Customer Reviews for

Heist Society (Heist Society Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 692 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(470)

4 Star

(134)

3 Star

(39)

2 Star

(23)

1 Star

(26)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

38 out of 41 people found this review helpful.

Excellent Read

I loved reading this wonderful book! It is a story that keeps you entertained for hours.

posted by theReader278 on June 23, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Had to give a star...

Skipped around wayyy to much and i had to reread parts of the book

posted by 11115994 on May 16, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 696 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 35
  • Posted June 23, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Excellent Read

    I loved reading this wonderful book! It is a story that keeps you entertained for hours.

    38 out of 41 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 10, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    What a Heist!

    I have always loved Ally Carter's other books so when I saw Heist Society, I thought I would take a shot. Wow!! There is more intrigue than the Gallagher Girls series she has written before, and way more cool toys than a James Bond thriller. Kat Bishop is a girl you would want as your best friend. Not only could she keep you out of trouble, she could add to your art collection. There are cute guys, great characters, and a story that really has its roots in history, and is very touching.
    If you like Gallagher Girls, this is a must read!!

    33 out of 33 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 14, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Jennifer Rummel for TeensReadToo.com

    Kat used to lead a life of danger before she pulled her biggest con ever and walked away from a life of thievery to attend boarding school. Her enrollment lasts a few months before her old life comes crashing in on her and her plans.

    She's framed for a prank she didn't commit, but that will nonetheless result in her expulsion from school. Quickly she realizes this dismissal is the work of an old family friend. He's here to tell her that her master thief father needs her help.

    Turns out her father's been set up, too. Only the consequences are nowhere near as soft as being kicked out of boarding school.

    Kat secretly meets her father's deadly enemy and works out a deal. She has two weeks to find the paintings and steal them back. If successful, it will be the biggest job she'll ever pull off - and also the most dangerous. Can she do it?

    I adore THE GALLAGHER GIRLS series, but this new series may be even better. HEIST SOCIETY is my new favorite book. The combination of finding the art, the major heist, saving a relative, and going against the family makes for a thrilling, edge-of-your-seat read.

    13 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 16, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Awesome!!

    I just got Heist Society on Feb. 14th and I have finished it. It was thrilling and the characters are so real you can connect with them. I loved the book and I can't wait to meet the actual ALLY CARTER today at Bethesda Library at 7:00 for the Poetry and Prose Event. I hope you found this helpful!! The 4th Gallagher Girl book-"Only The Good Spy Young"-comes out June 15th. Please read all 3 books first!

    11 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 10, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    GREAT BOOK!!!!!

    This book kept me holding on the whole time. Taking place all over Europe and US, this book teaches people to appreciate art and not take it for granted. No matter where you are, you have to go back to your family, because they are the most like you... Great job Ally! i can not wait for the next!

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 8, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Amazing from Front to Back!

    As a young woman nearing the end of her teenage years, I have read only too many young adult books of many genres. This, Heist Society, has been one of my favorites! I ordered Heist Society many months ago and finally got to it in my stack of books recently. I read it ALL in one night, I just couldn't put it down! The characters are interesting, the back stories are riveting, and all you want is to know what happens next in Katarina's journey from leaving the family business to getting back into it! The mix of girlie glamor with tomboy thieving is just pure perfection! I would easily recommend this book to any teen girl!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 25, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    If You Like "Leverage" You Will LOVE This Book!

    This novel is amazing. It makes the reader instantly gripped by the characters and their thoughts, feelings, and histories. The storyline is not petty and unappealing, it has emotion and antiquity wrapped up inside it, centering on Kat's relationship with her parents.
    The ending is well-worth the journey, giving answers and leaving questions that end the book the way it started: with a heist.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2012

    Had to give a star...

    Skipped around wayyy to much and i had to reread parts of the book

    3 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    great!!!!!!

    This is an amazing book, i loved every second of it! the only thing that i wished the author did was tell how hale and katrina met. but other than that this book was a 5 out of 5.

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 10, 2010

    AMAZING

    This book is by far the best Ally carter book ever, it was perfect! I'd recommend this book to anyone and everyone!

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2014

    Read this!! NOW

    Lol. Anyway, this may just be my favorite series of all time, and I've read at least a hundred series. Ally Carter has outdone herself. While I loved the Gallagher Girls series, that was nothing compared to this. Maybe it's just because I think spies are cliche.

    Whatever the case, Heist Society is a masterful creation of wit, humor, suspense, mystery, and romance. I particularly love Kat's crazy thief family. If there was any series I'd want to own, it would be this one.

    Keep writing Ally!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2013

    Beginning Part: Ally Carter¿s Heist Society begins with a girl,

    Beginning Part:
    Ally Carter’s Heist Society begins with a girl, Katrina Bishop, who gets expelled from her prep school, Colgan, because her head master claims she had done something she really did not do. When she was leaving the school she ran into to a man named W.W. Hale the fifth and this is where the story starts. Katrina is trying to help her father avoid trouble with a very mean, bad guy. As the reader, I enjoyed this part of the book because it gets the back story explained and the past of the two main characters and how they are friends. The beginning was also very well written; I liked how the characters are talked about along with how their history is given before the character is introduced into the story. An example of this is that they tell the reader about Katrina’s Uncle Eddie, by saying that he is the best thief around and his life history is told before we meet him in this story. In the beginning the background of some of the major characters and the problems that the team is facing are introduced to the reader.
    Middle Part:
    The middle part of this amazing book, Heist Society, introduces more of Katrina’s family; their names are Gabrielle, Hamish, Angus, and Simon. These people are all focused on in this part of the book because they will always help Katrina in whatever way she needs them. The characters are very well written by Ally Carter with great detail and emotions. This book also talks about the different art museums around the world because Katrina’s family members are thieves that steal art work from all the major and minor art galleries. At the end of this section they introduce another thief named Nick, he has a major role in the climax of the story; he is a very believable character. This part also tells you about how much Katrina and her group travel around the world and how much trouble they will get into to save Katrina’s father.
    End Part:
    In the end of Heist Society all the story lines in the book are ended in a fantastic way. The end also holds some surprises that the reader would probably never have guessed and the main purpose of this book was given in a very good manner. This shows how the different characters are the same in more ways than just being thieves and it shows the emotion behind the whole book. This is a very well told part of the book, it demonstrate an amazing end of an amazing story.
    Best Part:
    The best part of this book was how well the story is crafted. The flashbacks, that are Katrina’s past, are very well told and are completely about the topic on hand. The characters backgrounds are given when the character is first introduced or before you learn more about them as the story progresses. Another good thing about this book is that it is very entertaining to the reader and keeps the reader engages in the whole story. A great part of the book is the emotional side of the entire book, this is shown when Katrina tries to do everything possible and that she is cable of to keep her family and friends save from harm’s way. This book had very much good literacy and literature, this is one of the best books to read, and it is very enjoyable.
    Worst Part:
    The worst part of this book is how the middle part is a little bit boring. What also was bad about this book was that it was based off of such a story amount of time, it could have been better if the story was a bit long to give even more detail about the characters. The last thing that was bad about this book was that the book kept repeating what the group though about the people that they were with. Over all, this book had really very few bad qualities about it.
    Mary N., 14

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 28, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    A 2.5 stars read for me. Disappointing. The idea behind Heist S

    A 2.5 stars read for me. Disappointing.

    The idea behind Heist Society is something I adore and love; a sixteen years old (female) thief forced to create a crew and retrieve paintings from a secured facility in order to help her loved ones.
    But for me, the execution of this intriguing idea just wan't good enough:
    First, the characters weren't very well developed, and we knew nearly nothing about their past – even the main characters. The past builds us and shapes us; if it's completely ignored in a book I feel like I can't understand the characters well. The result of that, to me, was that they all felt FLAT.
    All we know about the characters is what’s happening to them right now, what they’re doing and how. We learn some of their traits through it, but it lacks a lot. Depth of character, knowledge on our characters. I didn’t feel like I knew them, and so I didn’t invest in them.
    The main reason I kept reading was in hopes we'll find out more things, such as why Kat decided to leave The Life, how did her meeting with Hale went down, how was she taught all these things, etc.
    Second, I disliked how most of the characters just appeared, leaving me to wonder who they are (and what do they have to do with Kat). When we got any bit of information on them it was little and far down the road.
    Third, the Romance in the book was very disappointing. Or should I say, there isn't much of it. We have attraction, and we have some sweet moments between Kat and Hale, but nothing aside that. I was expecting there to be SOMETHING.
    And when it comes to the writing... lets just say I'm not Carter's biggest fan.
    It's not that her writing isn't good, there was actually some parts of it I really liked such as the way she jumped to the past or future to tell us about how something was and how something will be, and I also liked how the POV switched between characters while in operation, so we could see all their roles.
    But I didn't like how she jumped locations - It's too fast, too abrupt, and without explanation. And then there was the counting clock, telling you how many days were left to the deadline. I felt like I was dropped in the middle of an episode of 24 or something.
    But in the end, the main reason I dislike the writing is that in my case - it didn't generate the wanted response from me; I wasn't excited, I wasn't scared, I was on auto-pilot, and though it was a quick read, I didn't feel like I enjoyed it much.
    And yet, I WILL read the next book, because I just love the idea and some part of me hopes it will get much better with the next books.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2012

    Loved It

    This book is a refreshing read from the vampires, werewolves, and wizards. The whole actual teenager without any magical powers makes the whole book exciting. Plus, all the characters have a realistic feel to them (aside the fact that most of them thieve.) I highly recomend for anyone (boys included, this book isn't all romance.)

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 9, 2011

    Well...

    I borrowed this book from a friend and it was alright. I stopped reading it in the middle though cause it bored me but not a bad read. I don't quite recommend it. Hope this helps!

    2 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 11, 2014

    Very good. One of my favorites.

    Very good. One of my favorites.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 5, 2014

    @Rachel's Book Reviews The book synopsis is perfect, so I did

    @Rachel's Book Reviews



    The book synopsis is perfect, so I didn't write my own. I loved the characters and the plot (no spoilers!) It took a classic motive and made it new again. I also love the characters, they are realistic in the sense that…..well..…let me explain it better. How many books have you read where the main female role is crazy about some guy, and he’'s too dense to see it? Let me guess: more than you can count.
    This one breaks that ridiculous mold. Most female authors take to heart that men are not as emotional as women. But, they take it too much to heart. Most (most being the key word) guys are not felling-less neanderthals. Men may not show emotion as much, but their prides can be bruised just as much as girls. For once we have a male character (Hale) who actually feels emotion, without going overboard, or underboard, as the case may be. For once, Kat, the female lead is quite clueless (or at least as much as the boys usually are) about his more than friendship feelings. It shows the truth of things. Half the time, girls are just as clueless as boys. Example: It involves an amusing story about me at summer camp. If you want to read it, go to the next page. Point and case, I loved both Heist Society and Uncommon Criminals.
    My friend Mitchell had a little blip on Heist Society, I thought it might be fun to have a boys opinion on it: 
    “Well, Heist Society was okay, I thought it lacked some critical action that could have made it much better.”

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2013

    Book

    I loved it!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2012

    Horrible

    This book is absolutely horrible! I cant finish it and this has never happened with me and a book before. The story line is extremely boring and no imagination was put into it. The characters are so sketchy and boring. The romance with Kat and Hale was pathetic. The main character, Katrina, at some points made me want to scream and fling the book across the room. And i would do that but I read this on my Nook. I can honestly say Ive never read a worse book in my life. I wasted my money on this crap

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2012

    Ok

    This book is pretty good except i felt it dragged and some parts are confusing. It is not my favorite book!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 696 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 35