squares is absolutely brilliant! Bravo to the two new authors, and I look forward to reading the sequel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2006

    Heir of Autumn

    This book has everything! ¿Heir of Autumn¿ is an exceptional novel, I can¿t believe it¿s Carwyn and Fahnestock¿s first. An evil mage who enslaves the lovely Shara through his devious sexually-inspired magic. A unscrupulous king who willingly frames young Brophy and throws him to the mercy of the desert. A dark and mysterious spy complete with a secret love he can never reveal or fulfill. An unspeakable malevolence held in check by a sleeping babe. And the fate of the entire world hangs in the balance! What more could you ask for? ¿Heir of Autumn¿ swept me up from page one and never let me put the book down. The breadth and depth of characters portrayed in this debut novel prove beyond a doubt that we¿ll be seeing a lot more of Carwyn and Fahnestock in the future. And good thing, too! I can¿t wait to read the sequel. The writing is alive, the characters made me want to scream alternately with rage and joy, and the plot relies just enough on convention to make the long-time fantasy reader feel right at home. But the innovative plot twists make this novel a one of a kind read! All the reality shows on TV can¿t hold a candle to the gripping tension of the lethal game of Nine Squares created for this book. ¿Heir of Autumn¿. A must read book for every fantasy fan.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2006

    Heir of Autumn

    I loved ¿Heir of Autumn¿! The writing is great, a real page-turner. And it has everything I like in a good book: a beautiful seductress, an evil over-lord, a main character I can relate to, royalty, sword fights, magic, wars, and an unspeakable evil threatening to destroy the world. The book starts a little slow ¿ lots of character building ¿ but once Brophy gets banished, I literally couldn¿t put the book down! I didn¿t get enough sleep, I read through my meals, and I was late for work. Twice! What I thought was going to be another typical fantasy novel about kings and queens squabbling over their kingdom, turned into a novel of deep intrigue, unstoppable action scenes, and characters I fell in love with! Even the minor characters are packed with vitality and a personality all their own. You¿ll absolutely love the spunky Lawdon character. She¿s the best! Can¿t wait to read about her in the next book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2006

    Amazing Book

    It's so refreshing to find a new fantasy that doesn't try to recreate Tolkien's format, but instead challenges its readers and surprises them with complex characters, vivid world-building, and electrifying action. Carwyn and Fahnestock give us heroes who have to overcome the very real perils of their own characters as well as the perils around them. From the very first pages, Heir of Autumn whisks you away into a world of bustling night markets, sensuous rituals, lush cities, and vicious bloodsports. The action never lets up and the characters compel you to keep the pages turning. I can't wait for more from Fahnestock and Carwyn!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2006

    Sword and Sorcery, with a Whiskey Back

    If you're tired of book-mill fantasy full of authorial intervention and pasteboard heroics, you're gonna love Heir of Autumn. Get ready for unforgettable characters, beguiling plot twists, and a richly imagined world rivaling the best of high fantasy. Not to mention, the writing is darn good. These authors know how to build suspense, and they never take the easy way out. The characters never act, well, out of character, and as with the best of literary fiction, there are real consequences to their actions. Whether sorceress or swordmaster, queen or assassin, these characters are utterly recognizable as parts of ourselves, and I dare you to not care what happens to them next.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2006

    Stunning Debut Performance!

    This book is one of the most well-written in the fantasy genre. Alive with richly developed characters, beautifully described scenery, and a page-turning plot, Heir of Autumn stands out as one of the finest novels I've read in years. For those who love to feel transported to a faraway land without feeling bogged down by pedantic historical prose, this book is for you. I loved the heroes, despised the villains, and never felt like I was reading stereotypes or well-worn paradigms. One of the highlights of the book is the game of Nine Squares, brilliantly conceived and described by Carwyn and Fahnestock. I could literally feel the heat of the desert, the parched lips of the characters, the importance of their struggle. The creative talent of these two is hard to come by in today's literary market. This duo is definitely up-and-coming in this field, and I can't wait for the sequel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    A terrific and spellbinding work of high fantasy

    Ohndarien is a city of peace where little crime exists and freedom abounds. The realm is governed by the Children of the Seasons, men and women who took the Test of Stone and those who are found worthy of the Heartstone. They wear a diamond in their chests that grant them magical powers. Prince Krellis of Physendria came to Ohndarien to conquer but instead but was persuaded by one of the Children Baelandra to take the test and when he passes it he becomes one of the Children.------ Krellis trains the army and governs justly so that the people and soldiers become loyal to him. When his son with his dying breath tells his father that Brophy was the one who raped a Faradan girl, Krellis exiles him. He is shipped to Physendira who intends to invade the Ohndariens. He becomes the Queen¿s champion in the deadly game Nine Squares. From there he travels to the island of Cinder to ask the Opal Empire to help them in the upcoming war. On the island is a potent weapon that if let loose could destroy the world. Once the Opal Empire realizes that Ohndariens were preventing the Legacy of Efflen from being used, they change sides and agree to help. However it will be Brophy who will be the one to save his homeland if he is willing to pay the price.------ HEIR OF AUTUMN is a terrific and spellbinding work of high fantasy. There is enough political intrigue, battle scenes and romance to keep readers¿ attention at an all time high. Told from the perspective of various characters, fans becomes so involved with the tale that they are unable to stop reading even for one moment because they want to see what happens next. The authors have an excellent sense of place that allows the audience to believe these locales actually exist.----- Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2005

    Don't miss this one!

    Heir of Autumn is fabulous! Engaging from the beginning, I didn't want to put it down. It was so easy to enter the characters' worlds -- you really felt like you were a part of the story. Without reservation I highly recommend it. When's the next Carwyn/Fahnestock masterpiece coming out?!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 11 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1