Customer Reviews for

Heist Society (Heist Society Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 696 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(474)

4 Star

(134)

3 Star

(39)

2 Star

(23)

1 Star

(26)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

38 out of 41 people found this review helpful.

Excellent Read

I loved reading this wonderful book! It is a story that keeps you entertained for hours.

posted by theReader278 on June 23, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Had to give a star...

Skipped around wayyy to much and i had to reread parts of the book

posted by 11115994 on May 16, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 39 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2012

    Ok

    This book is pretty good except i felt it dragged and some parts are confusing. It is not my favorite book!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    Zzzzz....

    I am a huge Ally Carter fan. I love her other series, The Gallagher Girls, so I thought I'd give this series a try, too. The action and storyline is good and well thought out, but it's pretty boring. If you're looking for a thrilling read that keeps you locked on the edge of your seat, this isn't it. I had to pretty much force myself to sit down and read it most of the time. It's easy to follow and pretty creative, but it leaves no room for the reader's mind to wonder about the possibilities of what could happen next. If you want a suspenseful action series (with a hint of funny), I'd recommend her other series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 11, 2012

    One Part Ocean's Eleven, One Part The Thomas Crown Affair with a dash of the Usual Suspects...

    Take one part The Thomas Crown Affair, one part Oceans Eleven, a smidge of The Usual Suspects, shake (not stir) them all together and you have Ally Carter’s Heist Society. Fast paced with loads of twists and turns to keep the reader on the edge of her seat, Heist Society features a cast of unforgettable characters. Talk about a great female protagonist! Katarina Bishop is smart, funny, feisty, gutsy, loyal and remarkably moral for a girl who has been pulling cons with her family since she was old enough to walk. I love that she is one of the best con artist’s around yet she still decides to toss it all aside for a chance at a normal life. And I love that when she discovers her father is in trouble, she has no qualms about turning her back on that very decision to stand beside her family when they need her. Next up: Hale. Hello, Mr. Perfect. I mean what's not to like about him? He’s clever, handsome, funny, and completely loyal to Kat. In short: best "boy" friend/ potential "boyfriend" EVER. Oh, and he’s loaded. Hale has homes across the globe, complete with personal jet, hot car, and awesome manservant, Marcus (who is the perfect Alfred to Hale's Bruce Wayne.) The flirty scenes between Hale and Kat are some of my favorite in the book. I love the cast of co-conspirators as well: brothers Angus and Hamish who provide comic relief, the brilliant but perpetually geeky computer genius Simon, the cunning siren Gabrielle, the mysterious Nick, and my favorite member of the family, patriarch Uncle Eddy, who is just the right combination of endearing and intimidating. Lastly we have Uber villain and Godfather-ish Arturo Taccone to round out the cast of characters. But, wait! It would be so wrong to leave out our mystery/enigma character that is Visily Romini. I love the inclusion of this shadowy figure. He reminds me of the mystery figure of Keyser Soze in one of my all time favorite film's, The Usual Suspects. So while this book is a classic heist/crime caper, and has some great romantic undertones, it is above all else a book about family. Kat walks away from her family for the promise of a better life, but in the end realizes that family, the good, the bad and the ugly of it, is all that really matters.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 29, 2011

    Ok

    It was ok but i took a break from it because it got kind of boring. If i were u i would not get it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2013

    Anna

    It was an okay book.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 3, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    What?

    I loved the ghalanger girls series so much i was stoked when allie carter came out with a new book. But saddly i was intensly confused most of the time and had to go back re-reading parts. If you can easily take hints and clues from the text then this is a great read for you. Not so much for me though. Also didnt understand her what her family does. A theif is not an ocupation!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2011

    it was ok

    i had high hopes for this book but once i read it i was glad i go at my school library bc i would not spend money on this her other series was WAY bettr than this.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2011

    ?

    So this book was pretty good throughout. Some parts got a little confusing. But the ending left me saying 'wait... what just happened?' it definatly left me hanging in a bad way.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 19, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Couldn't Connect With the Characters

    I was a bit apprehensive about reading this book because it's basically about teen theives stealing art- and I was concerned that it would be totally unrealistic, but I was wrong. Although Heist Society has a strong plot, I felt the characters all fell flat. The whole book revolves around Katarina and her mission to steal some paintings. She enlists the help of Hale (her sort-of love interest), Gabrielle (her nemesis and cousin), Simon (boy genius), Angus and Hamish (childhood buddies), Marcus (Hale Family butler), and finally Nick (a pick-pocket). I couldn't relate to most of the characters, escpecially not Kat. I didn't understand her or her motives, and seeing as how she was the main character- that isn't good. The only characters that I felt had any real heart in them were Angus and Hamish. All the other character's personalities felt forced. I also didn't like how it was told in the thrid-person, and that may be the reason why I didn't understand Kat like I could have. I believe first person is always the best. Overall, I didn't really like the book. But I will say that the whole idea of teen theives is a new and refreshing concept for a book.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Pretty good!

    This book was pretty good but it wasn't as easy to read as the Gallagher Girls books. This story skips all over the place and jumps from one thing to the next. I loved how ally carter used real places as her setting. Over all this was a nice book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 14, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Danielle from withabook.blogspot.com

    Being such a big fan of her other novels, the Gallager Girl Series. I was very excited about this one. Heist Society was filled with adventure and suspense but it lacked emotion and you never get completely sucked into the story because of it. You know so much about Kat's life but you never really know her and what she feeling through out the book.

    With that aside it definitely was a fun read, since it was about a teenage girl planning robberies, flying around the world, living in mansions, and getting waited on by butlers. Which are all things that wouldn't happen to an average teenager (cough like me cough) in real life. I'm hoping that now that all the characters are introduced and back-story has been told, the next book in this series will be much better.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 18, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    3.5

    I didnt enjoy this book as much as i like Ally Carters other series but it was still a good read. At times it was very confusing but i got threw those parts. I love art but i dont think any of the paintings that were in the book are real but i might be wrong. I like the way Ally Carter writes and i cant wait till her next novel. Oh and i really want her to write for a more mature reader!!!!

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 15, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Cute!

    I really enjoy Ally Carter's books, especially the Gallagher Girl books, but this was cute too. It was the other end of the spectrum, with the main character being a theif this time instead of a spy. It wasn't the best book I've ever read, but it's a fun, quick, easy read. I liked it and if you like her other books, you will too.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 39 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2