Customer Reviews for

Heiress

Average Rating 4
( 104 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(53)

4 Star

(28)

3 Star

(18)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

Great read

Jinx and Esme are daughters of a wealthy newspaper owner. New York society has both blesssed and cursed them. This story takes spans 20 years during the late 1800's and early 1900's and shows us how both of their lives had taken them in different, and sometimes very s...
Jinx and Esme are daughters of a wealthy newspaper owner. New York society has both blesssed and cursed them. This story takes spans 20 years during the late 1800's and early 1900's and shows us how both of their lives had taken them in different, and sometimes very sad and painful directions. Lies, deceit, and hope bring them back together. This is book #1 and is 284 pages.

posted by my1perch on July 7, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

16 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

Realistic and more wholesome Gossip Girl

Ever since Gossip Girl came to life on television, I have been hooked on all things New York and its ritzy upper-crust families. Glamour, scandals, glitter and gold - when I heard Susan May Warren was tackling this world with a historical twist, call me hopelessly hooke...
Ever since Gossip Girl came to life on television, I have been hooked on all things New York and its ritzy upper-crust families. Glamour, scandals, glitter and gold - when I heard Susan May Warren was tackling this world with a historical twist, call me hopelessly hooked but I was more than ready to jump into this adventure.

THE GOOD BITS
{The difference of chasing dreams versus living them.} Heiress takes place in a world where women did not have a lot of options - their main objective is to secure the right sort of marriage. Some women live for this, but others dream bigger for independence and perhaps a career. Esme dreams to be a journalist instead of marrying the man that her parents picked out, but is she prepared to leave the glittery world behind and get her hands dirty in the real world? That is the real trial by fire, and Susan May Warren allows this character to both fail and succeed.

{Jinx's knotty romance.} Granted I wouldn't wish anyone to go through what Jinx went through in the romance department, but it was so deliciously twisted that I flew through the pages to find out how it would all unravel. A heartbreaking nightmare of a love triangle, but when things were good, they were happy-good. The beauty of this particular storyline is how tragic and real it felt - how many women have been trapped like Jinx? How many had to let go of an impossible love to survive? It was riveting. It was raw. It was real - and I ate up every word of it!

THE BAD BITS
{Combination of 2 storylines.} It works for certain books. I don't think it was a major issue for Heiress, but when I got invested in one sister, I wanted to see her story through to the very end without any interruptions from the other sister. Susan May Warren gives us nice chunks of time with each sister, but I wished the story did not have to alternate - and perhaps each sister would get their own individual book.

{Just a smidge of Christian fiction?} I expected a more obvious Christian message somewhere within these pages, but I could not put a finger to it for the life of me. Granted, a good way to describe Heiress is a more wholesome Gossip Girl. Scandal and unfaithful husbands are still running around, but how does a Christian woman survive in such a society? Can she hold onto her faith when society kicks her to the curb? The problem that I have is that I did not really see Esme or Jinx struggling with their faith as much as the simple fact that life is unfair to women.

THE OVERALL
I think Susan May Warren is onto something with this latest series, and I admit some curiosity as to how the sisters will fare in the future after the ending. Heiress is quite enjoyable - not too historical, not too scandalous - just the right amount of both. More of a quiet and thoughtful piece on the trials for women living on the cusp of independence.

posted by epicrat on October 28, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 28 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted September 30, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Daughters of Fortune, not fortunate daughters

    I confess. I love book covers. This one is stunning!

    I've read many of Susan's books but until I read Heiress I had no idea she could take me in two different directions so skillfully. Most times, when reading a book, you get one heroine in one locale, but in Heiress you get two heroines in two locales, and it is NEVER confusing!

    Esme & Jinx are quite the sisters. Fiercely independent, Esme wishes to marry for love. Traditional to the core, Jinx wishes to marry for socially acceptable reasons thinking she will be loved. These poor girls. I felt so sorry for them. At times, the pressure to be the perfect daughter seemed so overwhelming, and it certainly shaped how they felt towards one another and others. Obviously, the times were different and daughters had tremendous obligations to their families to marry well, often times "saving" the family from ruin. But I must say, with as many books as I've read set from the Regency to Gilded Era, this one makes me glad I wasn't living in those times. Nope. No thank you.
    Susan is a master at portraying the opulence and grandeur. I could see the gorgeous ball gowns, sparkling dog collars ( on women, not dogs ;)), and those handsome men in their fancy waistcoats. She's also a master at portraying the deceit, jealousy, and manipulation that took place behind closed doors. Whew! I'll stick to reading books.

    Not a spoiler but if you're squeamish about infidelity and abuse, I wouldn't recommend this one.  It's not graphic but the subjects are covered.

    Thank you to the publisher and Litfuse for my review copy. This is my honest opinion.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2012

    Good Read

    This book had a really good story line to it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 18, 2012

    This is a very good book. I highly recommended it.

    This is a very good book. I highly recommended it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2012

    Sso much better than i thought it would be

    Okay have to admit that i shy away from "christian" themed novels, as i don't want to be preached to. However due the great reviews i decided to purchase this book and am so glsd idid. The character development, the pathos, the extre

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2013

    Kept my attention

    Found this story to interesting, even though it is not my typical read. Lots of action to keep the story from getting dull. Wraps up a little too neatly though.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2013

    Heiress

    Hope I enjoy this book. Pretty sure it said free but after I purchased it I was charged. Think this has happened to me before. At least the reviews are good on this one. I'll give it a 4 because I paid over $4 for it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2013

    enjoyed this book

    I liked this book because of the comparitivity of the two characters. It kept me interested throughout the whole book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2013

    Good

    Good love story. Had a lot of twist and turns but it was solid. Maybe if the author split the stories into two actual books it wouldve been better. But its goid as is.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2013

    Excellent read for the time period.

    Great story line and picturesque visions in this book. Definitely a page turner.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 12, 2013

    I thoroughly enjoyed this novel, and I will be looking for more

    I thoroughly enjoyed this novel, and I will be looking for more about this family. This is a first novel for me by Susan May Warren. I will be reading other material from her. I was always interesting by the twists and turns she presented.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2012

    Great read

    This is a great story of how money and status does not bring contentment. Although she does come back to her roots, she is doing what she always wanted to do and not living the life of a spoiled and pampered heiress.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2012

    Worth reading

    This was a good book. I'm glad i read it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 23, 2012

    I thought it was good. I would recommend it to my friends. The

    I thought it was good. I would recommend it to my friends. The ending threw me for a loop.
    The story about the sister Esme wasn't quite as entertaining as Jinx' story, but overall, it resolved well.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2012

    Great read

    This book was great! I like that the girls stuggle with blessings are is more real life then some other christain fiction. Also, appreciate the passion in this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 27, 2011

    Entertaining

    This is a rich story of love and betrayal, with many twists and turns that will keep the reader anxious to see what's going to happen.
    The setting is fabulous, with all the Regency period details, all the ball gowns and dog collars that you can imagine, but also with a real grittiness running beneath it. An underground current of deceit and unhappiness. Esme, dreaming of a life as a newspaper woman, cannot fathom being married to someone she doesn't love, while Jinx, her sister, cannot imagine a life without the riches she's grown up with. Both make choices, and both pay the price for those choices. We follow them in their lives as they struggle with their decisions and look for the love that continues to evade them. There are many tense chapters that leave the reader gasping as injustice and misfortune strike them both, but we, like them, look forward to seeing them succeed.
    The characters themselves are well done, dynamic, full of life. Even Foster Worth, the quasi-villain, maintains a trace of humanity. Esme and Jinx are by turns amusing and frustrating, but we come to love them both. Phoebe suffers a bit, she doesn't come across quite as real as the rest, since we can't really understand her manipulations against her daughters.
    This is a fun, fast-paced novel, and I can recommend it without issue.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 25, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    What an Emotional Journey!

    What a story! I think I went through the ringer of emotions with this book and there were more twists than a curvy road - surprises I never saw coming.

    Warren writes a story that makes me feel as if I have stepped into a movie screen. Only better. I can smell, hear, taste, see what is happening to the characters and their emotions become my emotions. I felt the rage of indignation, the sweet power of love and the passion of the era bottled in each of the characters. Jinx and Esme especially. I was emotionally exhausted (in a good way!) when I closed the novel.

    Though set in the Gilded Age, the story wasn't confined to New York or London, but expanded to the western plains and beyond. What breadth "Heiress" involved within its plots! Jinx and Esme's stories are gripping each in their own right, but once come together become "don't-bother-me-I'm-reading" plot.

    What a tangled web we weave when first we practice to deceive. Those words aren't uttered in the book, but I felt them. A lesson in the human condition and God's everlasting grace, I didn't want to put this book down. It's a great historical, a gripping novel and a cast of characters with more than their share of problems, but I can't wait to see them again in book 2.

    This review is my honest opinion. Thanks to the publishers through Litfuse for my copy to review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 27, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    What is a True Fortune?

    Who am I? When one has been raised in the wealthy society of the Gilded Age in the late 1800s, one has a book of rules, Godey's Lady's Book, to scrupulously follow if one would be successful as a debutante and respected society female. Esme and Jinx Price have opposite dreams, the former to become a famous journalist and the latter to be the envy of her social class after making a prize marriage with a wealthy gentleman. Indeed, Jinx little by little is falling in love with the man Esme is supposed to marry, Foster Worth, a genuine cad for sure!

    Esme, however, has a secret, a butler's son who loves her and wants to marry her; he even nurtures her passion for journalism by having her stories submitted as "Anonymous Writer" to Esme's father's newspaper, The New York Chronicle. Jinx and her mother are responsible for the most outrageous machination, designed to save the family's fortune but that truly seems to bring ruin to all involved.

    Esme will lose one love and escape to Silver City, Montana where she will start her own small newspaper, fight for the causes she believes in, and meet a man who will briefly love her in the truest sense of the word but not until she suffers a great deal of poverty and prejudice because she is a woman working in a man's trade. Jinx, on the other hand, gets her man but the relationship turns out to be a dark nightmare, exacerbated by the presence of one family member she shares a very dark secret with, as well as a passionate love!

    Heiress is full of dreams, adventures, disappointments, passion, secrets, battles, bloodshed, fistfights, murder, and more that make the pages fly. Words of faith begin to resonate in all of these characters, offering a peace that passes the understanding of most people restlessly pursuing their devastating and chaotic goals, conforming without thinking or feeling about a larger purpose for living.

    Susan May Warren's first novel in this Daughters of Fortune series is guaranteed to leave you wanting to read the next book in the series soon. She knows how to spin a multilevel plot with varied characters, together with constant changes that surprise the reader as well as the characters. Heiress is peaceful, frantic, passionate, and inspiring - a superb combination, Ms. Warren!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 28 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2