Customer Reviews for

Heiress

Average Rating 4
( 104 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(53)

4 Star

(28)

3 Star

(18)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

Great read

Jinx and Esme are daughters of a wealthy newspaper owner. New York society has both blesssed and cursed them. This story takes spans 20 years during the late 1800's and early 1900's and shows us how both of their lives had taken them in different, and sometimes very s...
Jinx and Esme are daughters of a wealthy newspaper owner. New York society has both blesssed and cursed them. This story takes spans 20 years during the late 1800's and early 1900's and shows us how both of their lives had taken them in different, and sometimes very sad and painful directions. Lies, deceit, and hope bring them back together. This is book #1 and is 284 pages.

posted by my1perch on July 7, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

16 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

Realistic and more wholesome Gossip Girl

Ever since Gossip Girl came to life on television, I have been hooked on all things New York and its ritzy upper-crust families. Glamour, scandals, glitter and gold - when I heard Susan May Warren was tackling this world with a historical twist, call me hopelessly hooke...
Ever since Gossip Girl came to life on television, I have been hooked on all things New York and its ritzy upper-crust families. Glamour, scandals, glitter and gold - when I heard Susan May Warren was tackling this world with a historical twist, call me hopelessly hooked but I was more than ready to jump into this adventure.

THE GOOD BITS
{The difference of chasing dreams versus living them.} Heiress takes place in a world where women did not have a lot of options - their main objective is to secure the right sort of marriage. Some women live for this, but others dream bigger for independence and perhaps a career. Esme dreams to be a journalist instead of marrying the man that her parents picked out, but is she prepared to leave the glittery world behind and get her hands dirty in the real world? That is the real trial by fire, and Susan May Warren allows this character to both fail and succeed.

{Jinx's knotty romance.} Granted I wouldn't wish anyone to go through what Jinx went through in the romance department, but it was so deliciously twisted that I flew through the pages to find out how it would all unravel. A heartbreaking nightmare of a love triangle, but when things were good, they were happy-good. The beauty of this particular storyline is how tragic and real it felt - how many women have been trapped like Jinx? How many had to let go of an impossible love to survive? It was riveting. It was raw. It was real - and I ate up every word of it!

THE BAD BITS
{Combination of 2 storylines.} It works for certain books. I don't think it was a major issue for Heiress, but when I got invested in one sister, I wanted to see her story through to the very end without any interruptions from the other sister. Susan May Warren gives us nice chunks of time with each sister, but I wished the story did not have to alternate - and perhaps each sister would get their own individual book.

{Just a smidge of Christian fiction?} I expected a more obvious Christian message somewhere within these pages, but I could not put a finger to it for the life of me. Granted, a good way to describe Heiress is a more wholesome Gossip Girl. Scandal and unfaithful husbands are still running around, but how does a Christian woman survive in such a society? Can she hold onto her faith when society kicks her to the curb? The problem that I have is that I did not really see Esme or Jinx struggling with their faith as much as the simple fact that life is unfair to women.

THE OVERALL
I think Susan May Warren is onto something with this latest series, and I admit some curiosity as to how the sisters will fare in the future after the ending. Heiress is quite enjoyable - not too historical, not too scandalous - just the right amount of both. More of a quiet and thoughtful piece on the trials for women living on the cusp of independence.

posted by epicrat on October 28, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 53 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 3
  • Posted August 1, 2012

    Having money can be a burden

    The life of an heiress comes with lots of luxury, but also with lots of
    pitfalls as both daughters come to realize. No matter which road is
    traveled, it is not necessarily smooth going because you have money.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2012

    Great!

    Excellent book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2012

    Great but upsetting

    This book made me cry in multiple parts but it was a great read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2012

    Very good read

    I found the book very good reading

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2012

    Anonymous

    Great story! The author did a great job telling the story of two sisters. I would read more by this author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2012

    Hi

    Love it*:o)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2012

    Oh my, what a good book!!!

    I have to admit that this was a very good book with so many surprising twists that I threw my Nook across the bed because I couldn't believe the turn of events. I look forward to reading other books by this author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2012

    I

    Love this book. It had a little...EVERYTHING love, trust, mystery, faith, sorrow, joy, betrayal, cruelity, etc. I recconmend this book to people who like romance and mystery books. The only thing bad about this book is that it divides the book into 2 sisters and while your hooked on one, you dont want to change to the other if that makes since to you. The sisters names are Esme ( the first sister you meet) an Jinx ( the seconf sister you meet). I say if your 50 50 then... read at least 20 pages and your hooked...unless you dont like godly,mystery, or romance in your books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 16, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Heiress

    This book was a personal choice for me. It has secrets, intrigue and romance. God seemed to have his hands full with this family. It was kind of an extreme version of Pride and Prejudice. I wanted to scream at the characters and tell them what was really going on and that they needed to listen to God.

    I highly recommend this book.

    I just finished reading book 2 the Baroness for Litfuse Publicity Tour.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 13, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Good Story

    Story showed "Be careful what you wish or pray for".

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 26, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Wonderful!

    What makes a person truly blessed? Riches? Popularity? Or is it something deeper? I think the greatest blessing is being a child of God - forgiven. I very much enjoyed 'Heiress'. The Price sister's stories had me feeling many emotions. I was saddened at times, but at other times I was happy and laughing. Esme Price doesn't want to marry for status, but for love. She longs to be a journalist and soon finds herself on a journey. Jinx Price could hardly wait to be debuted into society, but a series of events causes an interesting twist in her plans. I think Susan May Warren wrote 'Heiress' in a very believable way. Since there was so much sadness, the story felt very realistic. There were a lot of twists (some I expected) and the ending to 'Heiress' makes me really want to read 'Baroness' - book two in the 'Daughters of Fortune' series. I very much recommend 'Heiress'. I found the romance, mystery, and story great! ?I received a complimentary copy for my review. The opinions I've expressed are my own.?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 25, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Gilded Age Tale Of Two Sisters - A Great Read

    Susan May Warren in her new book "Heiress" Book One in the Daughters Of Fortune series published by Summerside Press takes us to The Gilded Age of 1896.

    Wealthy newspaper magnate, August Price, has two daughters: Esme and Jinx. Esme, being firstborn, is the heiress and is expected to marry well and follow the rules of society. However, Esme would rather break society rules about what a woman can do and be a writer for the newspaper. What she has to do is write anonymously but all that spins apart when her father finds out. With a little help Esme flees to Montana to begin her own newspaper.

    Jinx, on the other hand, is all society and wants everything that Esme does not. Jinx goes after Foster Worth, the rich cad that Esme was engaged to and plots her way into society.

    "Heiress" is all about rules, the role of women and what women should and should not do. Susan May Warren has written a love story about the deep issues of individuality, destiny and purpose. The themes of rebellion, transgression, betrayal, love, value and family. And, of course, there is God. When everything is broken He is the only One who can pick up the pieces and bring together His plan. "Heiress" is a wonderful, sweet story with power and depth that will keep you flipping pages. I recommend this book highly and look forward to the next book in the series!

    Susan May Warren is thrilled to announce the release of her latest historical book, Heiress!

    Find out what the reviewers are saying here!

    Heiress, a richly complex historical romance, is the first in Susan's three book Daughters of Fortune series. In honor of Heiress' debut, Susan is hosting a FABULOUS Gilded Age Giveaway and giving away an opulent prize pack fit for an heiress!

    One grand prize winner will receive:

    A $100 gift certificate to ModCloth
    A sleek silver iPodT Shuffle
    A beautiful strand of Pearls
    Titanic DVD
    Speakeasy Compilation Music CD from StarbucksT
    Heiress by Susan May Warren

    Click one of the icons below to enter. But do so soon - this giveaway ends 10/5/11. The winner will be announced Thursday, October 6 on Susan's blog.
    Enter via E-mail Enter via FacebookEnter via Twitter

    If you would like to listen to interviews with other authors and professionals please go to Kingdom Highlights where they are available On Demand.

    To listen to 24 hours non-stop Christian music please visit our internet radio station Kingdom Airwaves

    Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Litfuse Publicity Group.. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255 : "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 24, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A Fantastic New Novel From Ms. Warren!

    Susan May Warren has once again brought her readers another OUTSTANDINGLY magnificent story. Set in the gilded age, this is a novel that will sweep you off your feet, and turn you around until you're dizzy with a smile on your face.

    Jinx and Esme are sisters, and daughters of August Price. Told in stories between the two, this book is absolutely beautiful, just like it's cover. Jinx wanted to be an Heiress and everything that Esme WAS. Esme wanted to be everything she wasn't. But, unfortunately for them, it didn't work out that way. Esme wanted true love, and to follow her dream. Jinx, the younger of the two, wanted a rich and wealthy man and attention raveled all on her in the society.

    When the chance for Esme to leave and follow her dream of writing for a paper, she jumps on the chance. She leaves everything behind to start over. But will it really be as simple as that? And, can Jinx really accept the high pressure of being an Heiress in a high societal community?

    Those are just two of the many questions that these amazing characters answer for the readers. But, among those questions and more, lies the heart of the story: betrayal, passion, mercy, forgiveness, hope and jealous heartache. God's guiding grace and never ending love seep through the words that Ms. Warren puts to the pages. A story that will leave you breathless, smiling, and aching all in one sitting. Her words will grip your heart like a vice and keep you turning the pages late into the night, and you'll reflect on the story long after you're finish. I highly recommend this to every historical lover out there. It's 5 Books worthy, and will be on my recommendation list to everyone for a long time to come. I can't wait to read the second installment to this new suspenseful, romantic, captivating series!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 23, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    The best Golden Era I've read this year!

    Read from September 21 to 23, 2011 - I own a copy

    Susie was one of the first authors that I discovered back when I stumbled across Liz Curtis Higgs and began my all-consuming love of Christian Historical Fiction. It was her Heirs of Anton series. So now that I find she is writing another new series set in the "opulent world of the Gilded Age" I could help but be intrigued! This era seems to be a poplar one as I've also gotten my hands on one from Nancy Moser and before that Siri Mitchell. I could not wait to see Susie's take on it!

    At about 183 pages of this 380 page novel I can already say I feel like I've already read two full novels in this short page length with the sisters two stories. Both of romance and tragedy. I'm waiting for Oliver to walk up and say, oh it was a mistake and for Bennett to look out over the sea and return. Alas.

    At just over halfway through I felt like I'm in another novel, this time a western. This is awesome. You get a gilded age adventure and a prairie romance too! As the character comes up, I am remembering all my history bullet points on Teddy Roosevelt phrases and I think Susie is hitting them all. In finishing another segment I promise these could be individual novels. Changing characters and following along in history it is as if the Heirs of Anton series were one long book instead of four shorter ones.

    I did not expect a thing. Honestly I haven't finished reading any of the Golden Era novels except Cara Lynn James first one as it came across. After finishing this one I'm desperate for more. I want to go back to the Moser and Mitchell books and get more of the time and the era. I want to find the rest of James series and drink it all in. I cannot wait for more Daughters of Fortune. I cannot even imagine what comes next. Every twist and turn took me by surprise and I was rereading sections because I was just sure that I misunderstood. Not after everything, could that happen! - I kept saying to myself. But it did. Every thing that happened made things lead to the next. It reminds me of endings that I imagined for tragic movies that did not end as I wished in their romance.

    This was and is awesome.

    *Thanks to Litfuse Publicity for providing a copy for review.*

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 2, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    One of Warren's beat to date - a must read!

    Susan May Warren took a bold step with this novel and one I applaud. Gripping, this imaginative tale will leave you turning pages without pause. With unexpected twists and masterful storytelling, Warren has penned one of her best novels to date.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 24, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    entertaining timely Gilded Age family drama

    In 1896 New York City, Esme Price wants to be a reporter like her idol Nellie Bly who has shocked high society with her behavior. Esme's wealthy father August owns a newspaper, but expects his oldest daughter to marry an acceptable member of their upper class.

    Esme's younger sister Jinx envies her as she wants to be the anointed one rather than waiting for her sibling to marry. Upsetting Jinx further is when Esme and the catch of the season Foster Worth become engaged, but her sister seems at best indifferent.

    Esme confesses to her dad that she is Anonymous Writer sending in opinions to his New York Chronicle as A.W. He reacts by telling her to go home and slaps her. With her best friend the family butler's son Oliver's help, Esme flees to Montana to begin her own newspaper while Jinx makes a play for Foster.

    This entertaining timely Gilded Age family drama is driven by the opulent Price sisters who go after what each believes is their manifest destiny, but one day in the future look back to assess whether they were blessed or cursed as to whether the cost was worth it. Although the story line starts a bit slow as time, place and people are established, readers will appreciate this strong entertaining character driven historical that will remind readers all that glitters on Wall St. is not gold for everyone.

    Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 53 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 3