Customer Reviews for

Heirs and Graces (Royal Spyness Series #7)

Average Rating 4.5
( 33 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(19)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Rhys Bowen is one of my favorite authors. Heirs and Graces is gr

Rhys Bowen is one of my favorite authors. Heirs and Graces is grand romp full of twists and turns as Georgie sets her sights on helping an Australian friend find the true killer of a Duke. High marks all around.

posted by RayHubble on August 22, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Georgie is at it again! In this particular episode, she's off t

Georgie is at it again!
In this particular episode, she's off to Kent to help groom a long-lost heir to becoming a duke one day. Never mind that he's a wild Australian boy and everyone in this eccentric family would just as soon see him shipped back to his sheep statio...
Georgie is at it again!
In this particular episode, she's off to Kent to help groom a long-lost heir to becoming a duke one day. Never mind that he's a wild Australian boy and everyone in this eccentric family would just as soon see him shipped back to his sheep station!

All the usual characters from the Royal Spyness Series make appearances, from Darcy and Belinda to Georgie's granddad and flighty mother. The setting is a fabulous mansion, complete with man-made Scottish stream for fishing.
But then the plot goes horribly wrong. The murder doesn't take place until page 119, and there are only 258 in the book. The exciting household that had seemed so promising falls flat in the middle while a boring inspector interviews everyone for ages. Belinda and Queenie are quite beastly and one gets the impression that the author has tired of their characters. Granddad is in the book as a last-ditch effort just to make an appearance. Compared to The Twelve Clues of Christmas, this book wasn't even in the same class. I'm really hoping Belinda gets accused of murder in the next one, and I'm also looking forward to Darcy and Georgie getting married. I would love to see Georgie host Binky and Fig--oh what hilarity would ensue!

posted by 10336302 on August 12, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 33 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted August 22, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    Rhys Bowen is one of my favorite authors. Heirs and Graces is gr

    Rhys Bowen is one of my favorite authors. Heirs and Graces is grand romp full of twists and turns as Georgie sets her sights on helping an Australian friend find the true killer of a Duke. High marks all around.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 12, 2013

    Wonderful series!!

    The "Royal Spyness" series is a must read for cozy mystery fans!

    Georgiana, currently staying with her flighty mother, suddenly has no place to live. Out of desperation, Georgie writes to the Queen(her cousin) and asks for a job. Soon, Georgiana is off on another adventure!

    Georgiana is asked to help a future duke learn the ways of royalty such as which utensil to use at dinner. The future duke is out of place since he has just relocated from Australia. Tragedy happens quickly in the Royal Spyness series. Before you know it....the current Duke is found dead with a knife in his back and the future Duke is suspect #1. But Georgie knows he is innocent....???

    Georgiana's fiance Darcy also puts in a big appearance in this chapter of the series. Which makes this a win,win for us cozy mystery (and romance) readers!

    This series is so fun to read! I always look forward to the next book!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 27, 2013

    Breath of fresh air!

    Perhaps I am a little bit biased, but I found this series to be a breath of fresh air just after returning from a trip to the UK where my husband and I explored many of the London locations and British estates mentioned in this series. I LOVED IT!!! Georgie and Darcy are such a delightful couple, and their relationship is outstanding and refreshing given that I typically enjoy Regency romances. I think the unique use of the 1930s period and blending of murder mystery with romance make for a page-turning combination. I am crushed that the #8 book in this series is not due out until August 2014 per the author's web site. Trust me, I am marking my calendar to make my Nook pre-order!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2013

    I love the her royal shyness series. However I was disappointed

    I love the her royal shyness series. However I was disappointed by this last installment. Georgianna, Darcy, and Belinda seem to be muted and fail to live up to the characters they have been. The story line is still good, but for those who anxiously awaited this book, you'll find that it may not live up to expectations.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 31, 2013

    Great series

    Another great book in what's become a favorite series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2013

    Georgie is at it again! In this particular episode, she's off t

    Georgie is at it again!
    In this particular episode, she's off to Kent to help groom a long-lost heir to becoming a duke one day. Never mind that he's a wild Australian boy and everyone in this eccentric family would just as soon see him shipped back to his sheep station!

    All the usual characters from the Royal Spyness Series make appearances, from Darcy and Belinda to Georgie's granddad and flighty mother. The setting is a fabulous mansion, complete with man-made Scottish stream for fishing.
    But then the plot goes horribly wrong. The murder doesn't take place until page 119, and there are only 258 in the book. The exciting household that had seemed so promising falls flat in the middle while a boring inspector interviews everyone for ages. Belinda and Queenie are quite beastly and one gets the impression that the author has tired of their characters. Granddad is in the book as a last-ditch effort just to make an appearance. Compared to The Twelve Clues of Christmas, this book wasn't even in the same class. I'm really hoping Belinda gets accused of murder in the next one, and I'm also looking forward to Darcy and Georgie getting married. I would love to see Georgie host Binky and Fig--oh what hilarity would ensue!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 5, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Lady Georgiana Rannoch continues to live hand-to-mouth, yet mana

    Lady Georgiana Rannoch continues to live hand-to-mouth, yet manages to eat well by landing plum assignments. In this case, she is asked by Her Majesty the Queen to undertake to train an “uncivilized” Australian youth, Jack Altringham, in the ways of nobility since he is an apparent heir to a dukedom. It seems the present duke is disinclined to provide an heir and the young man is discovered to be his nephew and the next in line. He is the offspring of the duke’s brother who married a young lady in Australia and was subsequently killed during World War I, and has grown up on a sheep farm shearing bovines.

    And what would a Royal Spyness Mystery be without a murder or other crime to be solved? So shortly after Georgiana travels to the duke’s estate to meet and coach Jack in what fork to use, the duke announces he is going to adopt his valet and make him his heir. The next day, the duke is found dead in a glen on the estate, and it doesn’t look good for Jack, whose knife is found in the corpse’s back.

    Like the other novels in the series, the plot combines humor and crime-solving, with Georgiana helping to crack the mystery. It is good, old-fashioned fun. She is a fun character, and the writing is equally charming. The plot is clever and the story, despite the death, is lighthearted.

    Recommended.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2014

    Highly recommend

    This continues to be a great and entertaining series. I can't wait for the next book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 6, 2013

    For fans of Rhys Bowen, you will not be disappointed in her newe

    For fans of Rhys Bowen, you will not be disappointed in her newest book! I was hooked from the beginning and even surprised by the ending. While I came close to guessing the culprit I was still surprised at the end, which I loved. We are treated to a nice amount of Georgie and Darcy as well as some Russian nobility. This kept me on the edge of my seat and was an absolute pleasure to read! Excellent work, as usual, Ms. Bowen!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2013

    Good read!

    I wouldn't say it was the best of the series, but as always it was good! Sometimes as a series continues it loses its edge and interest. IMHO this one hasn't. I've bought all in the series and will be buying the next one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 16, 2013

    Another fun read

    Fast moving, easy and fun. What more do you need. Start with the first book in series and read in order if you can. While each stands on its own reading from 1 to 7 is more fun and allows one to get to know her "Royal Spyness" better. Enjoy!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2013

    MORE!

    It so much fun and such a good read that it was too short ! I wanted more time with Georgie and the gang. Can't wait for the next one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 30, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Good-quick-read

    Like all of the "Royal Spyness" stories this was a great romp back to another time and place.
    Ms.Bowen always creats well defind characters and interesting stories with fun historical trivis.always a pleasure.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2013

    Good but too short

    Good but too short

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 30, 2013

    For light fun!

    Enjoyed the twists and had fun reading it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 23, 2013

    A joy to read and is great for the beach!

    I read this book in only one day because the characters and the plot line grabbed me from page l. A really good continuing plot line in the story and I'm eager to see the marriage of our two love birds.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 13, 2013

    Rhys Bowen never disappoints and Heirs and Graces is no exceptio

    Rhys Bowen never disappoints and Heirs and Graces is no exception.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2013

    Really enjoyed this book

    I love the Royal Spyness series. I've read all the books so far, and loved them all. Lady Georgie and Darcy are delightful, and the mysteries are fun to figure out. In this installment, a disagreeable duke ends up dead, and there's no lack of suspects. The aristocratic family is the very definition of dysfunctional. In the end, the solution was improbable, but it ws still fun getting there.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2013

    Heirs and Graces

    Another good book by Rhys Bowen. Georgie in the thick of it, helping the new young heir, Jack to feel comfortable. Darcy showing up as always to help her, they make a good team. Loved the part where the tables turned on Belinda.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 6, 2013

    Heirs And Graces is the seventh book in the Her Royal Spyness Se

    Heirs And Graces is the seventh book in the Her Royal Spyness Series.

    It is never a disappointment for me to pick up the next Lady Georgiana book.

    Lady Georgiana saves the day for the aristocracy once again. Georgie's mom has left for Switzerland and she is concerned that she will have to return to cold and drafty castle is Scotland when the Queen invites her to tea.

    The Queen, "asks" Lady Georgianna if would return home with Edwina, Duchess of Eynsford, well sure!! Edwina current son has no heirs and little chance of providing any. Edwina has mounted an extensive search and has found that her other son, John, who had gone to Australia and was killed in WWI, has a son Jack living on a sheep station in Australia. Darcy O'Mara, Georgie's boyfriend, has secretly been sent to bring Jack back to England to groomed to become the next Duke of Eynsford. Georgie's job is to give Jack the good stiff upper lip that any Duke worth his Dukedom needs. Georgie soon learns that it will be an uphill battle with Jack.

    When the Duke is found dead, Jack comes under suspicion, as his knife is protruding out of the Duke's back. Georgie and Darcy are off to investigate, as the Chief Inspector and his men seem incompetent.

    Cedric certainly had his enemies who would like for him to be dead. It was humorous to me to read how Edwina and her sisters, and even the Duke's sister, handled this terrible tragedy. Their biggest concern was how inept the commoners were.

    And to add a little additional humor, Belinda is back. She provide her usual wit, but her hopes of finding a good Duke to party with, fails her.

    Even the bumbling Queenie is around to torment Georgie. It always fun to see what trouble she can cause and she does.

    Very much looking forward to the next book in this light-hearted series.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 33 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2